We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dump”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Mozart Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mozart Hotel
Ranked #224 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Spring, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dump”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

Staff friendly till you show them the room is a deplorable.this is the dirtiest hotel room I've ever stayed in. I would not recommend this hotel for any amount of money. The walls have holes in them and are half painted. There are better rooms around for the same price $130.00. For all those who back packed in the 80's this place is like a room in kings cross Sydney. They need to clean up there act I doubt they will.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D15TEX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    211
    209
    101
    99
See reviews for
60
288
65
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
587 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

For €70 a night you can't get much for 2 people in Amsterdam centrum and this location on Prisengracht can't be beaten. Heaps of restaurants nearby and a 10 walk to the Rijksmuseum and canal boat cruises.
The bed was fine and we slept well with earplugs as it could sometimes be noisy from the corridor and neighbours. The bathroom was fine - fairly modern - and room servicing happened every day without any issues.
Not much space for bags but we moved some chairs and made it all fit.
We liked the opening window so we got fresh air and the wifi was usually good too (just one day with glitches).

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor and think that kept the noise level down (as none from above).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Positive:
The location near Leidseplein was excellent. A lot of restaurants and cafes close to the hotel. But the hotel was located in a silence part of the street, that was nice.
The staff was very nice and helpful.
Cleaning was good, a lot of new towels every day.
Negative:
Very small rooms, even if you are a romantic couple ;) Not much place for our suitcases...
The lift wasn`t running fast....
Breakfast was disappointing. We bought our own breakfast in a cafe after the first day, so you can spare the money!
The bathroom coud use a upgrade....but ok for toilet and shower

Not very expensive hotel, good location, so for sleeping and shower one weekwnd it`s ok!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norskjente71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
160 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Let's begin with the good. The hotel is well located on the canal ring in Amsterdam and is only a few blocks from the major art museums. Another good thing about the hotel is that it has an elevator. Nobody really wants to walk up four flights of stairs to get to your room (we were on the fourth floor). The hotel's breakfast buffet will fill you up. The bad can be summarized by the fact that the rooms are very small, lack any place for your suitcase or any furniture other than beds and a television and a chair (a reflection of just how small they are) The bathroom was clean but the toilet lacked a cover for the seat. The room's wallpaper was grungy. The closet held room for 6 hangers. The staff were pleasant and when we requested a three bed room (for more space) we were given it during the week(but not on the weekends) at no extra charge. One member of the staff, Marisa, was exceptional and did a lot of extra things for us. If you're backpacking and need your own bathroom this is an ideal place. If you're coming in for business and need a place to rest your head and don't mind living out of a suitcase this is okay. But if you're looking for a nice place to stay and can spend the money, there are better places to stay for sure. The beds were narrow and comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sbklaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

We chose this hotel because it was an excellent location and well placed to view Amsterdam. The images seem like it would be a nice budget 3 star to stay at! Tram nearby and canals just outside we pictured a nice break. We were however very disappointed with the quality of the hotel. Rooms are small, we were placed in the lower floor with a view out of the window that was just full of bird mess and rubbish, the Tv and electrical cables/ plugs connecting lights were in poor state of repair and seemed dangerous. We asked to change room and were able to do this only the next day as it was fully booked. Fair enough but we did not sleep at all peacefully. After spending one night in this awefull room we were hopeful that the subsequent room would be better. Unfortunately the second room was not a great deal better. Not too clean and mattresses was old and uncomfortable to say the least. Will not be staying here ever again and hope no one else has the experience we did. Amsterdam was lovely place otherwise.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vasco M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aachen, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

This hotel is o.k. if you want a cheap deal and use the room just for sleeping, showering and the toilet. As others have advised, you can spare booking the breakfast, better take something in the city. My single room in the basement was simple, but clean, and room service was well done.
The hotel is conveniently located for tourists, not too far from the city center, and even closer to the museums. There nearby tramway quickly takes you to many points of interest in the city. Nice restaurants nearby.
Service attitude is low, better not expect too much. The staff were friendly. They once asked me to pay 50 cents for printing out a single page (boarding pass), which I thought showed bad service attitude.
I might book again if the price was favorable by a clear margin.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucius H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel The Golden Bear
Hotel The Golden Bear
#290 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amsterdam Downtown Hotel
Amsterdam Downtown Hotel
#280 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#112 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dikker & Thijs Hotel
#57 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Prinsengracht Hotel
Prinsengracht Hotel
#197 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Dream Hotel Amsterdam
Dream Hotel Amsterdam
#193 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mozart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mozart Hotel

Property: Mozart Hotel
Address: Prinsengracht 518 /520, 1017 KJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #224 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Mozart Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mozart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mozart Amsterdam
Mozart Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing