We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great location and a canal view” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quentin Amsterdam Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Quentin Amsterdam Hotel
Ranked #324 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Cardiff
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location and a canal view”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

This hotel doesn't deserve many of its negative reviews. It has an excellent location, and is also modernized inside and clean. The breakfast is Netherlands-style (good breads, cheese and meats) with a wide range of cereals, juices, drinks. The outside steps are quite steep (it is in a typical old-style building on a canal -- a plus, in my books) and it would be difficult for anyone with heavy luggage, but they may also have a lift of which I'm not aware. I only had an overnight bag so it wasn't a problem. I would recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
3 Thank Kathy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nellson_Soares2013, Front Office Manager at Quentin Amsterdam Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you so much for staying with us on your trip to Amsterdam!
We appreciate you taking the time to right a positive review of us and make us aware of your positive experience during your recent stay.
Feedback tells us what we are doing right and what we are can improve on.
It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our staff’s efforts and takes the time to say thank you.
Once again, thank you for your thoughtful comments.
We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future!

Kind regards,

Nellson Soares
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

800 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    157
    246
    155
    192
See reviews for
80
322
70
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

This hotel is clean and tidy. And thats where the positive ends. Oh, no wait, the receptionist is also very understanding.
The hotel rooms are tiny, the bed touches both walls on either side of the bed. a television is placed at such an angle so high on the ceiling (really) that it's impossible to watch. Our bathroom was poorly equiped, no soaps no extras whatsoever, and the basin had rust stains (!).
For the €200 per evening we paid, this hotel was an absolute rip off. i would stay clear next time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Her02013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nellson_Soares2013, Front Office Manager at Quentin Amsterdam Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for being our guest and taking time to share your comments with Tripadvisor.

All concerns mentioned are seriously taken into account and we shall address them accordingly.

Concerning your comments about room spacing, we would like to explain that some of our rooms are indeed smaller than others, that's why we always suggest guests who prefer more comfort to choose standard or superior rooms.
We are also sorry that the bed from the economy room wasn't quite what you expected, but we can assure they all are queen size (160 cm × 200 cm) or bigger.

At the moment, we are also looking to enhance amenities for our guests and look forward to renovations due to occur in early 2014.

At times, guests may feel that the prices of lodging is high during high demand period but we are confident to state that we have very competitive pricing in comparison to other hotels in the area.

We look forward to another opportunity to host you at our property, and once again, thank you for your valuable comments!

Kind regards,

Nellson Soares
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Eskilstuna, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

A nice little narrow room, a very narrow bathroom with a shower in the middle. But it worked, the water floated away. The heat when I came in to sleep the first night was unbearable, but I adjusted the element and got the temperature comfortable. The location is great! You get away around the corner from the rest of the city, and it's still there, very near whenever you want it. All and all it is like the rest of Amsterdam, a big city with small town feeling. Very steep front steps, so is the steps inside, with an option of taking the elevator, My room had a very nice view at the canal and the bed was comfortable. The staff was very nice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank raspberrycrummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nellson_Soares2013, Front Office Manager at Quentin Amsterdam Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive review of our hotel.
We really appreciate your feedback.
We are pleased that we have met your expectations.
Our staff try their very best each day to make sure that our guests are looked after.
On behalf of the entire staff, a big thank you, and we look forward to your next visit at our property.

Kind regards,

Nellson Soares
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran, Iran
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in this nice hotel. we located in a very nice canal view room. the breakfast hall was also canal view. the location was great . The staff were also very friendly, helpful and nice. I will book with same hotel for future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Atoosa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

This hotel will definitely disappoint you. You will be asked to pay up front and then they will let you down. DO NOT give them a cent without checking your room . Check it thoroughly. Open the windows, listen for noises because they will keep you awake. Everyday day hide your towels because they will take them away and not replace them. Check that you have hot water. When you have done this only pay them half the money. Hold some back you will need it. Be ready to sweat all night long in your room without any ventilation. You can't open the windows in rooms that open into the light well because of the incessant noise that happens every thirty seconds day and night. When we complained the management ofoffered a cab to the airport but we had our own car. We are out of pocket because on Sunday night we had to go into town and buy towels in order to shower.

Room Tip: Check it before you pay them anything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed in Quentin Hotel for 4 nights,
First one was not very good due to very noisy location and small room.
the second day our room was replaced and since that moment we had an excellent time
The staff was very friendly and helpful

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yoeling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Although i agree that the location of the hotel is really convenient, as it's walking distance from the city centre and museums, and i certainly think that the accommodation would be totally appropriate for Eur50-60 per night. But having paid Eur 250 per night for a 6m2 room where i could touch the walls with both hands at the same time was quite shocking.
The rooms are equipped with mere basics such as water glasses. There was not a sign of a kettle! The ironing board was so tiny that was nearly impossible to use and even then there was no place to put it! There is also no breakfast included and the one provided at additional cost although tastes OK is far too expensive for what it is. So my advice would be to go to this hotel only if you travel for pleasure (not business), have lots of spare cash and really like tiny spaces.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nellson_Soares2013, Front Office Manager at Quentin Amsterdam Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback.

Comments from our guests are extremely important, allowing us to identify our strengths and highlight opportunities for improvement.
I am so sorry to hear your stay with us was so disappointing.
I appreciate your honesty and would like to take this opportunity to address all of your concerns.

I completely understand your disappointment in regards to bed situation but the layout of all our Economy rooms is indeed compact.
I apologise that we were unable to offer you other room options, due to the hotel running at very high occupancy during your stay.
We are currently already working on a full refurbishment of all rooms in the hotel as well as updating our rooms with new bedding, amenities and equipment.
Thank you also for the feedback regarding the pricing of our breakfast, such valuable comments are much appreciated.

I will look personally into each issue that you have noted, in an attempt to correct and improve our hotel services.

We hope that we can restore your confidence in us and look forward to welcoming you back to Quentin Amsterdam some day in the future.

With best regards,

Nellson Soares
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Leonardo Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#289 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Jordaan
Hotel de Paris Amsterdam
Hotel de Paris Amsterdam
#269 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel The Golden Bear
Hotel The Golden Bear
#273 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Titus
Hotel Titus
#281 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
BEST WESTERN Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quentin Amsterdam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quentin Amsterdam Hotel

Property: Quentin Amsterdam Hotel
Address: Leidsekade 89, 1017 PN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #324 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Quentin Amsterdam Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is housed in an authentic 17th century historic canal house which overlooks one of Amsterdam's grand canals, so from most rooms you will have a lovely canal view. The rooms are well equipped with modern facilities to make sure your stay is as comfortable as possible. The hotel is located at the Leidsesquare (Leidseplein), near to all Amsterdam's highlights such as the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh museum, Flower Market, shops, bars, clubs and restaurants. The Leidsekade is a quiet street, so you will be in the city centre of Amsterdam but still have a good night sleep. The hotel offers many services and facilities such as a private garden with terrace, free wireless internet throughout the building, an elevator, tickets to various museums and activities, a continental breakfast and free city maps. Our reception is always open (24/7) and we will be happy to help you if you will need any additional services, facilities or information. The location is perfect to explore the city and our staff will make sure your stay in Amsterdam is one to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Quentin Amsterdam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quentin Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing