We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, size, and staff”
Review of The Times Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Times Hotel
Ranked #183 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Great for our purposes. We like smaller hotels that are updated, modern, and friendly. This met the bill! This was a last minute booking for us the night before we left Europe. We stayed at an awful hotel in Amsterdam earlier on our trip and during that period, we walked by the Times and it looked interesting. We walked in, made a reservation and it turned out to be a great experience. I only wish we could have spent more time there.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonnie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (480)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

182 - 188 of 480 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Llora K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stayed one night at The Times Hotel before setting off on a river cruise. Absolutely loved the location, quaintness and cleanliness. We arrived early in the day and they front desk gentleman kindly took our bags, showed us where the washroom was and then we set off to discover Amsterdam. Upon returning mid-afternoon, our room was ready. The rooms are on the small side but plenty of room for two women with a suitcase each. Very good location and we walked everywhere. The breakfast was perfect for what we required with great coffee machine. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and if I'm ever again in Amsterdam would certainly book it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cruiseryyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

A 10-minute walk to Centraal Station. Just on the outskirts of the Jordaan neighborhood on a canal, easy walk to a number of sights (Anne Frank House and some great small museums) and shopping. Major tram lines running just a few blocks away for other sightseeing. Grocery and self-serve or drop-off laundromats within walking for those staying more than a few nights. Hotel common areas and room clean & kept up nicely. Many rooms face canal. Had a room that faced into a very small interior courtyard. Good size room with a queen bed, desk and a large wardrobe to stash luggage, hang clothing or store on ample shelving. Definitely not your standard, cookie-cutter type hotel rooms - fun wall murals and you can see the old canal-house features in some of the rooms - mine had 2 very tiny steps that led up to the area where the bed was from the bathroom. Cable tv w/ plenty of English channels. Lots of light with big windows (although be careful if you have toddlers and open the windows for some fresh air as the windows are very large and fairly low to the ground). Very large bathroom with a full size tub/shower. Stairs from lobby up to rooms are not overly steep like other hotels in Amsterdam, but The Times has a reliable elevator which is great for when you need to get your luggage up or down from the room. Breakfast additional charge so skipped it, but plenty of places to get something to eat nearby. Front desk staff pleasant enough. Soundproofing not the greatest in between the rooms, but it's a renovated canal house - not a Hilton - so it should be expected. There is a coffee house (Amnesia) next door to the hotel, but you'd hardly know it was there. The customers coming and going throughout the day and evening are pretty quiet, unlike some of the other coffee houses in the Red Light District. Overall, nice stay and I would book at The Times again and recommend it to others headed to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GoneTravelin07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We did not know anything about this hotel, we just booked it by chance. A wonderful surprise when we got there. Staff were welcoming and friendly. Hotel was clean and well maintained. Breakfast was excellent, a typical Dutch breakfast. Will certainly go again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dinsdale D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Erik Z
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We booked the Times Hotel as other accommodation was very scarce due to a large medical conference being held at the same time. The location is great, with just a short ten minute walk to the central square and other shopping walks. Luckily we had a canal facing room which added to our stay. The room was adequate for our two night stay but was a little compact, not really enough room to lay out luggage. It was on the fifth floor in the apex of the roof line, unfortunately the lift only went to the fourth floor with a very narrow spiral staircase to connect to the room. It was air conditioned and very clean with an opening window which took in the view of the canal. Breakfast was offered at an additional cost, but there were many cafes to choose from close by and even a supermarket which catered for travellers. All in all a great little hotel in a great location which we would use again.

Room Tip: Ask for a canal view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TJDJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Amstelzicht
Hotel Amstelzicht
#188 of 375 in Amsterdam
367 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#118 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,262 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Bank Hotel
The Bank Hotel
#201 of 375 in Amsterdam
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Dream Hotel Amsterdam
Dream Hotel Amsterdam
#207 of 375 in Amsterdam
156 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Nadia
Hotel Nadia
#97 of 375 in Amsterdam
4,062 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#11 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Times Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Times Hotel

Address: Herengracht 137, 1015 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #183 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $91 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Times Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your The Times Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Times Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing