We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"San" Quentin”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quentin Amsterdam Hotel
Ranked #338 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“"San" Quentin”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

OK lets get straight to the point.... I was on business as I work for a Gorernment Department and we have a contract with a travel agent to pre-book a room so what's the problem I here you say!!! Well on arrival I was told at the reception that "we were waiting for further confirmation and paperwork" so I produced the letter from our Government appointed travel agent and Quentin Hotel said "NO not enough information sorry!!!" The reason was as the boss of the receptionist had not confirmed the booking! Well what a kerfuffle!! I offered to pay myself which then made the recpetionist ask if we ( another man) wanted a room together!!!! Oh my God!!! Nine forboden !! is what I said!!! So I had to pay myself. The room was ok as was the bed. The breakfast was basic and not VFM. The hotel employee at the breakfast "takes the biscuit" as he was was like a prision warder and NOTat all nice.In fact I found him intimitating. Conclusions close to the city and the canal boat - so do stay here but watch out for the "San" Quentin prision warder at Breakfast..........

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

914 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    167
    272
    181
    237
See reviews for
94
384
75
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Booked an economy double room at the Quentin, the smallest room the two of us have ever stayed in! Bed was under the window and was the full width of the room, so not great if you are over 6ft tall. That said, the en-suite was clean, as was the rest of the hotel and the location was perfect. Perfect for nearby theatres and concert venues, close to Leidseplein for bars and restaurants, Leidsestraat for boutiques and souvenir shops and overlooking Singelgracht for canal tours. Be warned, very steep steps up to front door.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwanseaIan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
2 reviews
Reviewed November 6, 2012

we had a fantastic day in amsterdam and a lovely stay in your hotel we tell all our friend to stay by you

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank bianca d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

I was booked into a tripple room with friends to attend a gig at Paradiso which is literally just around the corner. The room was comfortable, clean and spacious. It was a basement room so the indow was at street level so was a little noisey but other than that, no complaints.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dkd13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Dirty, bathroom a cubhoard, drain smell in bathroom teriible and relentless. Great location and nice staff but unbearable stench. had to hold nose to eneter bathroom; hotel give you a bottle of air freshener, but it doesn't help much. Shame.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica1345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#305 of 367 in Amsterdam
646 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel The Golden Bear
Hotel The Golden Bear
#299 of 367 in Amsterdam
369 reviews
Jordaan
Hotel de Paris Amsterdam
Hotel de Paris Amsterdam
#274 of 367 in Amsterdam
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordaan
Hotel De Looier
Hotel De Looier
#319 of 367 in Amsterdam
351 reviews
Vondelpark
Leonardo Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Cornelisz
Hotel Cornelisz
#158 of 367 in Amsterdam
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quentin Amsterdam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quentin Amsterdam Hotel

Property: Quentin Amsterdam Hotel
Address: Leidsekade 89, 1017 PN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #338 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Quentin Amsterdam Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is housed in an authentic 17th century historic canal house which overlooks one of Amsterdam's grand canals, so from most rooms you will have a lovely canal view. The rooms are well equipped with modern facilities to make sure your stay is as comfortable as possible. The hotel is located at the Leidsesquare (Leidseplein), near to all Amsterdam's highlights such as the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh museum, Flower Market, shops, bars, clubs and restaurants. The Leidsekade is a quiet street, so you will be in the city centre of Amsterdam but still have a good night sleep. The hotel offers many services and facilities such as a private garden with terrace, free wireless internet throughout the building, an elevator, tickets to various museums and activities, a continental breakfast and free city maps. Our reception is always open (24/7) and we will be happy to help you if you will need any additional services, facilities or information. The location is perfect to explore the city and our staff will make sure your stay in Amsterdam is one to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quentin Amsterdam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quentin Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing