We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great overall, just avoid the pricey food..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam
Ranked #43 of 365 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great overall, just avoid the pricey food..”
Reviewed June 17, 2012

We chose the hotel primarily because it came up cheap. Only stayed in it for one night as we did an extended-day ferry crossing from Hull. It's in very easy access of the town centre (bus 48 or 22), about a 5 minute drive out, and the stop is across the road from the hotel.

The hotel looks very smart and clean inside. The same goes for the rooms. The reception staff are very friendly and happy to help. They were flexible with us, allowing us to check-in ahead of time and also checkout an hour later, although this no doubt depended on the bookings at the time. And because the hotel is not in the centre, it means it's very quiet at night, so no problems getting to sleep or waking up in the night. Oh, and the bed was very comfy!

The only real negative was the price of food in the hotel bar/restaurant. It's way more expensive than it needs to be. The food was good, couldn't really fault it, but there's no need to shell out like that, when you can take the bus into the city and find something better.

We would probably look to stay at this hotel again should we ever do a similar trip. 4/5

Room Tip: We had a room on the 4th floor, which was very quiet. But I'd imagine anywhere in this hotel wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Dear Ryan T,

Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us.
I would like to thank you for complimenting our staff and I am happy to share your comment with them.
I am sorry to read that you find our Brasserie a bit to expensive. We do our utmost to have a menu that suits all mouths and wallets!

Best regards,
Benjamin Tam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,174
    1,099
    200
    45
    39
See reviews for
369
1,194
90
196
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 14, 2012

The hotel was comfortable and the staff helpfull. Unfortunately the food was very pricey
we were unable to close the bathroom blind and the 'mini bar was empty and the fridge very dirty. Otherwise it was a comfy room and the rest of the facilities were all fine.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenjaminTam, General Manager at WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Dear Sir, Madam,

Thank your very much for commenting on your recent stay!
We have check and resolved the issues in your room.
Our apologies for the inconvenience caused.

Best regards,
Benjamin Tam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

We booked here during Queens Day weekend because most central hotels were booked out or over-priced. The room was modern, clean and spacious, nicely decorated and laid out. The beds were comfortable, although 2 singles put together to form a double, which may be a problem for couples. The modern, separate toilet and bathroom (with individual shower and bathtub) a bonus.

The included breakfast was very good quality and diverse. The separate restaurant was nice but relatively expensive. The helpful and friendly receptionists gave us advice on recommended areas to explore, where to eat, places to visit. Free Wi-Fi is accessible throughout hotel.
Although not central, only 10 minute by bus to Central Station. Buses (22 and 48) run very frequently to central station and from there it’s easy to walk to most touristic spots.
The large outdoor swimming pool looked good, however the weather was terrible during our stay so didn’t get a chance to use it.

The main issues are that there isn’t a lot to do nearby. You’d have to walk 10 minutes or catch a bus two stops to get to the nearest main strip of shops and restaurants. The TV in the room is small and old (not LCD) and in our room the temperature dial was very basic, so difficult to set room temperature the way you want it.

From our personal experience – we requested a late checkout (after partying later than expected) by several hours at additional cost to catch up on sleep before departing, and although this was no problem, they forgot to notify the cleaner who barged into the room and woke us up at standard checkout time regardless; so better communication between staff would’ve been appreciated.

Overall, our stay was very enjoyable and was fairly good value. Seeing as we booked so late during a major event weekend, this turned out to be a pleasant surprise and I’d recommend it highly if you don’t mind being a little further out of central.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RLond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenjaminTam, General Manager at WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Dear RLond,

Thank your very much for taking the time to write such a extensive comment.
All comments do help us to improve our services and facilities.

We are looking forward to welcome you again during Queensday 2013!

Best regards,

Benjamin Tam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Sadly this nice hotel has such bad staff running it. It's seem the least they care about is their guests.

Got really bad taste after being forced to pay double the price I paid on booking (Hot deals) or to choose another hotel to stay at.

I e-mailed the management with my complaint and have never heard back from them as they really didn't care and it's not worth replying to. If any hotel deals with it's guest like this then it should be clear how they feel toward their costumers.


The hotel itself is modern and nice room setting. The facilities are nice and it has reasonable fees for car parking, which is a plus in this part of the city.

Its seems the hotel is cared for local organizations and group bookings more than tourists who are not the most welcomed from the receptionists’ who spoke in Dutch between themselves to hastily giving any info’s to visitors on directions or attractions.

I think I got the massage your staff wanted to persuade and will never never stay in your hotel and opt to stay with more inviting hotels who put their guest at first priority not last.


One more advise, If you have children and want family oriented hotel avoid at all cost and try Novotel or NH hotels they are much better all the way.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EgrFaisal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Before I marvel about the hotel bare in mind that it it not within walking distance from the centre. A bus (line 24) will take you there within 10 mins. though. The XL-room we had was big and the mattress was among the most confortable we've had in hotels. The romms are absolutely clean and well designed. Staff's formal approach seems not to fit into the relaxed Amsterdam mood but they still do everthing they can to please you.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reisner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenjaminTam, General Manager at WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Dear Reisner,

Thank you for your nice words on Tripadvisor!
We are looking forward to see you again soon.

Best regards,

Benjamin Tam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Great value for money! Rooms were lovely, lived up to the name of "Art Hotel" There was a lovely picture of a parrot covering one wall of our room, I'm assuming not everyone gets a parrot, but I'm sure you can expect and equally lovely bird. Beds were comfy, bathroom was nice and clean, and had a nice bath, with reliable hot water to be able to fill it. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Wonderful!
If I had to mark the hotel down on anything it would be that check in and check out was very slow, the food there was pretty expensive and the location wasn't great, however there is a bus stop right outside so providing you are armed with a travel card it shouldn't be an issue, buses are pretty regular.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JEMJJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Dear Jessica M,

Thank you very much for commenting on your recent stay with us.
Good to read that you have enjoyed our Artwork. The art is different in every room.
I will share your comment regarding check-in and check-out with the department head involved to train our staff even better.

Thanks again!

Best regards,
Benjamin Tam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

The hotel is located in Hempoint and you can arrive at its location in about 20minutes via a train journey from Schipol Airport to Station Sloterdijk (3rd Stop), then Bus 48 to hempoint(follow bus stops on Bus Monitor) and your hotel is directly opposite bus stop.The centre of amsterdam is found using same bus to Central Staton and takes 10 minutes.
The Hotel staff at reception are always polite helpful and very user friendly and the rest of staff are very professional in carrying out their duties.especially the chambermaids who kept the hotel and our room 424 spotlessly clean.At the rear of the hotel there is a nice sitting area where you can have a nice drink,the area looks over a public swimming pool open free to hotel guests.
I wouls say that this was a very enjoyable stay,very quiet and i would highly recommend this hotel or your visit to Amsterdam

Room Tip: 424 is the end of a row and is a quiet location
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CheshireHolidaymaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenjaminTam, General Manager at WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Dear CheshireHolidaymaker,

Just a short thanks for your kind words!
A real pleasure to share with all staff!

Best regards,
Benjamin Tam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
2.6 mi away
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam
1.1 mi away
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
3.3 mi away
Volkshotel
Volkshotel
#40 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Couture
2.0 mi away
Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre
3.4 mi away
Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam

Property: WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam
Address: Spaarndammerdijk 302, 1013 ZX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#31 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#48 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam is on the edge of the old centre of Amsterdam, 10 minutes by public transport. The hotel is on the border of Spaarndammerbuurt which is renowned for the world famous Amsterdam School-building 'Het Schip', making it a wonderful area with much to discover. The hotel is easily accessible by car or public transport (bus 22, stop Hem-point). Art Hotel Amsterdam has 190 modern hotel rooms, all with free WIFI internet. In the public areas is an art gallery of the famous Dutch artist Herman Brood. Also in the rooms you will find art above your bed. The Art Brasserie is open daily for a la carte breakfast, coffee to-go, lunch, drinks and dinner. Next to The Art Brasserie is restaurant The Gallery, also used as breakfast restaurant. Adjacent there is an outside terrace with bar and a public open air swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulip Inn Amsterdam
Amsterdam Tulip Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing