We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“one day trip” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Titus

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Titus
Ranked #282 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    60
    72
    36
    31
See reviews for
24
55
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

This is my first bad review: I'm not a moan guy.
I was been there with other 4 friends and we took a unique room.
The building is very old, the stairs are very tight and the room was not clean. All of us didn't like the breakfast.
The only good thing was the price and the fact that the owner was very kind.
I won't come back there for sure!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Guardians04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Now if I was 20 again and spending 25 Euros a night for a place to kip, then granted - no problems at all. Staff were helpful and accommodating, place was clean enough - we didn't have breakfast on any of the three mornings but it looked ok. Our problem was being charged 130+ Euros a night for two adults and two children (one an 18 year old daughter) in August and maybe it was just me but I expected more - we were housed in the Basement and having read reviews of what the basement was like after booking my heart sank - but it has been cleaned up since the review where it stank of damp etc., four individual beds in a really cramped room, a toilet that you can't sit on facing forwards because they forget that a toilet was there and built a wall (20 cms clearance??!!?) We were out 12 hours a day so the room didn't really matter that much - the room safe could be picked up and carried out by a moderately strong adult. The photos looked gorgeous, location is excellent, but I would advise backpackers and the young at heart to negotiate a good rate - it was much less than Premier Inn standard in the UK, strongly advise families to look elsewhere, but being fair it did what it was supposed to do, the place was clean, staff friendly and the walls were paper thin. Can only comment on the basement but the stairs were extremely steep. Maybe for Amsterdam this is value, but just felt that although the owners do the best they can, it is not quite the building it should be to be described as a hotel.

Room Tip: All I can add id that the Basement room had no Canal View
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

For this price we were expecting much less! We thought our room (twin room) would be with shared bathroom, but we had our own and it was clean like a new one!;) In our room there was also tvset. Breakfest is realy good. The hotel isn't in the center but it's a good location (about 20min walk to the main attractions). The view from the highest floors is amazing!!

Room Tip: from 4th floor there is a wonderfull view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rafaelaanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

Myself and 2 friends stayed here for 2 nights at the beginning of February. We could walk everywhere from this hotel which was very convienient. I wouldn't recommend walking to the central station though, get a taxi, it was only 8 euros! We stayed in a triple room which was clean and all we needed. The hotel smelt faintly of smoke but it was bareable and nothing like the rest of Amsterdam. The stairs were the thinnest and steepest I've ever seen in my life which can prove a problem when you've got heavy cases. Luckily the nice man on reception carried it for me. The breakfast was quite good and just what we needed. Overall I would recommend staying here if just looking for a bed to sleep on and a nice breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jess_1991_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Having stayed here before and having had a good experience i knew it would be reliable. although we were put in a room at the back - which was fine, but we had some issue with being given 2 single beds (on wheels) rather than a double. it would've been fine having 2 singles, just not on wheels (as they seemed to move further and further apart throughout the night!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosieeatkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Kap
Hotel Kap
#291 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Freeland Hotel
Freeland Hotel
#194 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Plantage & the East
Hotel Plantage
Hotel Plantage
#243 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amsterdam Downtown Hotel
Amsterdam Downtown Hotel
#276 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Washington
Hotel Washington
#250 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Kooyk Hotel
#214 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Titus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Titus

Property: Hotel Titus
Address: Leidsekade 74, 1017 PM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #282 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Titus 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Budget Places, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Titus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Titus Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing