We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I really liked it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amsterdam Apartments Alexanders
Ranked #203 of 338 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Im not sure why this place gets such bad reviews! We booked through Booking.com and the reviews on there are quite good, so was surprised to see the TripAdvisor ratings so bad. We stayed in the apartment round the corner from the check in address and it was just wonderful. As the pictures so, nice and big, airy and very clean and tidy. It all seems very new, lovely orange colour scheme to go with the Dutch theme. There was a great kitchen facility, with everything you need including a coffee machine. The bathrooms were clean with a separate toilet and sink too. Free wifi was great too. The apartment is just off a canal, so was great to pull out the tables and chairs from the courtyard our the back and sit out the front in the afternoon sun. The apartment itself is in a great location, very accessible to trams. There are some lovely restaurants nearby including a fantastic patisserie/cafe and a huge market. The only downfall I would say is the flat upstairs were sometimes loud, however we stayed over the Queens Day holiday so I could only assume it was because of festive jolliness!

Room Tip: As it is not provided, bring or buy some milk to go with your tea/coffee!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JodieYates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 90 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2013

Nice place to stay when you visit Amsterdam for holidays with friends.
Close to bus stations
really close to major sightseeing.
clean and comfortable room and nice and clean bathroom
Quiet room and nice personnel
propably will visit again if i ever come back in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nikolios_1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

I booked this appartment (Gerard Doustraat street) through booking.com. for 1300 EUR as a solo traveller (130 EUR per night). My first impression was not possitive as the appartment was dirty, the bathrom was smelly and the furniture looked like saved from the garbage but I decided to stay and focus on work ignoring the unpleasant ambience. It turned out to be the worst decision ever. The appartment was frequently visited by mice, the owner or his employees visited the place every day ignoring the wish for privacy and finally - I got bitten by bed bugs what caused a very strong allergy. Booking.com was not feeling responsible for this issue (they think they are intermediaries only and can't do anything) and the owner simply declined to have mice and bed bugs - according to him it could be a food alergy (that bites?), washing powder's allergy, bees (bitting 15 times?) or mosquitos. So I should better catch the mice and the bed bugs and bring them as proof.

So my hint is - if you have a big enemy and you want him to get attacked by bed bugs - book this appartment for him/her through booking.com!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ivy_main
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2010

Alexander's team is very kind and helpful. The two appartments we rented in Da Costa Staat for a period of almost 3 months were OK for Amsterdam standards and price: very comfortable beds, internet and a very good location - supermarket, restaurants and tram nearby, only few minutes away from Dam Square. The appartments could be a little cleaner, but all the rest is satisfying if you are searching a simple accomodation.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Demmelhuber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2010

After booking this apartment on venere.com we received a confirmation which stated our 2-room apartment was on De Costastraat. Good location. However it's only possible to collect the keys until 6p.m. Upon opening the front door to a filthy steep, narrow staircase we discovered a thin dingy room with a narrow kitchen, not the 2 rooms we had booked. Furniture was a ramshackle of junk fit for a garbage tip. A badly constructed double sofabed plus an unstable fold out bed were provided for sleeping. Unsuitable for an average sized human. The most bizare aspect was the accomadation included 14 sinks - 14??? Worst of all there was a notice on the door stating 'beare of people outside posing as officials/policemen. On no account show them your passport or id. Do not under any circumstances open the door or allow anyone into the building. We could only deduce that maybe the building was squatted or inhabited by illegal immigrants or criminal activity was taking place. This was not a case of 'you get what you pay for' as we were charged 200 euros a night for this horror show. Frankly i would rather stay up all night than step foot in this vile place ever again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ibby0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2010

We weren't expecting too much as it was a fairly cheap stay (about €800 for a two bedroom apartment for 5 nights). Location-wise, these apartments were good - situated in a quiet neighbourhood a short tram ride away from Amsterdam Centraal Station. The apartment itself was of a fair size but in fairly bad repair and with a very small shower/toilet cubicle.

Our real concerns were leveled at the lack of cleanliness in the flat. Although the linen was clean, when we first arrived we were particularly concerned by the sheer amount of mousetraps (four if I can remember). There were also mouse droppings under the table. The kitchen was also in a fairly dirty condition and there was lots of dust.

We asked Alexander for an alternative apartment but he said all his apartments had mice and told us to come back if we saw one. Therefore we stuck with the one we had and on the second day of our stay we awoke to find a dead mouse. We decided to check out three nights early. On asking for a refund he said he would not oblige as we did not accept transfer to alternative accommodation. Our refusal to move to alternative accommodation was due to the fact that he said they all had mice!

The free WiFi was great but temperamental so made it difficult to do work.

Great location and these could be well looked after, but with such a lack of cleanliness I was not surprised the mice had moved in. In the end we moved to an alternative hotel and had a great stay - if feeling a little out of pocket.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank rtf_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2010

We weren't expecting too much as it was a fairly cheap stay (about €800 for a two bedroom apartment for 5 nights). Location-wise, these apartments were good - situated in a quiet neighbourhood a short tram ride away from Amsterdam Centraal Station. The apartment itself was of a fair size but in fairly bad repair and with a very small shower/toilet cubicle.

Our real concerns were leveled at the lack of cleanliness in the flat. Although the linen was clean, when we first arrived we were particularly concerned by the sheer amount of mousetraps (four if I can remember). There were also mouse droppings under the table. The kitchen was also in a fairly dirty condition and there was lots of dust.

We asked Alexander for an alternative apartment but he said all his apartments had mice and told us to come back if we saw one. Therefore we stuck with the one we had and on the second day of our stay we awoke to find a dead mouse. We decided to check out three nights early. On asking for a refund he said he would not oblige as we did not accept transfer to alternative accommodation. Our refusal to move to alternative accommodation was due to the fact that he said they all had mice!

The free WiFi was great but temperamental so made it difficult to do work.

Great location and these could be well looked after, but with such a lack of cleanliness I was not surprised the mice had moved in. In the end we moved to an alternative hotel and had a great stay - if feeling a little out of pocket.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rtf_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Nova Apartments Amsterdam
Nova Apartments Amsterdam
#170 of 372 in Amsterdam
176 reviews
Vondelpark
NH Amsterdam Centre
NH Amsterdam Centre
#134 of 372 in Amsterdam
2,651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#19 of 372 in Amsterdam
295 reviews
De Pijp
NINE-T-TEEN B&B
NINE-T-TEEN B&B
#69 of 338 in Amsterdam
42 reviews
De Pijp
Bed & Breakfast Adriaen van Ostade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Apartments Alexanders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Apartments Alexanders

Address: Ruijsdaelkade 109 hs / Gerard Doustraat 8, 1072 VP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp , Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #203 of 338 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range: $105 - $462 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Amsterdam Apartments Alexanders 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Amsterdam Apartments Alexanders reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Apartments Alexanders Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing