We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great central location”
Review of Hotel The Crown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel The Crown
Ranked #207 of 238 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Reviewed October 10, 2012

As others have mentionned, the location of the hotel is fantastic and is an approximately 10 minute walk from the central station. The beds are also very comfortable. The showers and toilets are shared, however, I never found that I had to wait to be able to use one. Also despite being in the red light district, we had no problems with noise. Staff were friendly too. One thing to mention is that the hotel may not be suitable for those with mobility problems as the stairs are very steep.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Scottishgal5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (232)
There are newer reviews for Hotel The Crown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 232 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2012

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Idan G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I stayed at Hotel The Crown from 23rd August until 26th August with my Boyfriend. Roughly we paid around £140.00 each for 3 nights so £280.00 altogether.

LOCATION -

The location of the hotel is GREAT! ... It took us 10 minutes to walk from Amsterdam Central Station and you are right next to the red light district as well as all the coffee shops, restaurants, bars and shops etc. It literally takes 2 minutes to walk to a coffee shop or restaurant, there literally over the road from the hotel. The hotel is located next to a canal, so thats quite a nice view as well. You are also next to tram lines and taxi bike rides.

STAFF -

Staff are friendly, not overly friendly but they weren't rude at all.

THE HOTELS BAR -

The hotel offers a bar down stairs, it serves most drinks at reasonable prices, the ONLY food they serve at the hotel is a Cheese Toastie or Crisps (I didn't have either)

BEDROOMS -

My boyfriend and I had a twin bedroom so two single beds ( as all double rooms where taken and we thought it was a good price ) on the TOP floor which meant 4 flights of stairs (UP the small, steep stair cases) ... There was around 3 or 4 bedrooms per floor with ONE shower room and ONE toilet per floor. Rooms are very very dated as well as the shower room and toilet (Brown tiles and flooring in the shower room and toilet) Can't say I enjoyed going to the loo or having a shower there, but it was OK for 3 nights. Bedrooms had a sink in which was handy, as well as a little cupboard and a chair.

THE HOTEL ITSELF -

Location great, very very dated, its a smoking hotel, how ever you can only smoke on the porch of the entrance to the hotel, which obviously, makes you get in peoples way when they are trying to enter and leave. There was an old black cat that lived at the hotel and use to lounge around on chairs, it clearly looked old and wasn't looked after, I didn't want to go any where near it incase it had fleas or something, I didn't see it eat or drink once. The hotel was clean and I saw maids every day on the floors cleaning which is good, sheets on the beds were clean, the walls in the bedrooms could do with a lick of paint, as well as getting rid of the cob webs in the corners. The bar down stairs has a pool table and plays music on the flat screen TV.

There seemed to be a lot of people our age (18-25) at the hotel, because of the prices and location.

I probably wouldn't stay at this hotel again, just for the pure fact is was very dated and I was scared to go to sleep sometimes, especially one night when I was in bed and drunk people came into the hotel and where shaking our door handle trying to get in thinking it was there room. Something you don't want in the middle of Amsterdam, in the middle of the night.

Other than that, the price is good for what you get, I would definitely NOT call it a HOTEL, definitely more like a hostel. But the location was great and I wasn't in the hotel most of the time any way which was a good thing!

Room Tip: If you do wish to stay at this Hotel, then I would ask for a room which is NOT on the top floor, fai...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirsty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Stayed 7th-9th September 2012 on a stag night. 5-10 mins walk from Centraal Train Station to the hotel. Right in the heart of the Red Light District and many places to drink, smoke & eat close by. Hotel staff very friendly and even though we had to check out from the hotel by 10am, I was allowed to use all facilities to shower and freshen up for the flight back at 4pm. Room basic but what do you need if your out and about just a comfy bed :) also shared toilet and shower facilities. If you like a drink good luck navigating the really steep and narrow twisting staircase haha!!

Really not seedy at all. We were there to visit the famous coffeeshops but if you wander to the side of the hotel the famous RLD starts. Most drinks are between 5 to 8 euros but at the hotel bottled beer €2.50 and they serve food as well Overall excellent stay and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pete C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

It was in a good location, room was ok with shared bathroom, pretty quiet
asdfasdfgzcxvbfbesabaebrbasebadfbAadsgadfgadsfvsadfgagb

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Andras S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Marc G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor Member
Amsterdam
11
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Stayed here 20 years ago, which is why thought would try again. Very disappointed rooms ok, no atmosphere in bar. we had to leave at 7.30 in morning to catch flight home, firstly we woke up the person on duty who was asleep across some chairs, then when I asked for 2 coffees you would of thought I asked him to chop his arm off. He looked at the coffee machine and sighed and looked at me and sighed, I told him not to bother as it was obviously too much trouble.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Old Quarter
Hotel Old Quarter
#295 of 371 in Amsterdam
729 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Vijaya
Hotel Vijaya
#333 of 371 in Amsterdam
670 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Old Nickel
Old Nickel
#230 of 371 in Amsterdam
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Royal Taste Hotel Amsterdam
Royal Taste Hotel Amsterdam
#223 of 371 in Amsterdam
135 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Centre
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Centre
#298 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,615 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
#270 of 371 in Amsterdam
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Crown

Address: Oude Zijds Voorburgwal 21, 1012 EH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #207 of 238 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range: $102 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel The Crown 1*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You are going to Amsterdam and you are looking for a suitable place in Amsterdam budget hotel to stay? Welcome to the Amsterdam Crown Hotel! If you are full of energy and active and you are looking for some adventure in one of the craziest capitals in whole Europe or you are looking for Amsterdam city break, you have found the right place and the right Amsterdam budget hotel. Here you are, in the centre of Amsterdam! One step out and you enter the world of coffee shops, sex shops and it takes one minute to get to Red Light District with so many pretty girls! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel The Crown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing