We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Titus

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Titus
Ranked #286 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
“Excellent location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

The room was extremely small and I felt like I was staying in a hostel as there wasn't anywhere in the little bathroom to hang anything or put any of my toiletries. Also, the water in the shower was either freezing cold or scalding hot so was difficult to have a good shower. However the breakfast was excellent and the staff were very nice. It was a great location as well, about 15 mins walk from the old town and red light district. There were lots of places to eat near by as well. Easy to get to from the airport and the beds were quite comfortable for a very small room.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Kathryn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    56
    69
    36
    30
See reviews for
22
55
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

If your looking for a basic hotel for your stay in Amsterdam then this is ideal! Our room was top floor stairs are very very steep almost vertical so was like a gym workout for your legs each time ! Room was a good size basic but dont need anything else really we also had our own private bathroom which is a must for me when booking! Flat screen tele in room and bed was comfy! Perfect location for pubs and places to eat and shops! We Didnt use trams we walked everywhere good Excercise ! Breakfast was available each morning Continental style :) am round good Basic Hotel no frills which is fine for short break x

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ashleigh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

I stayed basement and ground floor rooms which I didn't like it they are too small..other thing is bed size is so narrow (about 70 cm) I am normal size person..I cant imagine big people how can sleep those beds..But staff is friendly and helpful..Breakfast room got lovely canal view....location is so good ..only couple of minutes a way from lively Leidsplein....But hotel is at quiet road.....
.

Room Tip: if you ask upstairs room may be better and you get canal view....
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DUADO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We spent two nights partying in Amsterdam. We had an en-suite room for three. The location of Hotel Titus is undoubtedly great (leidseplein just around the corner) but its value for money is not reached (=overpriced). If you stay at a hostel in Amsterdam there's not a lot you should expect - however, at a certain price level you could at least expect your room to be clean and somehow furnished... Titus failed here. Altough having friendly staff and being at a good location, for financial reasons I wouldn't stay there again and look for an alternative budget stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nubuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a long weekend with my partner. A very average hotel with 8 rooms, a couple of which have a private bathroom. Would say it was more like a hostel as it was very cramped and noisy. But on a positive note, fairly clean. Over priced for what you get with this hotel but then we found Amsterdam expensive generally. We paid about £70 per night to stay here with breakfast included. The hotel is in a good location and the breakfast was slightly better than expected (small choice of cereal, fruit and ham, bread rolls, hard boiled eggs and tea or coffee). Would probably avoid staying here again but it was one of the cheapest places to stay that offered the option of a private bathroom.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank han-wa5020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
489 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

After booking my flights home for a day later than I should have, my brother and I needed a place to stay.... This place was perfect! Costing less than €15 a night each including breakfast, towels and linen, this place was excellent!

With an early check in of 2pm, we were a little surprised our room wasn't quite ready yet, but no big deal. Once in our room, the beds were really comfortable, and we had ample space. Given the location, it is a little far from the central station, but with multiple trams and buses heading there close by, thats not really an issue. It's also a 5min walk to all of the tourist bars and restaurants in the Leidseplein. I reckon I'd certainly stay here again if I come back to Amsterdam.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MFC31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Stadsdeel Zuid
Art Gallery Hotel
Art Gallery Hotel
#301 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 517 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Freeland Hotel
Freeland Hotel
#202 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 302 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Kap
Hotel Kap
#281 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amsterdam Downtown Hotel
Amsterdam Downtown Hotel
#276 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 249 reviews
Plantage & the East
Hotel Plantage
Hotel Plantage
#227 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 350 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Mozart Hotel
Mozart Hotel
#225 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Titus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Titus

Property: Hotel Titus
Address: Leidsekade 74, 1017 PM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #286 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Titus 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Budget Places, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Titus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Titus Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing