We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old-styled, cosy, convenient eating places”
Review of Freeland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Freeland Hotel
Ranked #191 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed June 19, 2013

This hotel is in a rather old building. We had a room on the top floor, that means climbing 5 to 6 flights of really steep stairs. I wouldn't recommend heavy luggage as there is no elevator. Room comes complete with an old school CRT TV. Staff are friendly and the hotel has a cosy feel.

There seems to be the smell of weed lingering around the air, not sure where it is from as it is supposed to be non-smoking.

The hotel is quite a distance from the train station and near many eating places and bars. Room rate is reasonable compared to the other rates in Amsterdam and comes with a basic breakfast.

Don't feed the cat, because it is overweight.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hot_devil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (336)
There are newer reviews for Freeland Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 336 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2013

Don't expect a 5-star American hotel. This is a family-owned hotel. As far as I remember all rooms are non smoking. There is tea on every floor as well. Location is excellent! Hotels in Amsterdam are notoriously expensive, but this one is affordable. I love this city & I will go back eventually & this is where I plan on staying!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bc21578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

I had a very small room, smaller than my bathroom at home. Old and ugly furniture and bad smell in the room.

Price was also not that good, especially that they charged 20 euros more than booking.com showed. The guy from the reception didn`t want to charge the correct price.

The only good thing about the hotel is it`s location, but for sure I wont ever go back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Magdalena R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

The price is really good for the location in the city centre close to bars restaurants etc. it is also very close to the bus stop from where you can get directly to the airport in ca. 40 min. The staff seem really friendly. I had a single room. Very small with tiny bathroom but clean and since you don't need to spend a lot of time in your room while in Amsterdam I think it was fine. Especially for this price. The stairs are indeed extremely steep so if you don't want to climb ask for the room on lower floors. Breakfast is ok but you don't have any choice what you get ( except for coffee or tea).

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tobiaszl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Arrived 2/20/13 and stayed here for 7 days. Great central location but very quiet . Friendly and helpful stuff. The room was small but with a big window overlooking a garden. Very clean. Breakfast was nice too and in overall great value to it's modest price. I recommend it to anyone who is looking for a nice place to stay during their stay in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: As you well know the stairs in the Holland are very steep so I think the lower the better(:
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BARAK36H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Our room was not ready when we checked in; we waited over an hour. Sadly the room was on the top floor though I asked for a lower floor and the room was filthy. Management was horrible and did nothing to remedy the problem.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank janice12344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hotel La Boheme
#42 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,073 reviews
Boutique Hotel View
#100 of 371 in Amsterdam
950 reviews
Kooyk Hotel
#216 of 371 in Amsterdam
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#132 of 371 in Amsterdam
451 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Cornelisz
Hotel Cornelisz
#149 of 371 in Amsterdam
528 reviews
Jordaan
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
#90 of 371 in Amsterdam
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Freeland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freeland Hotel

Address: Marnixstraat 386, 1017 PL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #191 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $105 - $344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Freeland Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We - Pascale and Rick- offer you a heartily and open-minded atmosphere in our two star hotel in downtown Amsterdam. Beside our outstanding service and hospitality we offer you many free extras: free coffee, tea, internet and wifi in the room, city maps and discounts. That's why we say: Feel good at Freeland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Freeland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Freeland Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing