We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good stay at a very reasonable hotel”
Review of Dam Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dam Hotel
Ranked #342 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A good stay at a very reasonable hotel”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed here in june 2013 for 3 nights. Don't expect a big or luxurios room, but a and clean room. However we had a room on the 4th floor and the view was amazing. If you also consider the very reasonable prices, the fantastic location and the good staff, this hotel is absolutely recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Leonard-van-Beek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    21
    44
    31
    64
See reviews for
11
46
19
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

After reading reviews and seeing pictures we were dreading the 2 night stay.

check in was after 2pm however we arrived at 10am and they had no issue letting us into the room earlier....

room had been bleached ... very clean tidy appearance

basic room, fantastic location (2 mins for EVERYTHING), very well priced!

lost our key paid 10E for a replacement which was refunded once we found the other one.

reception reasonably ok staff - done there job.

all in all really good find!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Lfc5stars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Just got back from a fab weekend away in Amsterdam. Stayed at the Dam Hotel, and booked through booking.com. We went for the cheap option so wasn't expecting luxury, especially after reading the bad reviews.

The hotel was easy to find, only a 10 minute walk from Amsterdam Central Train Station. The location was great - very close to Dam Square, shops, bars and red light district.

There were building works going on when we were there (April 2013) but they only worked during the week, not at weekends and it started about 8am. Nice early wake up call! ;)

We arrived in the morning but weren't able to check in until 2pm so they let us store our suitcases in their locked storage room. The building we checked into wasn't the same building as where our room was though, so we had to walk a few doors down the street to get to our room.

Our room was on the 5th floor - there was a lift but you had to walk up one flight of steep stairs to the first floor before getting in it so wouldn't recommend it to anyone with difficulty walking!

We found the room to be basic, but clean and comfortable. There wasn't a lot of space but there was a big cupboard and a desk to put your stuff. The heating was working fine.. we had to turn the radiators down as it was on full blast! Nice big window to let in the air (although not a nice view lol) Bed was really comfortable and there was plenty of blankets.

Room had its own bathroom with shower, sink and toilet. All clean. The water was very intermittent though - took ages to get hot and then completely cut out mid shower!! That happened every day we were there but water came back on after a minute or so.

Our room was next to the lift so found it was quite noisy every now and again but I took ear plugs for when I was sleeping so didn't notice it as much as my partner!

Overall, we enjoyed our stay. We are quite laid back people and only really needed a place to sleep as we were out and about most of the time.

I would recommend the Budget Dam Hotel to anyone in need of a good location, clean basic accommodation at a low cost.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

the hotel was perfect , great location, central for all the sights, staff great, had a great time, and could not fault anything about it, would definately stay again, and would recommend this hotel to friends and family

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#325 of 367 in Amsterdam
185 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#266 of 367 in Amsterdam
207 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#111 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#305 of 367 in Amsterdam
646 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amsterdam Downtown Hotel
Amsterdam Downtown Hotel
#285 of 367 in Amsterdam
283 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Old Quarter
Hotel Old Quarter
#299 of 367 in Amsterdam
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dam Hotel

Property: Dam Hotel
Address: Damrak 32, 1012 LK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #342 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Dam Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HRS, HostelWorld, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Dam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dam Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing