We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Not a bad hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of NL Hotel District Leidseplein

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
NL Hotel District Leidseplein
Ranked #210 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    128
    64
    28
    12
See reviews for
23
181
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay with my friends in this place !
Lovely design of the room that we had stayed. Also the room is clean and the staff is really helpful and suggested good plan for us in Amsterdam !
I definitely recommend it !

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Z0e_Du
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

The NL hotel is a cozy designed location near to Leidesplein in Amsterdam. The overall place looks warm and inviting and i am sure the upper rooms are all equipped with best accessories. I stayed in the lower room underground with a window to the street. No air condition in this room which was not told in the hotel description. The room was great, comfy bed and pillows, fast wifi and bath, but you need to decide, quiet room and no air, or noisy room from window to the street cars and people and fresh air... Overall i would definitely stat there again. But ask for top room.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tal W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for three nights.

Firstly I would just like to say thank you to the staff who were very welcoming and approachable. We've been to many hotels where the staff weren't interested in us and just the money. They were great when it came directions and showing us a map in detail of where and where not to go.

The location of this hotel is great. It is just far enough from the main bits so you don't get the noise but close enough so your not walking for hours or having to pay to travel there.

The hotel was very clean and beautifully designed. The toilet was a bit strange but luckily me and my boyfriend didn't really care. It is a very small hotel so you can hear noise from other rooms but its the only bad thing about the hotel. And I can handle some noise, I mean I live in a very busy city so this was nothing to me or my boyfriend.

The breakfast was very yummy.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Unless you really can't stand any noise.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TasX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed in one of the economy rooms (room 3) in mid may 2013.

On arrival, the small reception desk and breakfast room was bright and well decorated. On arrival to our room, we were quite shocked by the small size of the room, it would have been very awkward if we'd had large suitcases, not only space wise, but also to navigate the incredibly steep stairs down into the basement.

The room was very dark due to its small size and low ceilings, and as there was no fan to extract from the bathroom damp could be seen on the walls. There were glass saloon style doors that divide the bed area from the bathroom so you need to be friendly with whoever you're rooming with!

The other issue was noise. There was a gap below the door that meant you could hear other people struggling up and down the stairs, as well as hear their conversations when they were in their room. The cleaning cupboard was outside room 3 and so we were woken both days by the staff clattering and banging about.

On both mornings there was also hammering and drilling. Although I think this came from the building next door it is still worth noting if you intend to sleep until after 0830.

Overall I would be happy to stay here at £50 per night because the hotel is in a good place for visiting attractions, but not for the price we paid.

Room Tip: Request that you are not put in the basement.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank catflaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We booked from internet and pictures show the truth, thats a nice and warm small hotel. Our room was in street level but facing to garden so it was silent and relax room. I also liked the breakfast. Leidseplein night life is only 6-7 minutes walking.

Room Tip: ıf you buy with a code, it is only street level BUT ıncluding breakfast. I dont know how the upper f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Kaan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
108 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

Pro:
Very neat and clean
Good towels
GREAT location (1 block off restaurant row. Big outside gardens and restaurants)
Major nightlife
blocks from Van Gogh and Reijksmuseum

Cons:
no bathtub
Small, but fair for Europe
Pricey at times

Paid: $170

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jcb193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Grand Hotel Downtown
Grand Hotel Downtown
#124 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
377 House - Amsterdam
#42 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Alexander
Hotel Alexander
#148 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Hotel Espresso
Hotel Espresso
#100 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#104 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Boutique Hotel View
#68 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NL Hotel District Leidseplein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NL Hotel District Leidseplein

Property: NL Hotel District Leidseplein
Address: Nassaukade 368, 1054 AB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #210 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — NL Hotel District Leidseplein 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Would you like to enjoy Amsterdam and stay in one of the hippest and coolest design hotels of the city? NL-Hotel Leidseplein is a charming boutique hotel where you enjoy a personal approach by the staff and the comfort of Dutch design. The hotel is located in an authentic Amsterdam canal house on the Nassaukade and is designed by Edward van Vliet who transformed into a contemporary design hotel.The stylish design hotel is located in the heart of Amsterdam, which was recently declared World Heritage by UNESCO. It is only 5 to 10 minute walking distance from Leidseplein, Vondelpark, the 9 streets shopping area, the Museum Quarter and the PC Hooftstraat. This makes the NL-Hotel Leidseplein the perfect spot to experience Amsterdam's turbulent life. NL-Hotel Leidseplein is easily accessible by car and public transport! Cars can be parked publically and in a nearby P&R. From Central Station, the hotel is accessible by public transport: tram lines 1, 2 and 5 bring you to the nearby tram stops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your NL Hotel District Leidseplein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nl Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing