We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stupid staff in the morning”
Review of Hotel Jimmy

Hotel Jimmy
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Jimmy
Ranked #366 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We just left the hotel. We got there yesterday at 2am and the guy was really nice. The room was just ok, but breakfast was nice. The guy at night told us we could leave our luggage there after the check in. When we checked out, the guy of the morning wanted to charge us for leaving our bags! We are REALLY disappointed!!! Though the poor conditions of the place, we were happy because the staff was really helpfull. And then we had to deal with a stupid staff saying it was our mistake to not ask HOW MANY HOURS we could leave our luggage, because for 1 hour it was for free. Don't go there!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lucianamnlopes20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (70)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 70 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2013

stayed here in october 2012 it is nothing more than a cell. metal bunkbeds with a sink in the room you have to share showers with other rooms and the showers are disgusting.

120 euro a night. on several occasions we came back to find the owners snooping about our room.

avoid at all costs you would be safer and more comfortable sleeping rough

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank fergie104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

The place is really bad and really expansive like everything inAmsterdam. To sleep in a place like that is enough 20 euro for a double room not 100 as we pay.Room not clean,we had an ashtray still dirty,they just dropped out the content without wash it.Anyway for a really short term is ok(max 3 night,not more).Position very good but very expansive for the service you receive.The staff are so helpless and careless and they used to ask money for the stay based on how much the city is full of people in that period.Years ago,while Amsterdam was really full like just in the past years was and all the hotels was full,we decided to try again at Jimmy,better than sleep out of city, we ask a doubleroom knowing the price was 100 euro per night.THEY ASK US 600 EURO A NIGHT, OF COURSE WE KNEW THE PLACE AND JUST LAUGHED ABOUT THAT AND SAID GOODBYE BUT THEY ARE NOT GOOD PEOPLE, just to know

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank martin c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

we arrived in amsterdam late about 815pm, without a hotel booked. We wandered down the main 'drag' for hotels and came upon Hotel Jimmy. I have no idea where the low prices came from but at the door they asked for 180.00 euros with/shower and 210.00 for ensuite. The double room was pitiful and stank. the stairs were impossible to navigate. Unreal.we declined the room prefering to take our chances on a few others in the area.

Room Tip: try the victoria hotel, much better price and quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Krystyna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We made a clear verbal agreement on the price, agreed to pay half in the next day after we get a chance to withdraw the money. Employees appear in the morning, harassing and yelling at us to pay a higher price. The boss hid himself from the conversation, using the employee as a proxy. I recommend staying away.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank einflux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012 via mobile

Courteous service and excellent location is specially important when we come to several nights. When I go on vacation I do not often be at the hotel but only for sleep and the hotel provides all that is required at the basic level is the most important, I'll be there again soon ...

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank orengreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2011

After much deliberation deciding where to stay , we resorted to looking for a hotel upon arrival in Amsterdam , With the rain pouring down on us , we soldiered on to the out skirts of the city , assuming a budget hotel or a better price would fit the bill.unfortunately not having much luck,we headed back to central station and stumbled upon HOTEL JIMMY , We paid a fair price considering the evening was pressing on .the staff were friendly and very approachable, and were offered a hot cuppa on arrival as we were soaked . the room was clean (room 21) and smoking allowed , with a good breakfast , excellent location was more than satisfactory for a short stay .My only criticism would be that its a budget hotel , and was slightly over priced, but the location and staff compensated for it, considering we left it to last minute.. literally .

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank javed h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
#125 of 373 in Amsterdam
3,935 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Multatuli
Hotel Multatuli
#240 of 373 in Amsterdam
522 reviews
Centrum
Avenue Hotel
Avenue Hotel
#171 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
#179 of 373 in Amsterdam
950 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Internationaal
Hotel Internationaal
#182 of 373 in Amsterdam
271 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Styles Amsterdam Central Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jimmy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jimmy

Address: Martelaasgracht 15, 1012 TN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #366 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $127 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Jimmy 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Jimmy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jimmy Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing