We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a good clean and the carpet removed to a dump”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amsterdam Apartments Alexanders
Ranked #209 of 338 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 3, 2009

Location 3 Da Costastraat 78. 1st floor apartment sleeping 5. Not in any of the photos shown in the advert and now I know why. The only positive thing was the space as it was 2 apts with the partition opened. I don't mind basic but I expect cleanliness no matter what the price is. The place stinks of damp and the blue carpet is filthy. We had to clean the kettle, toaster, dishes, utensils before use. There was water coming from the apartment above the kitchen. The beds are guest beds and mine was broken and wobbly. The whole place gave me the heeby jeebies and I am still scratching myself at the thought of it.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LMGHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (92)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 92 reviews

Reviewed May 16, 2008

We were traveling 12 people between 20 and 35 years old. Our place was in Da Costrastrat.It is not on the Centum but it is walking distance or you can get a tram that leaves you at Central station.
You have the Van Gogh Museum, Anna Frank museum and the Heineken experience just 5 minutes walking as well as a supermarket and Coffee shop.
The carpets were not deeply cleaned ever and better not to use the vacuum cleaner because are full of dirtiness. As other posts pointed out, it seems that the other tenants were kicked off the apartments and left some belongings some of them expired. We found 12 kg of pasta in the cupboards, food in the fridge and the oven smell to Indian spices. I have to say that the bathroom, the bedlinen, the towels and mattresses were clean. What really worried me was the bugs that appeared in the kitchen, by the dishwasher and by the washing machine. That was very disgusting.!
It cost 40 euros per person per night. Not too bad for being Amsterdam. Amsterdam is my favorite city but this is the best place I have stayed.
Its good if you want :
A place too sleep.
A decent bathroom.
Intimacy.
to be just with your group of friends.
Cheap place to stay.
Its not good:
If you have dust allergies.
If you are bothered about ultra cleanness
If you are picky and posh.
.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Empar1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2008

We recently spent 3 nights at the Hotel Alexander and found it somewhat disappointing . The hotel is in a very good location for the museums as well as the concert hall. Also with the Marriott just a half block away, there was good and reasonably priced transportation to the airport available. Also, the tram line to the center of town is very convenient. The continetal breakfasts that are included in the room price were most adequate. The downsides, however, were the size of the room - very small, as well as the noise from the adjoining rooms. We were either kept awake or were awakened frequently during the nights from the noises of the other guests. Also smoking (including drugs) in the rooms is also allowed, and this drifted into our room -- less than pleasant.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank merson6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2008

We stayed in location 2 for three nights last week.
My biggest problem with the apartment we stayed in was the smell. The bedroom itself wasnt too bad but the communal areas smelled rancid.
The apartment was very basic. The bed was uncomfortable and the bedding was questionable. The shower was unimpressive and there was no toilet roll.
However, the location of the apartment was good (not far from the Anne Frank house). And there was no checkout time on the day we left.
As someone has said before me, this wasn't the worst place in the world but for the money you could stay somewhere much nicer.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank katieheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2008

All right, here is my bizarre history with Alexander's Apartments Amsterdam.

We stayed in location 3-- 10 of us, which we were told would be good for 2 apartments. The prices are pretty high, considering what you're getting--real Dutch housing. That means the stairs are steep, the water isn't hot until you turn the heater on, etc. When we got there, there was clearly not enough space for 10 people in 2 apartments, so AAA was nice and gave us one more apartment for free! We liked that. However, the place was just nasty-- the pull out beds werent clean, there werent enough sheets, the shower didn't work in one of them. After 1 day, we adjusted and sucked it up. However, for the price, we could have stayed someone nicer for sure. Also, the guy who showed us in was really sketchy, and he didn't show us how anything worked. That made our first night crappy.Still, they were accommodating, and someone came quickly to fix the shower that was broken, etc. I wouldn't do it again, but it wasn't the worst place ever.

  • Stayed: March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank knickboy87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2007

Although the flat was clean and the guy who showed us round was very pleasant, it was most disconcerting to find all kinds of junk in the cupboards, including all the kitchen cupboards filled with food that looked as if it had been left behind by permanent tenants who had been thrown out in a hurry! The toilet/shower was matchbox-sized with a sink the size of an egg cup. The area was OK, supermarket round the corner and a good cafe just up the road, around 15 mins. walk to the centre. The place looks pretty awful from the outside (boarded up bakery underneath) and the notice on the door of the flat advised us not to allow people in who claimed to be "friends" but would actually be out to fleece us!!
It would have been nice to relax, but there wasn't so much as an armchair to sit on (just dining chairs) and the beds were too low to relax on comfortably. Most of the dining table was taken up with the most hideous artificial flower arrangement I have ever seen!

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Shadowpippin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2007

There are four different locations of alexanders apartments. I stayed at wittenburgerstraat.

We were a family of four in Amsterdam for 10 days. Budget was our main concern. Alexanders is very cheap, we paid 1100 euros for ten nights for a 2 bedroom apartment (although the second bedroom is a tiny single bedroom). The kitchen has recently been remodeled, the bathroom was fantastic. The bedrooms and lounge were a bit tired tired, but very clean. the washing machine was broken for the time we were there, but there was a terrific laundromat down the road. I went there twice and met all the locals. The website is woeful, and the staff pretty slow to respond to emails, but persevere because it is a good deal.

The location was lovely. On google maps it looks like is on a major highway, not a bit. Just a local road. you are on the edge of central amsterdam, about 20 mins walk from central station and 20 mins from dam square, but it is such a lovely walk it doesn't feel like too much of a chore.

There is a butchers downstairs, a small supermarket open till 10 everynight a couple of doors away, a small art gallery down the street, a couple of quiet bars, and lots of trees.

If you are in amsterdam for a while and budget is a serious consideration you are not missing out on anything by staying here.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank orange66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Schiller
NH Amsterdam Schiller
#150 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,634 reviews
Vondelpark
NH Amsterdam Centre
NH Amsterdam Centre
#140 of 373 in Amsterdam
2,721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,402 reviews
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#17 of 373 in Amsterdam
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Apartments Alexanders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Apartments Alexanders

Address: Ruijsdaelkade 109 hs / Gerard Doustraat 8, 1072 VP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp , Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #209 of 338 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range: $78 - $304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Amsterdam Apartments Alexanders 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Amsterdam Apartments Alexanders reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Apartments Alexanders Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing