We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, small rooms... couple of surprises...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Times Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Times Hotel
Ranked #178 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great location, small rooms... couple of surprises...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

I'm not a negative person by nature and like to see the good in things, and while the Times Hotel wasn't a bad hotel, there were a couple of things that I was a little disappointed with.

We'll start with the bad and end with the good...

On arrival my room looked clean and tidy and, whilst it was small, it was suitable for my 3 night stay as i would be spending very little time in it. However, while hanging my shirts in the cupboard i noticed somebody had left a few 'gifts' for me... a jumper, half a loaf of bread and half a bottle of coca cola. I told reception, who were embarrassed by it and apologised. I can only assume housekeeping had been disturbed halfway through cleaning!

Anyway, the only other negative was the lack of electrical outlets in the room. There was 1. And it was on the opposite side of the room to everything.

So, to the positives. The bathroom was lovely, really nice powerful shower, and the bed was big and reasonably comfortable. The location of this hotel is superb, just a short walk from the Anne Frank Museum, some fantastic bars and restaurants and the more tourist areas (Dam Square and The Red Light District in particular) and the staff were great.

I assume my 'gift' experience was an exception to their normally great service and so I haven't been too harsh in my rating. Still, it would be too generous to give 4 or 5 stars.

Room Tip: All rooms are small... don't expect too much more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    176
    76
    28
    20
See reviews for
48
167
21
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

I was pleasantly surprised at how clean and nice this hotel was for the price and location. The reception staff was very pleasant and efficient. Special note: there is an elevator, but if you have a large bag, be prepared to lift it up and down a few stairs as you navigate from the elevator to your room.My room was very clean and cheery and compact in size but perfect for my quick visit to the city center in Amsterdam. I would definitely stay there again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
91 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

We stayed in this hotel with my boyfriend to celebrate my b-day. The hotel location is really good, you can take #2,5,9 trams from the Central Station to get there only after 3-4 stops. This is a very small hotel, which is friendly and the manager is a really nice and funny Lady. She helped us to solve some problem, which occurred during our first night and she was extremely helpful, which we do appreciate. I can suggest this hotel not only because of its great location, but because of the helpful management.

Room Tip: Room number 453 is a small, but a good one, but the view is not a canal view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melinda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

This place is just amazing. Had a room for 4 and I must say that was very good value for money. The rooms was spacious, very clean and very quiet.
I would like to outlined the fact that the staff was very very nice and always keen to help. Was my first time in This hotel and for sure it won't be the last.
BRAVO

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stp2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teesside
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Could not have picked a better location alongside the lovely canals that wind through this beautiful city. The staff could not have been more accomodating and friendly, nothing was too much trouble. Arrived early morning Saturday and were offered a room without having to drop our luggage and return. The room was more than adequate for an overnight stay or longer, clean, warm and modern with tea and coffee making facilities, although we preferred taking coffee in the lounge overlooking the canal . My daughter and I were in the city for 2 days for the Christmas markets, wonderful atmosphere day and until late at night. We were gobsmacked as we walked out onto the street at night with the beauty of the homes all lit up and the bridges!! We took a cocktail cruise which is not to be missed to take in the central canals. Baggage store was a big advantage at the hotel as we weren't leaving the city until late on the Sunday.
For a comfortable stay with hospitality at its best and central location, The Times Hotel cannot be beaten for value for money!!
We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sue520i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

The Times Hotel was excellent.. great location right on one of the many canals and close to everything. Great room, small however we felt like we where in Van Gogh's room as the whole wall was the painting of his room :) They offer breakfast for a fee we ate out, there's so much to see and do in Amsterdam you just want to get out there...
We had a few drinks out the front with a little platter and it was so relaxing after riding bikes around all day.
The Black Bike's where great we tagged along with a few other bike tours and found our way around very easily. Great atmosphere great customer service and all round awesome experience. Van Gogh's Museum and Anna Frank Haus are a must. Red light district is a definite... The Times will definitely see us back again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
't Hotel
't Hotel
#150 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 189 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#18 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 530 reviews
Centrum
Singel Hotel
Singel Hotel
#156 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#104 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 987 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Max Brown Hotel Canal District
Max Brown Hotel Canal District
#122 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 777 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Dream Hotel Amsterdam
Dream Hotel Amsterdam
#148 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Times Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Times Hotel

Property: The Times Hotel
Address: Herengracht 137, 1015 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #178 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Times Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Budget Places and Travelocity so you can book your The Times Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Times Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing