We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, size, and staff”
Review of The Times Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Times Hotel
Ranked #173 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect location, size, and staff”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Great for our purposes. We like smaller hotels that are updated, modern, and friendly. This met the bill! This was a last minute booking for us the night before we left Europe. We stayed at an awful hotel in Amsterdam earlier on our trip and during that period, we walked by the Times and it looked interesting. We walked in, made a reservation and it turned out to be a great experience. I only wish we could have spent more time there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    199
    86
    31
    23
See reviews for
60
198
23
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
calgary
Level 6 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stayed one night at The Times Hotel before setting off on a river cruise. Absolutely loved the location, quaintness and cleanliness. We arrived early in the day and they front desk gentleman kindly took our bags, showed us where the washroom was and then we set off to discover Amsterdam. Upon returning mid-afternoon, our room was ready. The rooms are on the small side but plenty of room for two women with a suitcase each. Very good location and we walked everywhere. The breakfast was perfect for what we required with great coffee machine. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and if I'm ever again in Amsterdam would certainly book it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cruiseryyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

A 10-minute walk to Centraal Station. Just on the outskirts of the Jordaan neighborhood on a canal, easy walk to a number of sights (Anne Frank House and some great small museums) and shopping. Major tram lines running just a few blocks away for other sightseeing. Grocery and self-serve or drop-off laundromats within walking for those staying more than a few nights. Hotel common areas and room clean & kept up nicely. Many rooms face canal. Had a room that faced into a very small interior courtyard. Good size room with a queen bed, desk and a large wardrobe to stash luggage, hang clothing or store on ample shelving. Definitely not your standard, cookie-cutter type hotel rooms - fun wall murals and you can see the old canal-house features in some of the rooms - mine had 2 very tiny steps that led up to the area where the bed was from the bathroom. Cable tv w/ plenty of English channels. Lots of light with big windows (although be careful if you have toddlers and open the windows for some fresh air as the windows are very large and fairly low to the ground). Very large bathroom with a full size tub/shower. Stairs from lobby up to rooms are not overly steep like other hotels in Amsterdam, but The Times has a reliable elevator which is great for when you need to get your luggage up or down from the room. Breakfast additional charge so skipped it, but plenty of places to get something to eat nearby. Front desk staff pleasant enough. Soundproofing not the greatest in between the rooms, but it's a renovated canal house - not a Hilton - so it should be expected. There is a coffee house (Amnesia) next door to the hotel, but you'd hardly know it was there. The customers coming and going throughout the day and evening are pretty quiet, unlike some of the other coffee houses in the Red Light District. Overall, nice stay and I would book at The Times again and recommend it to others headed to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoneTravelin07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We did not know anything about this hotel, we just booked it by chance. A wonderful surprise when we got there. Staff were welcoming and friendly. Hotel was clean and well maintained. Breakfast was excellent, a typical Dutch breakfast. Will certainly go again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dinsdale D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We booked the Times Hotel as other accommodation was very scarce due to a large medical conference being held at the same time. The location is great, with just a short ten minute walk to the central square and other shopping walks. Luckily we had a canal facing room which added to our stay. The room was adequate for our two night stay but was a little compact, not really enough room to lay out luggage. It was on the fifth floor in the apex of the roof line, unfortunately the lift only went to the fourth floor with a very narrow spiral staircase to connect to the room. It was air conditioned and very clean with an opening window which took in the view of the canal. Breakfast was offered at an additional cost, but there were many cafes to choose from close by and even a supermarket which catered for travellers. All in all a great little hotel in a great location which we would use again.

Room Tip: Ask for a canal view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TJDJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
't Hotel
't Hotel
#149 of 367 in Amsterdam
225 reviews
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#109 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Max Brown Hotel Canal District
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#13 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,104 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Nadia
Hotel Nadia
#108 of 367 in Amsterdam
3,949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Times Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Times Hotel

Property: The Times Hotel
Address: Herengracht 137, 1015 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #173 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Times Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HRS, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Times Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Times Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing