We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
NL Hotel District Leidseplein
Nearby Hotels
$288
$241
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel(Amsterdam)
$306
$244
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $280/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$262
$206
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Banks Mansion(Amsterdam)
$316
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$334
$223
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of $278/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Lloyd Hotel(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$131
$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Estherea(Amsterdam)
$300
$232
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Ambassade Hotel(Amsterdam)
$205
$189
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 31% below average rates

The price you found is 31% lower than this hotel's average rate of $275/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$451
$332
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$286
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (375)
Filter reviews
375 results
Traveler rating
97
143
74
39
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
97
143
74
39
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbasement roomsteep stairscomfort roomtraditional amsterdamsmall hotelcoffee machine in the roomminute walkeach eveningstayed here for nightsfirst floormajor attractionscanal viewfamily roomfresh towelswalked everywherethe room was nicelocation was perfect
Filter
Updating list...
132 - 137 of 375 reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2013

This grand, old hotel is situated right in the heart of Amsterdam, just around the corner from the famous canals. The staff are incredible friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Some of the rooms have had a re-vamp. Given the history of the hotel, the ultra modern decor of these rooms doesn't feel quite right! They are very comfortable however and also very clean.

This is a great hotel if you're on business or just visiting the city of Amsterdam as a tourist. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bobdobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We were only in Amsterdam for a long weekend to celebrate our Ruby Wedding Anniversary. This hotel may be small in size, but is HUGE on hospitality and customer service. On arrival, the gentleman on reception could not do enough to help us, he was very friendly, helpful and had a great sense of humour.

Our room was on the first floor. The room was small but not cramped, we had all we needed including tea/coffee making facilities, t.v. and hairdryer. The room itself was tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean. The bedding and towels were snow white and soft, The bathroom was also spotlessly clean and we loved the glass doors, we found them quite quirky.

After a days sightseeing we arrived back at the hotel to find that a tray of chocolates had been placed in our room, we found this to be a lovely gesture. A different gentleman on the reception desk booked a restaurant for us, this was so kind of him.

The cost of our stay was 300 euros, very good value for money.

We only spent 2 nights in this lovely hotel, but we will definitely return. This hotel was perfect for our needs, but most of all the hospitality and service we received that make it such a pleasant and memorable experience. A huge thank you to all at the NL.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floors at the back are quieter.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MISTYunitedkingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Having stayed in the city on half a dozen occasions my husband and myself have never had an issue with any of the hotels we have stayed in, this particular hotel however changed all that.
When we arrived we were led down what could only be described as the stairway to hell, the steepest descent i have ever personally encountered for stairs and with no hand rail and suitcases in tow we were lucky not to have broken our necks before we even got to our room.
The stairs were the nicest part.
The room was like a dungeon. Dark dingy and reeking of damp and urine.
It had plastic floors, was cold with no working heating and had a barred in window looking out to peoples feet on the street.
The bottom of the walls were covered in rising damp, even with every light switched on the place was still dark.
The "bathroom" barely located a foot from the bed did not even have a door but a glass partition which meant that i personally had to hold all bowel movements for our four day stay as the room being tiny as stinking as it was who wants to take a crap while their husband is sitting a foot away from you on the bed.
The bed, what a joke that was, was the lumpiest and most uncomfortable thing I've ever had the misfortune to lie upon, but that was the least of our worries considering the fact the sheets were ripped, the cushions had unidentified stains on them and there was a centipede living on my bedside table, not to mention and army of silverfish living in the bathroom.
All in all a dump, you couldn't pay me to set foot in the place again.
Oh yeah and if all of the above wasn't bad enough the room was directly located under reception meaning there was the constant racket of what could only be described as a heard of elephants.

Room Tip: Don't stay here, have no clue what their other rooms are like but you take the risk of ending up in the dungeon room.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danielle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

My wife and I stayed here 1 night on the front end of a river cruise. Great location relative to walking to many of the Amsterdam sights, shopping, and restaurants. Room was small and hot. Staff was indifferent and we waited 3 hours for our room.
Breakfast was very good.
We paid $400 Cdn for the room which, in my opinion, was not good value for what we received.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 382dalem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Stayed 3 nights for business. Had a room in the basement at the back, with a private "garden". The room was of a good size considering Amsterdam (rooms do tend to be small) and it was nicely decorated. We got fresh fruits in the room the second day, a really nice gesture :)

Breakfast is plated in the reception/kitchen/breakfast room - really amazing how much functionality they got into that one room! The food was good and offered quite a variety considering the small space.

Some people have made complaints about the steep stairs of this hotel. This did not bother us at all. Only negative thing I can think of was that as our room was in the basement it did have a slight moldy smell, but opening the door to the back garden and getting some fresh air in took care of that. We had no problems with traffic noise (room away from the street).

The highlight of this hotel is the generous and friendly staff. Such a genuine and friendly a welcome we have rarely experienced. Felt really well taken care of!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Puenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews