We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Shame we were allocated poor room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quentin Amsterdam Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quentin Amsterdam Hotel
Ranked #325 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Shame we were allocated poor room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

The hotel is in a great location. Our second visit to Amsterdam and hoped we had chosen well. Room 24 was on the ground floor "inside" of the hotel. Our window looked out onto the inner tube which meant no proper daylight and curtains had to be closed 24/7 as other inside windows could see in. The heat in our cupboard of a bedroom was almost unbearable. A large ceiling fan did help and had to be left on all night. The window could not be left open as there was a continuous loud noise which we think was boiler firing up supplying hot water. Clean linen on beds and towels changed daily. Dusty skirting boards.Tiny wardrobe and no drawers. Staff efficient and friendly. Good breakfast in a small breakfast room which could be very busy as more guests than tables.

Room Tip: Speak to the hotel and ask for room on outside/ canal side of hotel and book the best one you can as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Birdbistro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    150
    234
    139
    180
See reviews for
75
301
66
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
47 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Amsterdam has the highest concentration of people per square kilometer in Europe, so don't expect a big room. I chose this hotel because it had an elevator since all the stairs in Amsterdam are quite tiny. This is in a quiet area near the museums and overlooking the canal. The room is very basic, but there is an elevator and reliable wifi. The staff is so nice. When I checked in, the manager asked me what I wanted to see and gave me a map, marking off all the places I wanted to go so I could plan my itinerary. Be sure to visit one of the ticket and tour kiosks to buy your tickets ahead of time so you don't have to stand in line. Also, take a day to go on a tour of the windmills, clog-making and cheese factory so you can experience life outside of the city.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank baltojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

When you look for a Hotel by the city map, the reviews or the pictures, you try to choose the best, We were very lucky with this election. The location was perfect: in a walking distance to everything but in a quiet street. The decoracion was really nice, the place was very clean the service ,everithig was better than expected for the price we paid...The triple room with canal views, the room 210, was really homelike.
No cupboard , only hangers in the room...Enough for a short stay..

Room Tip: quiet street,close to everything!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cristinatelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Stayed here for two nights.
Booked two single canal view rooms - got 2 doubles, 1 that looked out onto the roof and back and one the canal if you stood on tip toes. On check in the receptionist tried to charge is £138 instead of £101.Luckily we had printed confirmation with us.
No explanation as to why we didn't have the rooms we booked (later enquiries revealed that the rooms we had booked were "having maintenance".
One room on third floor was small clean but looked onto roof. One room on 4th floor, very very tatty. `no plug socket except the one up on the wall with tv. `Unless you want to stand on a desk and doing your hair or have your mobile hanging swinging on charge, its not very good.
After half an hour or so I was presented with a mobile and adapter to plug multiple things in. So I climbed up and duly plugged it - it didn't reach so had to balance on various things.
The room on floor 4 needs gutting. There are a number of light bulbs over your head on the bed - you might get quite a burn if you wanted to read in bed etc. The towels are little bigger than a tea towel so take your own. There was lots of rubbish out the front of the hotel.

The only good points to hotel is the location, mins walk from the tram and the staff were very helpful.

Would I return - unless they spruce this hotel up and clean it - def not! It as 3* - how I dont know.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oprost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Jerusalem
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Great location, clean, average breakfast, no A/C, amenities and service need simple improvements (our 3 bed room had no cupboard or any other equipment to help us organize. This is not a hotel room but a dormitory. We were given only body-towels and one day none at all! After complining we got the full set. However only one hook in the shower to hang all up?)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Hanan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

No stream in the shower. Water won't got down in the toilet and also not in the shower- resulting in daily flooding in the bathroom with not enough towels to cope with it. Service was bad. Overall bad experience. Would never come back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blink188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I am very and pleasent suprised about this hotel. it is clean and it has a best location in amsterdam.all major atractions in the city are i cca 1 km around this hotel.it is also cheep for amsterdam. Service was very professional and helpful. Room was clean and decent.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tonytuzla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#284 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 580 reviews
Vondelpark
Leonardo Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Jordaan
Hotel de Paris Amsterdam
Hotel de Paris Amsterdam
#271 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel City Garden Amsterdam
Hotel City Garden Amsterdam
#235 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 560 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
BEST WESTERN Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre
Jordaan
Hotel De Looier
Hotel De Looier
#307 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quentin Amsterdam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quentin Amsterdam Hotel

Property: Quentin Amsterdam Hotel
Address: Leidsekade 89, 1017 PN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #325 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Quentin Amsterdam Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is housed in an authentic 17th century historic canal house which overlooks one of Amsterdam's grand canals, so from most rooms you will have a lovely canal view. The rooms are well equipped with modern facilities to make sure your stay is as comfortable as possible. The hotel is located at the Leidsesquare (Leidseplein), near to all Amsterdam's highlights such as the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh museum, Flower Market, shops, bars, clubs and restaurants. The Leidsekade is a quiet street, so you will be in the city centre of Amsterdam but still have a good night sleep. The hotel offers many services and facilities such as a private garden with terrace, free wireless internet throughout the building, an elevator, tickets to various museums and activities, a continental breakfast and free city maps. Our reception is always open (24/7) and we will be happy to help you if you will need any additional services, facilities or information. The location is perfect to explore the city and our staff will make sure your stay in Amsterdam is one to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Quentin Amsterdam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quentin Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing