We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, lots of steep stairs”
Review of Hotel Titus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Titus
Ranked #270 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Myself and 2 friends stayed here for 2 nights at the beginning of February. We could walk everywhere from this hotel which was very convienient. I wouldn't recommend walking to the central station though, get a taxi, it was only 8 euros! We stayed in a triple room which was clean and all we needed. The hotel smelt faintly of smoke but it was bareable and nothing like the rest of Amsterdam. The stairs were the thinnest and steepest I've ever seen in my life which can prove a problem when you've got heavy cases. Luckily the nice man on reception carried it for me. The breakfast was quite good and just what we needed. Overall I would recommend staying here if just looking for a bed to sleep on and a nice breakfast.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jess_1991_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (232)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 232 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2013

Having stayed here before and having had a good experience i knew it would be reliable. although we were put in a room at the back - which was fine, but we had some issue with being given 2 single beds (on wheels) rather than a double. it would've been fine having 2 singles, just not on wheels (as they seemed to move further and further apart throughout the night!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rosieeatkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Easy to walk everywhere from this location .friendly staff;clean.Good to make the reservation before ,private room with canal view.Only for sleep is fine.I recommend only private room.The tram is 2 min away by foot.The same is the bus for airport ( nr. 197 ,every 15 min. 4 euro and something ,red color ) .They provide free maps with the main sites on.
Breakfast was fine.

Room Tip: Not at the lower level,private room with private shower ,view to the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petru i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

I can recommend Hotel Titus - they keep the place very clean, very friendly helpful staff and the breakfast is nice. I was on the fourth floor of the second house in a two bed room with its own shower and bathroom and it was so lovely looking over the canal and the houses. The rooms are very basic but I was there to sleep and to enjoy a good cheaper place. Great location and super deal.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Delightinlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Me and my partner stayed here for four nights during a two month trip around Europe.
It's a very convenient location, walking distance to shops, restaurants, and a tram stop which takes you right to Centraal station. We were looking for somewhere cheap and centrally located where we could sleep and store our luggage, and this hotel met those needs.
The only issues I had was the stairs. I have heard that many houses in Amsterdam are quite narrow but high, which would explain the stairs. The steps are quite small and the staircase is very steep, making it very difficult to walk up and down with luggage. We couldn't hear any other guests, but the heater in our room made a loud ticking noise all night, even though we didn't have it on, which was a little annoying, but that's the worst of it.
Overall, if you're looking somewhere basic, cheap and convenient (and don't have a fear of stairs :P) I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Unless you are quite strong and fit, probably should avoid this hotel if you are bringing suitcases...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Marlies V
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Elizaveta C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#311 of 374 in Amsterdam
662 reviews
Vondelpark
Jupiter Hotel
Jupiter Hotel
#209 of 374 in Amsterdam
414 reviews
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#136 of 374 in Amsterdam
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Kap
Hotel Kap
#299 of 374 in Amsterdam
212 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Freeland Hotel
Freeland Hotel
#188 of 374 in Amsterdam
339 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel The Golden Bear
Hotel The Golden Bear
#309 of 374 in Amsterdam
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Titus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Titus

Address: Leidsekade 74, 1017 PM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #270 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $72 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Titus 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Titus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Titus Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing