We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect 40th Wedding Anniversary”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
NL Hotel District Leidseplein
Ranked #241 of 365 Hotels in Amsterdam
UNITED KINGDOM
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Perfect 40th Wedding Anniversary”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We were only in Amsterdam for a long weekend to celebrate our Ruby Wedding Anniversary. This hotel may be small in size, but is HUGE on hospitality and customer service. On arrival, the gentleman on reception could not do enough to help us, he was very friendly, helpful and had a great sense of humour.

Our room was on the first floor. The room was small but not cramped, we had all we needed including tea/coffee making facilities, t.v. and hairdryer. The room itself was tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean. The bedding and towels were snow white and soft, The bathroom was also spotlessly clean and we loved the glass doors, we found them quite quirky.

After a days sightseeing we arrived back at the hotel to find that a tray of chocolates had been placed in our room, we found this to be a lovely gesture. A different gentleman on the reception desk booked a restaurant for us, this was so kind of him.

The cost of our stay was 300 euros, very good value for money.

We only spent 2 nights in this lovely hotel, but we will definitely return. This hotel was perfect for our needs, but most of all the hospitality and service we received that make it such a pleasant and memorable experience. A huge thank you to all at the NL.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floors at the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MISTYunitedkingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    131
    71
    35
    17
See reviews for
28
199
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Having stayed in the city on half a dozen occasions my husband and myself have never had an issue with any of the hotels we have stayed in, this particular hotel however changed all that.
When we arrived we were led down what could only be described as the stairway to hell, the steepest descent i have ever personally encountered for stairs and with no hand rail and suitcases in tow we were lucky not to have broken our necks before we even got to our room.
The stairs were the nicest part.
The room was like a dungeon. Dark dingy and reeking of damp and urine.
It had plastic floors, was cold with no working heating and had a barred in window looking out to peoples feet on the street.
The bottom of the walls were covered in rising damp, even with every light switched on the place was still dark.
The "bathroom" barely located a foot from the bed did not even have a door but a glass partition which meant that i personally had to hold all bowel movements for our four day stay as the room being tiny as stinking as it was who wants to take a crap while their husband is sitting a foot away from you on the bed.
The bed, what a joke that was, was the lumpiest and most uncomfortable thing I've ever had the misfortune to lie upon, but that was the least of our worries considering the fact the sheets were ripped, the cushions had unidentified stains on them and there was a centipede living on my bedside table, not to mention and army of silverfish living in the bathroom.
All in all a dump, you couldn't pay me to set foot in the place again.
Oh yeah and if all of the above wasn't bad enough the room was directly located under reception meaning there was the constant racket of what could only be described as a heard of elephants.

Room Tip: Don't stay here, have no clue what their other rooms are like but you take the risk of ending up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Cornwall, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

My wife and I stayed here 1 night on the front end of a river cruise. Great location relative to walking to many of the Amsterdam sights, shopping, and restaurants. Room was small and hot. Staff was indifferent and we waited 3 hours for our room.
Breakfast was very good.
We paid $400 Cdn for the room which, in my opinion, was not good value for what we received.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 382dalem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Stayed 3 nights for business. Had a room in the basement at the back, with a private "garden". The room was of a good size considering Amsterdam (rooms do tend to be small) and it was nicely decorated. We got fresh fruits in the room the second day, a really nice gesture :)

Breakfast is plated in the reception/kitchen/breakfast room - really amazing how much functionality they got into that one room! The food was good and offered quite a variety considering the small space.

Some people have made complaints about the steep stairs of this hotel. This did not bother us at all. Only negative thing I can think of was that as our room was in the basement it did have a slight moldy smell, but opening the door to the back garden and getting some fresh air in took care of that. We had no problems with traffic noise (room away from the street).

The highlight of this hotel is the generous and friendly staff. Such a genuine and friendly a welcome we have rarely experienced. Felt really well taken care of!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Puenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We spent 5 nights at the NL Hotel. Staff was ok. The room was small but nice. The bathroom had a good size, however, it got flooded every time we took a shower due to the lack of a door. I probably wouldn't stay there anymore as there must be better options for the price they charge.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rafael_Baur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

lovely quaint room. small but big enough for two. lovely, clean great staff. very helpful.

my complaint is the bathroom door was unlockable and see through and had gaps and the top and bottom. great if you are a couple but if not its very invasive?

the noise between 7am and 9pm is outragious if you are on the downstairs floor.

stairs are very steep! especially on the way downstairs they spiral.

Room Tip: try and get a room on the top floor if you want to sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lelox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herning, Denmark
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel last weekend. Great location & decent breakfast. On Friday night after checking in; we asked if it was possible to move from the front basement room to another room as we found the noise from the busy street really loud & irritating. Unfortunately the hotel was fully booked so this was not an option. So we “bit the bullet”; popped in the ear plugs and went to bed late Friday night. Saturday morning 06:30: It sounded like a herd of elephants; with ear plugs in. The reason being that ROOM 2; is directly under the reception and breakfast area. When we once again asked another reception clerk if there was a room available because the noise from the guests going to and from breakfast was really annoying; he said they did actually have a room ; number 3 was available BUT we had to pay house cleaning because we wanted to move. This is where my heading “unreasonable” comes into play. When I asked the clerk if he had had complaints about the noise in this room before; he said YES. We paid €300 for Saturday night due to the city being full. When I mentioned €300 for the night and I thought it unreasonable to have to pay on top of this for an obvious “hotel defect”; he shrugged his shoulders and said; you want to move; you pay; it’s company policy. I run a small company that exports to 30 countries so travel extensively. Never before have I been asked to pay for moving within a hotel; even if there was absolutely nothing wrong with the room. So I believe NL Hotels policy is “unreasonable”; €500 for two nights and I was expected to pay housekeeping when it was the hotel's "known defect" that actually inconvenienced us!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#124 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
377 House - Amsterdam
#50 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Jordaan
Hotel de Paris Amsterdam
Hotel de Paris Amsterdam
#269 of 365 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Grand Hotel Downtown
Grand Hotel Downtown
#131 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,236 reviews
Vondelpark
Sara's Boutique Hotel
Sara's Boutique Hotel
#227 of 365 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Alexander
Hotel Alexander
#163 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NL Hotel District Leidseplein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NL Hotel District Leidseplein

Property: NL Hotel District Leidseplein
Address: Nassaukade 368, 1054 AB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #241 of 365 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — NL Hotel District Leidseplein 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Would you like to enjoy Amsterdam and stay in one of the hippest and coolest design hotels of the city? NL-Hotel Leidseplein is a charming boutique hotel where you enjoy a personal approach by the staff and the comfort of Dutch design. The hotel is located in an authentic Amsterdam canal house on the Nassaukade and is designed by Edward van Vliet who transformed into a contemporary design hotel.The stylish design hotel is located in the heart of Amsterdam, which was recently declared World Heritage by UNESCO. It is only 5 to 10 minute walking distance from Leidseplein, Vondelpark, the 9 streets shopping area, the Museum Quarter and the PC Hooftstraat. This makes the NL-Hotel Leidseplein the perfect spot to experience Amsterdam's turbulent life. NL-Hotel Leidseplein is easily accessible by car and public transport! Cars can be parked publically and in a nearby P&R. From Central Station, the hotel is accessible by public transport: tram lines 1, 2 and 5 bring you to the nearby tram stops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your NL Hotel District Leidseplein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nl Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing