We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Hotel Pax” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Pax

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Pax
Ranked #242 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Waterbeach
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hotel Pax”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

Great place to stay, quiet, clean and very close to the centre. Free WiFi, good shower and comfy bed. Plenty of places to eat very near by. Stayed for three nights and had absolutely no problems at all here. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    46
    22
    5
    1
See reviews for
2
41
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
ankara
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in a single ensuite room. The room vas small but enough, equipped with everything you'd need. Minibar, a place to put your luggage/clothes in, tv, wifi, kettle mug and coffee. Bathroom was small but enough place was provided to take a good hot shower. It was a quiet place little bit away from red light district but still really close. Places like dam square and anne frank house are walking distance So it gives you the opportunity to both have a peaceful sleep and reach everything easily. You can also get everywhere really quick with tram. Trams are passing in front of the hotel. Room was cleaned everyday, fresh towels were placed. It was winter time but room was really warm i didn't even need the blanket which I don't like to use coz I often find it dirty in hotels, this one was clean though. At least didn't smell like dust.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ozgeozsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

Nice stay with Danny at his hotel. Excellent location, it's walking distance to Dam Square and everywhere. Just 10-15 mins from Centraal Station. Tram and buses are just round the corner. Oh yes, Anne Frank House is also 5 mins walk away.
Clean towel everyday. Feel safe in the building.

The only down side is the steps. But you will get used after a few times up and down it :)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

We stayed for 6 days in Hotel Pax and it was faultless !
Very nice, helpful owner who accommodated our needs when we asked and was always busy !
Close to the centre either walking or via the tram.
Our room was a double next to reception with a balcony and included a mini fridge and kettle. The stairs can be noisy and you can hear people talking at reception but that did not bother us. Bear it in mind if it will bother you.
Clean towels and sheets everyday, you can't go wrong with this hotel !

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank omnomnizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

There is something very comfortable about the charming Pax Hotel! I would definitely stay there again...clean and close to everything. I loved feeling that I was staying in an old Amsterdam place! Yes, you do have many steep stairs, but to me that was part of the fun and charm! (More fun than a stairmaster!) Philip is VERY pleasant and most accommodating. My room has its own sink and small refrigerator, so I would assume every room had the same.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boston02493
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

I've just returned from a 3 night stay and I can't praise it highly enough. It's in a great location within walking distance to Dam Square and less than a 5 min stroll to Anne Frank's house. I have to mention the stairs, they are very steep but all part of the charm. The rooms are well equipped and spotlessly clean and fresh towels are provided daily. I will definitely recommend the Hotel Pax and when I return to Amsterdam I will book here again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

Due to unforeseen circumstances we had to reluctantly cancel our stay 3 days before we were due to arrive. Despite this we were still charged 90 euros for the first night's stay. I understand that rules apply to these things, but a credit note or refund would have been much more customer friendly. Be aware if you book, your right to cancel is very limited.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Shirley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel de Westertoren
Hotel de Westertoren
#237 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
't Hotel
't Hotel
#144 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Di-Ann
Hotel Di-Ann
#320 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Clemens Hotel
Clemens Hotel
#22 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Nadia
Hotel Nadia
#114 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,808 reviews
Plantage & the East
Hotel Hortus
Hotel Hortus
#230 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pax

Property: Hotel Pax
Address: Raadhuisstraat 37, 1016 DC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Pax Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Pax Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing