We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Friendly, clean, good value, good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Freeland Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Freeland Hotel
Ranked #197 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
dhahran, saudi arabia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Friendly, clean, good value, good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for one night on 28th March 2014. Firstly, it’s conveniently located – just 30 minutes by public bus from Schipol Airport (Number 197, 5 euros, every 15 minutes). Just get off at Leidseplein and the hotel is 100 metres from the bust stop. The area is quite vibrant with several bars and restaurants. People everywhere. It’s a 15-20 minute walk to the city centre – Dam Square area. To get to my room in the hotel, I had to go up 2 very steep flights of stairs. No problem as I had left my heavy case at the airport. To open the door and be met with a miniscule room was frankly disappointing and my spirits were not lifted when I saw the small television which was more suited to a museum than a hotel room in a major European city in 2014. As the hotel was full (as were indeed all the hotels in the area, I was told) I had to make do with my lot and make the most of things. With the help of the kind man in reception, I managed to get the TV working, although the remote control was broken. I started to feel better when |I realised that the bed was clean and comfortable and that the shower produced ample hot water.
There are many positive aspects to this hotel, in addition to the location. It’s clean and quiet, there is excellent free wifi as well as free tea and coffee on every landing. Breakfast is included in the very reasonable price I paid for the room (63 euros). The three members of staff I met during my stay were kind, friendly and helpful – the man in reception, the lady owner and the lady who prepared my excellent breakfast earlier than scheduled as a favour as I had a flight to catch. Apart from the shaky beginning to my stay, I would have to say that the overall hotel experience was very positive.

Room Tip: Try to get a double room, even if you are alone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dominic-blaise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    128
    55
    13
    13
See reviews for
28
68
104
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Weymouth, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We made a reservation for this hotel and they Cancelled it without notifying us! How can you refuse a valid reservation? Luckily we attempted to confirm this prior to traveling out of the country!!!! I am horrified with this service!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Perfect location - direct bus N197 from Schiphol airport (300m from bus stop), some trams to Central Trainstation. Located almost exactly between Museum Square and City Centre (10-20 min to each by walk), lively surroundings with numerous shops and multinational restaurants. Good public transport web to all directions of Amst. Modest but good breakfast: boiled egg, 3 pieces of ham, 3 slices of cheese, toasts, jams, butter,tea/coffee with milk. Attentive, friendly and usefull staff. Teapot in the room, free tea/coffe, sugar. TV/DVD, free Internet in the lobby. Small functional single room on the 3rd floor. Heating with no problem. Family atmosphere.

Minuses: smell from drenage system in the bathroom with poor ventilation (according to hosts because of rainy weather). Noisy at some nights because of beerbar (beer was fine there) just opposite the Hotel, but mainly of trams and emergency sirens below the window. No air condition in my single room, so it can be hot and very noisy in summer. No hooks for outer clothes.

Room Tip: Rooms to the main street very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Serge K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

The hotel is easy to find, clean and functional. It lacks of space, but this is Amsterdam. The staff is friendly and helpful. Breakfast is plentiful and tasty.
Bathroom is small, but functional, internet connection very good. The bed was not hard, but this is a matter of personal taste.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Radu974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Level Contributor
46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

The staff were very friendly and helpful, the woman who served us at breakfast was extremely pleasant and chatty. All the staff spoke very good English. The breakfast was substantial and tasty, and she ensured that of our preferences were met, including the vegetarians. The room was large and spacious. The bed's were comfy and clean and we had en-suite facilities with a powerful hot shower. The room had a TV, and coffee and tea was available on each landing. The hotel itself had a good central location, with easy access to transport and the most museums. There was no problem in leaving our bags in the reception or our last day while we out, around Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Room 13 was not unlucky for us, and had a interesting view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joanne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunbridge Wells
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

We booked two rooms here in November, a double and a small single. The rooms were well furnished, clean and functional. The stairs upto the rooms were extremely steep but nothing to worry about if you are even half fit.

Nice touch tea and coffee available on the landings

Breakfast was a wee bit weird, hard boiled egg, bread and some cheese with orange juice with tean and coffee. The breakfast room is in the cellar and a wee bit snug.

Staff all very helpful and of course speak excellent English.

Next to the boisterous Leidseplein with the centre easily accessible by tram

There is a superb bar across the road called Lux I think, which is great for a nightcap

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MeFeinMcCabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed in Freeland for 3 nights from new years eve.
I must say although the stairs were a abit steep it was clean and tidy to a good standard. Very safe area.

Staff- EXCELLENT and v v helpful. Extremely welcoming.
Noon check in was just great!
Thanks to Bart, Pascale, Noorudin and all the other lovely staff we met even the lovely lady serving us breakfast.

we stayed with our 10 month old baby and I have no complaints. All questions were answered by staff, microwave and fridge available for use.

Location- awesome!!!
2 minute walk to main shopping area and food places etcetc
25 mins short walk to Dam Square though shoppinh street. Or tram is just 2 mins away.

One bus straight from airport to hotel which was perfect- €4 per person!!!

Highly recommend to anyone. Would and will most definitely stay again.
Excellent value for money.

Thank you Hotel Freeland :)

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sgaz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#107 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 381 reviews
Kooyk Hotel
#202 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 524 reviews
Hotel La Boheme
#36 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Boutique Hotel View
#62 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 863 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Titus
Hotel Titus
#286 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 203 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Museumzicht
Hotel Museumzicht
#205 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Freeland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freeland Hotel

Property: Freeland Hotel
Address: Marnixstraat 386, 1017 PL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #197 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Freeland Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We - Pascale and Rick- offer you a heartily and open-minded atmosphere in our two star hotel in downtown Amsterdam. Beside our outstanding service and hospitality we offer you many free extras: free coffee, tea, internet and wifi in the room, city maps and discounts. That's why we say: Feel good at Freeland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Freeland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Freeland Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing