We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not very clean...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quentin Amsterdam Hotel
Ranked #336 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Genoa, Italy
Level Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Not very clean...”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Some say that you get what you pay for, right? Ok, me and my friends paid for a triple room, but one of us had to sleep on some kind of camp bed!

Didn't pretend too much (it's quite cheap if you consider the location), but just 3 standard beds and some decent daily cleaning!

Next time we'll choose a youth hostel...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cuckoo4Caca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

897 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    165
    265
    178
    232
See reviews for
92
374
74
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

This hotel doesn't deserve many of its negative reviews. It has an excellent location, and is also modernized inside and clean. The breakfast is Netherlands-style (good breads, cheese and meats) with a wide range of cereals, juices, drinks. The outside steps are quite steep (it is in a typical old-style building on a canal -- a plus, in my books) and it would be difficult for anyone with heavy luggage, but they may also have a lift of which I'm not aware. I only had an overnight bag so it wasn't a problem. I would recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
3 Thank Kathy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nellson_Soares2013, Front Office Manager at Quentin Amsterdam Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you so much for staying with us on your trip to Amsterdam!
We appreciate you taking the time to right a positive review of us and make us aware of your positive experience during your recent stay.
Feedback tells us what we are doing right and what we are can improve on.
It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our staff’s efforts and takes the time to say thank you.
Once again, thank you for your thoughtful comments.
We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future!

Kind regards,

Nellson Soares
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

This hotel is clean and tidy. And thats where the positive ends. Oh, no wait, the receptionist is also very understanding.
The hotel rooms are tiny, the bed touches both walls on either side of the bed. a television is placed at such an angle so high on the ceiling (really) that it's impossible to watch. Our bathroom was poorly equiped, no soaps no extras whatsoever, and the basin had rust stains (!).
For the €200 per evening we paid, this hotel was an absolute rip off. i would stay clear next time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Her02013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nellson_Soares2013, Front Office Manager at Quentin Amsterdam Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for being our guest and taking time to share your comments with Tripadvisor.

All concerns mentioned are seriously taken into account and we shall address them accordingly.

Concerning your comments about room spacing, we would like to explain that some of our rooms are indeed smaller than others, that's why we always suggest guests who prefer more comfort to choose standard or superior rooms.
We are also sorry that the bed from the economy room wasn't quite what you expected, but we can assure they all are queen size (160 cm × 200 cm) or bigger.

At the moment, we are also looking to enhance amenities for our guests and look forward to renovations due to occur in early 2014.

At times, guests may feel that the prices of lodging is high during high demand period but we are confident to state that we have very competitive pricing in comparison to other hotels in the area.

We look forward to another opportunity to host you at our property, and once again, thank you for your valuable comments!

Kind regards,

Nellson Soares
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Eskilstuna, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

A nice little narrow room, a very narrow bathroom with a shower in the middle. But it worked, the water floated away. The heat when I came in to sleep the first night was unbearable, but I adjusted the element and got the temperature comfortable. The location is great! You get away around the corner from the rest of the city, and it's still there, very near whenever you want it. All and all it is like the rest of Amsterdam, a big city with small town feeling. Very steep front steps, so is the steps inside, with an option of taking the elevator, My room had a very nice view at the canal and the bed was comfortable. The staff was very nice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank raspberrycrummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nellson_Soares2013, Front Office Manager at Quentin Amsterdam Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive review of our hotel.
We really appreciate your feedback.
We are pleased that we have met your expectations.
Our staff try their very best each day to make sure that our guests are looked after.
On behalf of the entire staff, a big thank you, and we look forward to your next visit at our property.

Kind regards,

Nellson Soares
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran, Iran
1 review
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in this nice hotel. we located in a very nice canal view room. the breakfast hall was also canal view. the location was great . The staff were also very friendly, helpful and nice. I will book with same hotel for future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Atoosa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This hotel will definitely disappoint you. You will be asked to pay up front and then they will let you down. DO NOT give them a cent without checking your room . Check it thoroughly. Open the windows, listen for noises because they will keep you awake. Everyday day hide your towels because they will take them away and not replace them. Check that you have hot water. When you have done this only pay them half the money. Hold some back you will need it. Be ready to sweat all night long in your room without any ventilation. You can't open the windows in rooms that open into the light well because of the incessant noise that happens every thirty seconds day and night. When we complained the management ofoffered a cab to the airport but we had our own car. We are out of pocket because on Sunday night we had to go into town and buy towels in order to shower.

Room Tip: Check it before you pay them anything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed in Quentin Hotel for 4 nights,
First one was not very good due to very noisy location and small room.
the second day our room was replaced and since that moment we had an excellent time
The staff was very friendly and helpful

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yoeling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel The Golden Bear
Hotel The Golden Bear
#293 of 366 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Jordaan
Hotel de Paris Amsterdam
Hotel de Paris Amsterdam
#269 of 366 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#294 of 366 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Titus
Hotel Titus
#274 of 366 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre
Vondelpark
Leonardo Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quentin Amsterdam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quentin Amsterdam Hotel

Property: Quentin Amsterdam Hotel
Address: Leidsekade 89, 1017 PN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #336 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Quentin Amsterdam Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is housed in an authentic 17th century historic canal house which overlooks one of Amsterdam's grand canals, so from most rooms you will have a lovely canal view. The rooms are well equipped with modern facilities to make sure your stay is as comfortable as possible. The hotel is located at the Leidsesquare (Leidseplein), near to all Amsterdam's highlights such as the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh museum, Flower Market, shops, bars, clubs and restaurants. The Leidsekade is a quiet street, so you will be in the city centre of Amsterdam but still have a good night sleep. The hotel offers many services and facilities such as a private garden with terrace, free wireless internet throughout the building, an elevator, tickets to various museums and activities, a continental breakfast and free city maps. Our reception is always open (24/7) and we will be happy to help you if you will need any additional services, facilities or information. The location is perfect to explore the city and our staff will make sure your stay in Amsterdam is one to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Quentin Amsterdam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quentin Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing