We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dam Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Estherea(Amsterdam)
$459
$388
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$309
$295
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$276
$267
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel(Amsterdam)
$310
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$398
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$261
$243
Kimpton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$492
$376
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hilton Amsterdam(Amsterdam)
$213
$188
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Ambassade Hotel(Amsterdam)
$278
$256
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Van Gogh(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$177
$85
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (188)
Filter reviews
188 results
Traveler rating
8
22
46
32
80
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
8
22
46
32
80
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
106 - 111 of 188 reviews
Reviewed September 26, 2006

I stayed at this hotel with 3 friends in June 2006. There was no deadbolt lock or security chain on the door, and my friend and I were robbed in the middle of the night. A computer, a wallet, and over 200 Euros cash were stolen. The thief got in because he had a copy of the master keycard and used it to go room to room until he found sleeping people (my friend and I). The hotel refused to accept any finanicial responsiblity, and did not even change the master keycard code. This hotel is both incredibly unsafe and run by unscrupulous management. It is certainly not worth the low price.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank SwissMiss123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
United Kingdom
16
Reviewed April 12, 2006

Fair enough, it's not exactly the Hilton but if you are looking for a cheap, basic hotel that does the job then the Dam Hotel is fine. I admit, the building is a bit grotty, but the room we had was at least clean and had a view of the canal.
If you have the cash, then i'd say go up market but if you are looking for a short stay, somewhere cheap and very central then it's really not that bad.
After the previous review we were expecting something far worse so maybe read that one first!
Plus, breakfast is served until 10:30, which after a night in Amsterdamis quite useful!

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2006

Do not stay here, unless you are looking for a some rotton ashey carpets with fag butt burns in them. We stayed here for 5 nights and the whole time we were there we didn't get the bed sheets changed, new towels or the bins emptyed. Our room was at the back of the building and the view we had, when we finally managed to get the window opened (the windows were opaque) we had a lovely view of the chimney of the extracter fan from the restaurant below - Nice!

We had two single beds pushed together, even though we ordered a double room. The service was rotton and every time we came in and out of the hotel, we had to be buzzed in from the ones on the currency exchange desk, like we were visiting somebody in jail or something.

There was hardly any decent stations on the tv either, surprisingly. And the bathroom wastn' clean!!! Despite the hotel, we enjoyed the rest of the holiday though, but will be never anywhere near that hotel again!!

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Bexatron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2018, traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2018, traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews