We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bed Bugs”
Review of Dam Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dam Hotel
Ranked #339 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    21
    42
    30
    62
See reviews for
11
46
18
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

the hotel was perfect , great location, central for all the sights, staff great, had a great time, and could not fault anything about it, would definately stay again, and would recommend this hotel to friends and family

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Turkey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

First they told me the room I had reserved had no private bathroom. When I threatened to leave, they gave me room 11 next to the reception, with a private bathroom, where even my dog would refuse to be washed. Terrible experience! During the whole night I heard people coming in and going out. First a German tourist trying to flirt with the Chinese girl at the reception. The conversation lasted half an hour, and the recepcionist did not bother to lower the voice. Then there was a change in reception shift: an African guy replaced the Chinese girl. He was explaining to one of his colleagues during one hour and a half (till 1:30 am) the new accountability system, and I had the pleasure to hear the whole explanation. Then a group of Spanish tourists came drunk at 2:00 am. Could not sleep the whole night !! Really an awful place!! Just forrget about this

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denis v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel over new year, it was fine becuase we were not there to really sleep. The receptionist was friendly by giving us a box of celebrations on arrival,the hotel reception is actually a shop over from where the hotel is.The location is great with central station a couple of minute walk, the red light district a 3-5 min walk and a short walk to the main shopping area. Room was on the 4th floor there is a really old lift otherwise you have to walk the steep stairs! The room is small was clean,i dont think they crank the heat as it was freezing and the shower did not work, it was cold and dribbled out sometimes no water came out at all. I think the thing that annoyed me the most was we had to check out at 11am and we had a knock on the door at 10.30am on New Year's Day when feeling fragile to hurry up and check out!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hail9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

In Oct 2012, I came to DAM, this gentlemen was very nice and offered a price half of what we could get in that area. Room had sufficient space. Bath small standing shower. For us it was ok as price was good. Staff very friendly and helpful. Location is the best, bars, restaurants, Train, Bus, Metro and RLD 2 blocks away. What else you need. Just a good shower,good food and drinks. We loved the bar all around the hotel. Get drunk and can find your way to the hotel which is few steps. I will go there again.

Room Tip: See the rooms before you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gyan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#317 of 366 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#265 of 366 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amsterdam Downtown Hotel
Amsterdam Downtown Hotel
#278 of 366 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#294 of 366 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
New West Inn Amsterdam
#165 of 366 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,021 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Old Nickel
Old Nickel
#226 of 366 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dam Hotel

Property: Dam Hotel
Address: Damrak 32, 1012 LK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #339 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Dam Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, HRS, HostelWorld, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Dam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dam Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing