We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Trapped in a Time Warp” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Cake Under My Pillow

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cake Under My Pillow
Save
You added Cake Under My Pillow to your Saves list
Ranked #129 of 331 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Trapped in a Time Warp”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2007

I read with amazement the other reviews -maybe there is nother B&B with the same name. As a travel agent I look for value for money and this one failed horribly. The B&B is located above very quirky Amsterdam cake shop just around the corner from the Heineken Experience. My host when I arrived was one of the shop staff that read me the (strict) rules of the house and took my credit card payment before showing me my room. I stayed in the Orange room with en-suite and 14" TV with poor reception. It was clean but cramped and the shower overflowed flooding the bathroom floor every morning. There was no wardrobe and only hooks on the wall for my clothes with just two hangers. I had to use the same towels every day for 4 days as there was no maid service. When I asked for clean, dry ones and more toilet rolls I was accused of complaining. The room is at the top of two flights of steep stairs which are no good to the old or infirm. The other three rooms are above the main street with trams running all day and most of the night and so can be very noisey. The communal lounge is full of second hand furniture and the kitchen offers limited facilities (you are expected (told) to do your own washing up). I was fortunate that the other guests were polite, quiet non-smokers as we lived together like an extended family. Finally, I was charged £100 per night. In my view it was worth about £50 per night at best.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank Explorer_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    10
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
3
16
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2007

Cake under my pillow is a cut above most b&bs. We stayed in the Green room, which was clean, large and airy with as many German Shepherd ornaments as you are ever likely to see.
We did not meet the owners but spoke to the girls working in the cake shop downstairs, who were all lovely. The kitchen was well stocked and catered for most tastes. Not only do you get to help yourself to breakfast, you also get vouchers for coffee and cake downstairs. The area isn't as posh as Jordaan, but has a more local feel to it and its only a 10 minute walk to the Rijksmuseum. When we go back to Amsterdam, we will book this one.

  • Liked — Kindness of staff and catering
  • Disliked — Steep staircases!
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tboleyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, LA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2006

A wonderful experience to start our vacation. Location is wonderful and easy to get around! Staff is very gracious and helpful! We stayed in the green room. Nice, roomy and access to the kitchen, on each floor, to self-serve breakfast and snacks. The bakery was wonderful! Look forward to retruning!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — narrow stairs
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank bigtexbrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2006

This was the most romantic and wonderful time I have ever had. Siemon and Noam (the owners) are the most fabulous peope you will ever meet, they helped us find the best local places to see. I just fell in love with them both!! Make sure that you ask them about the wonderful Thai Restaurant, we went 3 times. Yummy!!
It was our first visit to Amsterdam, which we absolutely loved. We spent 9 days at Cake Under My Pillow, it is located in a very cool neighborhood and the rooms were so cozy and just beautiful. I really just cannot say enough!! The cake shop downstairs was amazing, they really bake the best sweets ever, and the girls that work in the cake shop are soooo helpful and sooooo sweet. You will love it here, We just can't wait till our next visit!!!


Ana and Jamie
Austin, TX

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2006

Possibly the best B&B I've stayed in anywhere, and certainly in a whole different league to most of the midrange accommodation in Amsterdam.

The room price includes access to a lovely sitting room with TV and magazines etc, and a kitchen stocked with (free) snacks including breads, cheeses, fruit, tea and coffee.

There is also free wireless internet access. Being there feels like being in a friend's appartment, rather than a hotel.

Rooms themselves were warm and pleasant, comfy beds, spotless en suite bathrooms.

The staff (who also run the cake shop downstairs) were friendly and sweet, and allowed us to keep our luggage in the office after checkout.

And the cake shop / cafe downstairs.. YUMM.. we sampled most of the cakes - the only possible bad thing about this place is the effect it could have on your waistline if you stay too long!

Five stars.

Helpful?
10 Thank getmeoutofthedrizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
#24 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,035 reviews
De Pijp
No photo provided
Rijksmuseum Residence
#142 of 219 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 6 reviews
De Pijp
Amsterdam Apartments Alexanders
Amsterdam Apartments Alexanders
#135 of 331 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
De Pijp
Bed & Breakfast Adriaen van Ostade
De Pijp
Bell's Boutique Hotel
Bell's Boutique Hotel
#96 of 219 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 28 reviews
De Pijp
Frans Hals Loft
Frans Hals Loft
#69 of 219 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cake Under My Pillow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cake Under My Pillow

Property: Cake Under My Pillow
Address: Eerste Jacob van Campenstraat 66 | 1072 BH, 1072 BH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp , Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #129 of 331 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Cake Under My Pillow Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing