We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Very very happy :)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam
Ranked #43 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Malta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very very happy :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2012

You can stop your hotel search here!

My boyfriend and I must have spent 3 days going through hotel reviews and started getting very frustrated as almost all the hotels within our budget had something wrong with it. Eventually we decided to go with this hotel as it had one of the best reviews for our budget and honestly, we were NOT disappointed.

The rooms are amazingly! Just what you see on the pictures! They are super clean, and the bed and pillows are ridiculously comfortable! The staff is really nice and the hotel is just overall lovely... even the breakfast was delicious! We paid 200euro for 3 nights B&B with Asda travel and honestly, it was well worth it!

As other people have posted, there is a bus-stop literally outside the hotel and the buses are really, really frequent so you will have absolutely NO problem getting to and from the centre.
Make sure you stop at 'Hempoint' Bus -stop and not at 'Spannerdijk' bus stop which is the name written on the hotel address.The Spannerdijk bus stop is only an 8 minute walk away from the Hempoint bus-stop (which is the stop right outside the hotel) but with suitcases it was a rather annoying walk after travelling for 8 hrs :)

I'd highly recommend it to anyone else and would definitely go there again!
(ps if you're on a budget, check out the Free Walking Amsterdam Tours)

Room Tip: We had room 421 and were very happy with it
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pilotesse89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenjaminTam, General Manager at WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Dear Pilotesse89,

Thank you!
I find it a great pleasure to start my day with reading and and responding to your review!
Good to read that you enjoyed our services and facilities. I will definitelty share your review with all staff.

Best regards,
Benjamin Tam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,009
    1,010
    177
    39
    34
See reviews for
309
1,054
86
181
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2012

I checked in here yesterday with my wife and 15-month old LO and we are enjoying our stay here very much. The location, though, seems out of nowhere, but it's connected by bus 22, 48 to Centraal. The bus stops right outside the hotel and opposite the road on the way back. You can actually buy the GVB 24/48/72 hours passes right at the front reception. There is also an Albert Hejyn store about 2 bus stops away. For heating up food for my LO, there is a small kettle, good enough that it does the job. Good space to put our 2 big luggages and to hang our jackets. Spacious bathroom too. Very well chosen, it's really great value for money.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Faister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenjaminTam, General Manager at WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Dear Faister,

Thank you very much for your review and kind words.
We are looking forward to welcome you again the next time you are in Europe.

Best regards,
Benjamin Tam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2012

My friend and I booked this hotel for a short break in Amsterdam. We were aware that the location was slightly out of the centre but that was not a problem.

Overall the hotel was very clean, modern, the staff were helpful and friendly and the restaurant food was nice.

I am writing this review as a warning to anyone booking a twin room. In this hotel a twin bed is a double frame with 2 single mattresses placed side by side - essentially a double bed with single duvet covers! You are very close to each other - we ended up making a 'pillow barricade'

The other issue is the glass cubicle bathroom - there is some frosting on one side but the other is clear. Due to room size and large wall mirrors you can easily see each other in bath or shower.

The toilet is separate but next to bed and certainly not soundproof! There is no handbasin in in the toilet either which felt unhygienic.. We ended up often using main hotel toilets (which were spotlessly clean)

My friend and I coped with what we christened the 'loveshack' with amusement but it wasn't ideal for platonic friends.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Floozle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenjaminTam, General Manager at WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
Dear Floozle,

First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us.
It is good to read that you have enjoyed our services and facilities.

I would like to inform you on the fact that we have several different roomtypes. Also with a "closed" bathroom withour any glass so privacy is garanteed.
Furthermore we do have twin rooms where also the bed frame is separated so it is easy to move the beds apart.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly for any future booking.

Best regards,
Benjamin Tam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2012

The Art 3 and 4 are the same hotel, and I stayed in the 4 star side. Very clean and modern, with comfortable beds. Enough room for two, just be aware of the clear shower door. I thought that the cafe prices were high until about day 3, then I noticed it was fair (20 euro breakfast buffet/15euro evening entrees). Room service is not available late, and the terrace is so nice you wouldn't want to order in anyway. The service is unreal, they will gladly help you with anything you need! Had no problems using the free wifi, except I got hacked, but that's not their fault. I can't wait to go back! Public transportation was easy after a bit, take the 48 during the day, the 348 at night. It's a 15min ride to central station, and totally worth not having to share a bathroom in a gross hostel. There was a strike when we arrived, so we took the shared ride shuttle, which I will not do again because it's an extra 45min for a little less than a taxi. I used the IAmsterdam card as well and thought it was worth it. If you want to exchange currency at 0%, there's an office to the left of the Victoria (across from central station).

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kdali7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenjaminTam, General Manager at WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
Dear Kdali7,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us last April.
Please be so kind to inform me when you are staying with us again!
We are looking forward welcoming you back!

Best regards,
Benjamin Tam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2012

The hotel has very nice rooms and over all very clean and tidy.
The art paint all around are very nice and give meaning to the hotel's name.
The breakfast bofet is good (although a bit too dark) and the hotel resturant/bar is very nicely decorated and good food.
In summer there is a pool.

Actually only thing missing is a gym.

Room Tip: best view is to the side of the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Citizen188590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paola, Malta
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2012

Excellent experience from start to finish. Rooms excellent and new with very comfortable beds. The receptionists were very helpful and kind.
The hotel is 5-10mins away from the centre by bus 22 & 48. The buses are always on time and pass by every 10 mins. Closest bus stop is Hempoint.

Hotel highly recommended from a frequent traveller. Will surely book this hotel if I ever visit Amsterdam again. Stayed for 4 nights.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Adrian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenjaminTam, General Manager at WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 12, 2012
Dear guest,

It is a pleasure to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
We are looking forward to welcome you again in the future.

Best regards,

Benjamin Tam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
2.6 mi away
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam
1.0 mi away
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
3.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Couture
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Volkshotel
Volkshotel
#47 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
1.5 mi away
Urban Lodge Hotel
Urban Lodge Hotel
#46 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
4.0 mi away
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
#118 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam

Property: WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam
Address: Spaarndammerdijk 302, 1013 ZX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#31 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#48 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam is on the edge of the old centre of Amsterdam, 10 minutes by public transport. The hotel is on the border of Spaarndammerbuurt which is renowned for the world famous Amsterdam School-building 'Het Schip', making it a wonderful area with much to discover. The hotel is easily accessible by car or public transport (bus 22, stop Hem-point). Art Hotel Amsterdam has 190 modern hotel rooms, all with free WIFI internet. In the public areas is an art gallery of the famous Dutch artist Herman Brood. Also in the rooms you will find art above your bed. The Art Brasserie is open daily for a la carte breakfast, coffee to-go, lunch, drinks and dinner. Next to The Art Brasserie is restaurant The Gallery, also used as breakfast restaurant. Adjacent there is an outside terrace with bar and a public open air swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulip Inn Amsterdam
Amsterdam Tulip Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing