We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Budget friendly” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quentin Amsterdam Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Quentin Amsterdam Hotel
Ranked #325 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Budget friendly”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

Nice location close to the Leidesplein. Easy access to many sights including the Rijksmuseum. Prices are fairly cheap and as such the rooms are small. I think I had one of the cheapest rooms - #26. Not a great room. Right on the street and next to the reception so can be very noisy. Shared bathrooms and shower are 1 floor up. Single bed is very small and if you are over 6 ft (as I am) you will not fit length wise on the bed and may struggle with the width. There is a sink in the room which is handy for a quick wash up and to brush your teeth. Staff are very friendly and if all you intend to do is spend minimal time in your room then this budget option could be a good choice. Just try and avoid room #26.

Room Tip: Avoid room #26.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sandman-rogue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    157
    246
    155
    195
See reviews for
81
323
70
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

Fantastic hotel - we booked over New years so paid just under £400 for 3 nights.
Excellent location - walking distance from all main areas. We had booked a smaller economy room and requested 2 rooms next to each other. We were greeted by a polite lady - checked us in to rooms next to each other - thank you!
The rooms were small but were exactly what we needed - clean, very comfy bed, all essentials.
Hotel is decorated lovely, staff are polite, rooms are clean, comfy and for the price we paid over New Years in a city centre hotel I think Quentin hotel was brilliant. Would definitely recommend!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lrdavies3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

Perfect location for visiting many of the sights, canal tour stops outside! Right on the fantastic tram system which is well worth investigating as can just hop on & off for 2 days for about 12 Euros, great value and with so much to see, saves your feet from a lot of walking! Quiet rooms, even though just behind a busy square. Staff so helpful and friendly. Breakfast leisurely and a good start to the day. Its a typical old Amsterdam house so some rooms are small, but comfortable and warm (we were there in December). Would use again as so convenient and staff made it a pleasure to stay there, thank you.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

Stayed with some friends for three nights in three rooms. Basement rooms smell of damp and one of them was like an oven. The room I stayed in was small but ok. Biggest issue was with a small frame I still manged to scold myself in the shower as it's so small it's easy to hit the tap to hit (very hot)

Room Tip: Higher rooms recommended due to damp smell in the basement
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank billy_smith02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reggio Emilia, Italy
Level Contributor
64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

I choose this hotel cause the reviews were pretty good when I made the reservation! Well I couldn't disagree more! Really tiny rooms, bathroom practically unreal.... Are you kidding? You call that a three star hotel? I booked through booking.com and asked for 3 double rooms and 2 double rooms with single beds... They made the wrong reservation... The beds are so small that you can't fit! We had only a towel each instead of two as stated in the information! I called and they told me there was a hair dryer in each room... Well that was not true! The only good thing about this hotel is the location! Right in front at the bus to go to the airport and very close by almost all the main attractions!! So if you are not peaky I recommend it otherwise choose some other hotel!!!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Barbara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed there on November 02nd for a one nighter in Amsterdam. I have to say, the price of hotels/hostels in Amsterdam generally is really expensive and this was one of the cheapest we found. It was around 90 euro for one night for a twin room. Upon arrival we were given a key card for our room (room number 7) and after going back to reception to say that the key card wouldnt open the door, they had to let us in with their master key. Each time we needed to be let in, they had to use their masterkey to let us into the room! Yikes! Then the size of the room was quite small but the worst part of it was the window! There was a window, but it opened up to a courtyard that was absolutely tiny, so the amount of light getting into the room was zero. But the worst part of the room was the continual noise coming from a boiler or some electrical thing in the hotel. I swear to God, it droned on every 60 seconds and would last 5 seconds at a time. This went on throughout the night. This meant that we couldnt open the window to let in some air because the noise of this "yoke" was way too overpowering. Avoid room number 007 at all cost, it might be James Bonds' signature number but there aint nothing glamorous about this room!

Room Tip: Avoid any rooms in the basement (rooms 1 to 12)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa, Italy
Level Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

Some say that you get what you pay for, right? Ok, me and my friends paid for a triple room, but one of us had to sleep on some kind of camp bed!

Didn't pretend too much (it's quite cheap if you consider the location), but just 3 standard beds and some decent daily cleaning!

Next time we'll choose a youth hostel...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cuckoo4Caca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#289 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
Vondelpark
Leonardo Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Jordaan
Hotel de Paris Amsterdam
Hotel de Paris Amsterdam
#272 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel The Golden Bear
Hotel The Golden Bear
#274 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Titus
Hotel Titus
#282 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
BEST WESTERN Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quentin Amsterdam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quentin Amsterdam Hotel

Property: Quentin Amsterdam Hotel
Address: Leidsekade 89, 1017 PN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #325 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Quentin Amsterdam Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is housed in an authentic 17th century historic canal house which overlooks one of Amsterdam's grand canals, so from most rooms you will have a lovely canal view. The rooms are well equipped with modern facilities to make sure your stay is as comfortable as possible. The hotel is located at the Leidsesquare (Leidseplein), near to all Amsterdam's highlights such as the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh museum, Flower Market, shops, bars, clubs and restaurants. The Leidsekade is a quiet street, so you will be in the city centre of Amsterdam but still have a good night sleep. The hotel offers many services and facilities such as a private garden with terrace, free wireless internet throughout the building, an elevator, tickets to various museums and activities, a continental breakfast and free city maps. Our reception is always open (24/7) and we will be happy to help you if you will need any additional services, facilities or information. The location is perfect to explore the city and our staff will make sure your stay in Amsterdam is one to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Quentin Amsterdam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quentin Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing