We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just about right”
Review of Hotel Ben

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Ben
Ranked #331 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Stayed at this hotel last year for about 3 or 4 nights. The hotel is small but comfortable, it might not be the best hotel in Amsterdam but it satisfies an individual's basic needs. Some of my mates didn't really like the hotel but I think it's really good value for money. I would strongly recommend this hotel for a group of friends who are travelling on small budgets

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bjorn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (342)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

108 - 114 of 342 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2013

I have been staying in this hotel over the new year, and I have no complaint so far, the staff is friendly, Ron specially, did go the extra mile :-) Thanks a lot guys and I will definitely stay again, when I will be back to Adam.

The only little issue was that our room was facing an internal courtyard, which was full of pigeons,and i hate them...but for the rest I really couldn't ask more.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank volacolomba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An EasyToBook.com traveler
Amsterdam
11
Reviewed October 14, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank An EasyToBook.com traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

This is a very basic hotel but is ideal for a short holiday in Amsterdam. We stayed here for 3 nights, and were very happy with our choice. We took the train from the airport and its only a 5-10min walk to the hotel. Upon arrival, we were told their card machine wasn't working and that we'd need to pay in cash. Becareful, I think this is what most places in Amsterdam do as they prefer to do business cash-in-hand. This was very annoying as we were not notified before our arrival and hadn't prepared for this scenario. It proved to be a bit of an inconvenience but got things sorted in the end. Our room was clean, the beds were ok, and the bathroom was small, clean and functional. There was also a small tv in the room but we never tried it out. Staff were friendly and helpful. The best thing about the hotel is its location! Close to all the major sights of the city. The main High Street and shops, Dam Square, RLD, and public transport links are all only a few minutes walk away. Overall we didn't really have any issues with this place other than the steep stairs which also weren't too bad compared to the other places we saw!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaimie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

The best thing to be said about this hotel, other than I am no longer there, is the location. It is a few minutes walk from the station, shopping area and RLD. Everything else about it was pretty horrible. It has all the characteristics of a dingy youth hostel, which is fine if you are paying peanuts, but this hotel is generally not as cheap as it should be. I think we paid £280 for 2 nights for a room for 4 which, on reflection, is criminal.

I was using the hotel for 2 days with a group of friends, we were really just looking for somewhere to dump our luggage, shower and then come back to for a couple of hours sleep. It was just about bearable for 2 nights. If you are looking for anything at all other than these basic functions, look elsewhere! If you are hoping to sleep unaided past 7am, look elsewhere!

The rooms are accessed via the steepest stairs in the universe, god help you if you have lots of luggage or are in any way disabled. As I left the Hotel Ben, I passed a family of Japanese tourists booking in and I remember feeling a huge amount of sympathy for them as they peered disbelievingly up the staircase.

Everything is dirty, the first thing the guy on reception said was "No smoking in the rooms, but if you do smoke make sure you open the windows". I never did find out where the fire escape was.

There is a church nearby which looks charming, but has loud bells which chime every half hour or so. These are intially charming too, but become less so at 7am. Other noises are available, such as shouting/snoring/sex from neighbouring bedrooms and shouting from passing drunks outside.

Needless to say, I won't be booking here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Seagulldan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

This Hotel is very close to the central train station and its neighborhood is the famous red light area of Amsterdam. Due to the location, the convenience of public transport is excellent.Being close such a lively neighbourhood chances of getting a good sleep at night is a privilege. The rooms are small and semi-clean. The bed-sheets were unkempt and there are stains of various nature all over the room (I am not too sure whether the same applies to the other rooms) but I wouldn't be surprised if they were same. The attached toilet is tailor made for one and our was also a leaky one. The general feel of the Hotel suggested so. Though it has to be kept in mind that these hotels are for the budget conscious and who intend to use the room mostly for keeping the luggage, a quick bath and occasional nap. We stayed here for one night and in that terms the overall experience was just about efficient. It should be kept in mind that if you are carrying heavy luggage, chances are that you will have to leave them at the reception. Typical to Amsterdam, the stairs are steep and you will have to take out the necessary utilities and change before you proceed to your room, unless of course you are given a room at ground level. I doubt if they have one at all. Could be avoided. I am sure to stay elsewhere on my next visit.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adsalways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Torenzicht
Hotel Torenzicht
#270 of 374 in Amsterdam
242 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
XO Hotels City Centre Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Internationaal
Hotel Internationaal
#183 of 374 in Amsterdam
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
#261 of 374 in Amsterdam
301 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#311 of 374 in Amsterdam
661 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Vijaya
Hotel Vijaya
#330 of 374 in Amsterdam
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ben? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ben

Address: Beursstraat 21, 1012 JT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #331 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $72 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Ben 1*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Ben reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ben Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing