We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A must for Herman Brood fans” 4 of 5 stars
Review of WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam
Ranked #39 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A must for Herman Brood fans”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

On the plus side:
- You absolutely need to stay in this hotel of you are a fan of Dutch artist Herman Brood:(or pop art in general): it is totally covered with his art works, some of which are pretty spectacular (both spectacularly good and spectacularly bad).
- Rooms are fairly spacious and squeaky clean.
- Good connections to the airport as well as the city centre.

On the negative side:
- The Amsterdam hotel market is overpriced and this is no exception (although not as bad as some).
- Food is so-so and much better and cheaper food can be had in the vicinity. The restaurant kitchen really needs to improve on its act.

Room Tip: The road in front of the hotel is busy and noisy. The double-glazed windows are adequately sound pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Dear Michael K,

Thank you very much for your review in Tripadvisor.
All comments do help us to improve our quality and service level.
I will discuss your comments with our Head Chef and Restaurant Manager.

Best regards,
Benjamin Tam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    955
    944
    164
    38
    33
See reviews for
289
988
81
173
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

Having stayed in Amstardam many times, we settled for something slightly out of town. This hotel is nicer than the photos show - very clean and stylish. The hotel is in a residential area, but there is a bus stop just outside. Only 3/4 stops and the bus drops you outside the Victoria hotel opposite central station. There was work ongoing in the town center when we went, so it was only temp bus stops - so be sure to find out how to get back (as it would probably take 40 min to walk back to the hotel) Great bar downstairs, which does lite snacks. Room was large, with various piece of 'art' on the walls. Short walk down the road to shops and supermarket. Great little base for those that have been to the Dam previously. For 1st timers, you would want to be more central. Would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank charrison77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Dear Charrison77,

Thank you very much for your positive and very detailed review.
I am happy to read it and to share it with all staff.

We are looking forward to welcome you again.

Best regards,
Benjamin Tam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012 via mobile

Quiet location yet close to downtown. Bus 22 and 48 go directly to central station. Bus stop is directly in front of hotel and bus ride is only 7 min to central station. Clean and courteous. Breakfast buffet has wonderful fresh food. We were welcomed with smiles even after the big tour bus group checked in, one at a time. Due to overbooking we were upgraded to the bridal suite, a super pleasant surprise. Room service and hotel food was wonderful. We took a taxi home from inner city and it was 20 euros, basically from Heineken museum from hotel will be 22 euros by taxi. We would definitely stay here again! The artwork was a really nice touch to the hotel and was interesting to look at.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mixedcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

On the last minute I made a reservation. Check-in was correct, fast and with very good atention of the reception.
Then the bags to the room and to the center of Amsterdam, nice weather and we walked to there. Its a very nice walk throught the neightbourhood and after passing the train tunnel there is even a parc. You enter the center passing also the "Jordaan", famous and very nice neightbourhood!

I would like to advice the hotel to make a little map about how to walk to the city center and advice this to the quests!

Nice room, good breakfast!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1leobrasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

We've stayed here several times and never been disappointed. The facilities, service and food available are all good. It is out of the city centre which means your sleep isn't disturbed by noisy late night clubbers, but with two buses running from a stop right outside the hotel it's easy to get into town to enjoy the best of Amsterdam.

Would definitely recommend, esp if anyone in your party is a smoker as they are one of the few hotels left that still offer smoking rooms.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Dear Caroline C,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your nice review!
We are looking forward to welcome you back soon!

Best regards,
Benjamin Tam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Alfred, South Africa
Level Contributor
104 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

Spent two nights here with a group for conferencing. The hotel has a pleasant atmosphere and very friendly staff that were attentive and professional throughout. The rooms are not overly luxurious, but provided a good night's sleep and provide good value.

The terrace outside was just perfect to enjoy the first rays of spring.

Not right in the city centre but close enough...

Room Tip: Had a room facing the public swimming pool which offered a lovely sunrise view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank woudo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Starting my twelth week in 2012, can't be all bad or i would have found somewhere else to stay.
Close to Motorways but not on them and the 22 bus goes every 15 minutes into the centre and takes less than 10 minutes.
Not got a Gym but has a pool in the summer.

Room Tip: Smokers delight on 2nd floor. Corner room is 33, any floor, gets extra window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
2.6 mi away
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam
1.0 mi away
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
3.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Couture
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Volkshotel
Volkshotel
#43 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 878 reviews
6.2 mi away
Jaz Amsterdam
Jaz Amsterdam
#33 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 333 reviews
3.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
#18 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam

Property: WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam
Address: Spaarndammerdijk 302, 1013 ZX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#31 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#48 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam is on the edge of the old centre of Amsterdam, 10 minutes by public transport. The hotel is on the border of Spaarndammerbuurt which is renowned for the world famous Amsterdam School-building 'Het Schip', making it a wonderful area with much to discover. The hotel is easily accessible by car or public transport (bus 22, stop Hem-point). Art Hotel Amsterdam has 190 modern hotel rooms, all with free WIFI internet. In the public areas is an art gallery of the famous Dutch artist Herman Brood. Also in the rooms you will find art above your bed. The Art Brasserie is open daily for a la carte breakfast, coffee to-go, lunch, drinks and dinner. Next to The Art Brasserie is restaurant The Gallery, also used as breakfast restaurant. Adjacent there is an outside terrace with bar and a public open air swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Travelocity, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulip Inn Amsterdam
Amsterdam Tulip Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing