We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Wonderful boutique like hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Times Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Times Hotel
Ranked #189 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful boutique like hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

Staying at this hotel for the third year in a row, its on a canal, great area and very close to Dam square. Service it professional, personal, caring and accommodating as can be. Breakfast area overlooking the canal is a great way to start the day.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichTheTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    181
    78
    30
    22
See reviews for
50
180
21
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

Since this will probably be our last visit to Amsterdam, I wanted to make sure we stayed on one of the canals. We asked for....we received....and we paid for a room with a canal view. It was on the top floor which was OK...but the canal view was not that wonderful. To see the canal, we had to stand right at the window...the canal could not be seen from anywhere else in the room. Since our room was on the top floor, the sloping ceiling (while picturesque) hampered the space in the room. One one side of the bed there was only 12 inches between the bed and the wall. The same was true at the end of the bed. The head of the bed was against the sloping wall/ceiling, and there was only about 18 inches from the 4th side of the bed and the storage cabinet. There wasn't really any room to put our 2 carry-on sized suitcases except on the minimal floor space. Moving around in this room was really difficult. One the flip side, the bathroom was decent sized and had a great shower. The lights were placed over the bathroom mirror badly....I couldn't really see well enough to shave. We felt the breakfast, although we did look at it, was overpriced and didn't eat here. The staff was helpful with all our questions...although we were not impressed by the company that provided the canal tour that we purchased through the hotel at a discounted price. All that being said, the location of this hotel is wonderful....about a 15--20 walk to/from the Centraal Station....and to most major attractions located in the city center. A tram line is just 2 blocks away so you can catch a tram to attractions that are farther away. BUT, the hotel is in a very quiet neighborhood...the best of both worlds....convenient..and quiet. If only the rooms were larger...

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

booked this for our xmas weekend break, was in a good location, 10 minutes walk to most places, rooms were a tad small but who cares when all you need is a bed to sleep in, and we found it quite cosy to be honest, would stay again for sure.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Obimick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

Nice little hotel with a walking distance of about 10-15 minutes to the most visited sites. Close to the Anne Frank house, all though we never went. About 10 minutes to Dam Square and 15 minutes to the Red Light District.

Room was quite small. I never stay in the hotel room during a vacation, but we found it clumsy to place our bags. Nice decoration of Van Gogh (I think) on the walls.

Powerful and nice shower with shampoo, conditioner and body wash.

Clean and neat.


Breakfast was 10 euros per person per day, so we never tried it out. But I checked it out and it was not all that good. Some bread, ham/cheese and boiled eggs. Not worth 10 euros definitely.

Staff was very friendly and attentative, always helping us with what ever we needed. I would stay again. Nice little coffee shop next door if you are in to that.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Horabjorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

My room was with canal view.Very beautiful in the evening.The hotel is small and homely.Very comfortable and quite.Close to the center of the city.very good balance quality and price!good choice for those who prefer quite places for good price

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annastia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

we stayed here in february for my husbands birthday and can highly recommend it, it is about a 15 minute walk from central station and easy enough to find. It is in a central location and within easy walk of the bars, restaurants and shops. The staff are really friendly and helpful and pastries and croissants are there during the day if you feel peckish. we didnt have breakfast here as it seemed expensive at 10 euros but this was fairly typical in the nearby bars and restaurants. drinks are expensive in amsterdam especially if like me you have a spirit and mixer as you have to pay for both around 8/9 euros, some bars have happy hours for beer and wine though. we paid extra for a canal room which was lovely to see especially at night when it was all lit up. there is a coffee shop next door called amnesia which was always busy due to its relaxed laws on smoking. we went on a canal tour which we booked through the hotel as it was cheaper and this was lovely, we also visited the ajax stadium to watch them play in the europa cup, this was really east to get to and the stadium was fantastic, we didnt realise until we left that you have to change money for a stadium card to buy any food or drink and they dont sell alcohol in the stadium so get some from the bars outside if you want any. red light district was an eye opener but definately worth doing. watch out for bikes as they are everywhere and we nearly got run over on numerous occasions as they dont tend to have lights at night.

Room Tip: definately get a canal room its worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sue h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

I'm not a negative person by nature and like to see the good in things, and while the Times Hotel wasn't a bad hotel, there were a couple of things that I was a little disappointed with.

We'll start with the bad and end with the good...

On arrival my room looked clean and tidy and, whilst it was small, it was suitable for my 3 night stay as i would be spending very little time in it. However, while hanging my shirts in the cupboard i noticed somebody had left a few 'gifts' for me... a jumper, half a loaf of bread and half a bottle of coca cola. I told reception, who were embarrassed by it and apologised. I can only assume housekeeping had been disturbed halfway through cleaning!

Anyway, the only other negative was the lack of electrical outlets in the room. There was 1. And it was on the opposite side of the room to everything.

So, to the positives. The bathroom was lovely, really nice powerful shower, and the bed was big and reasonably comfortable. The location of this hotel is superb, just a short walk from the Anne Frank Museum, some fantastic bars and restaurants and the more tourist areas (Dam Square and The Red Light District in particular) and the staff were great.

I assume my 'gift' experience was an exception to their normally great service and so I haven't been too harsh in my rating. Still, it would be too generous to give 4 or 5 stars.

Room Tip: All rooms are small... don't expect too much more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
't Hotel
't Hotel
#144 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#110 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,082 reviews
Centrum
Singel Hotel
Singel Hotel
#155 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Dream Hotel Amsterdam
Dream Hotel Amsterdam
#183 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel CC
Hotel CC
#140 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,174 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Max Brown Hotel Canal District
Max Brown Hotel Canal District
#103 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Times Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Times Hotel

Property: The Times Hotel
Address: Herengracht 137, 1015 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #189 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Times Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Budget Places, Travelocity, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Times Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Times Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing