We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Ranked #44 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Malmö
Level Contributor
50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“One of the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2009

First I thought the hotel was situated awkwardly, but it wasn't that far to walk and the hotel had a shuttle. Best of all was to rent a bike – we will do that again. Besides, it was very quiet, we didn't hear a sound from outdoors or from the neighbouring rooms. Having a room on the 15th floor, the view was marvellous.
The staff was excellent, attentive but not trying to get too close.
The room was good, but being three it felt a bit crowded. The kids loved the bathroom (with a speaker connected to the tv), and I found the beds very comfortable.
The breakfast was perfect with everything you could ask for. Especially the gentle man making eggs and omelettes was appreciated. With a breakfast like that you didn't need to eat for many hours.
We also tried dinner at the hotel. The food was good, but the selection is not overwhelming if you are a vegetarian. On the other hand is the selection of wines very good, even if you just want a glass. We also had a late lunch in the bar which was all right. Room service also worked fine.
All in all, this is a hotel I would like to go back to just to pamper myself.
And maybe to try one of the restaurants on the island in the neighbourhood. We had a tour there our last night (after dinner!) and several of the restaurants looked very cosy.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barfota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,856 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,535
    1,720
    410
    128
    63
See reviews for
767
2,135
176
879
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (845)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2009

Had a really lovely experience here. Room on 15th floor with an amazing view. All very comfy. Made use of the gym and sauna, tried the hotel restaurant which was excellent (and pricey). 15min walk to the central station - best accessed via the BACK of the station - bit confusing if you come out the front entrance! Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UkJodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2009

We got this hotel as a mystory hotel on LastMin.com. It was below cost, so we were very happy with the hotel. On the first night we ate in the restraunt which was very good and a resonable price.

We were at a conference, so coming back and having a sauna was amazing. It is a little out of town, but you can very easily get a tram into town.

I would recommend buying a travel card, we didn't but its a lot cheaper if you are staying here for a couple of days.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank benarent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2009

We had a great time in Amsterdam, and this hotel was fantastic, got it on a mystery deal through expedia fantastic value. The Hotel is just up the road from the central station, so train in from the airport, 5 minute walk or one stop to the hotel, check out goggle earth. The receptionist wasn't very warm on our arrival, we were cold and wet, but she sternly avoided any small talk. The rest of the staff were great, especially in the restaurant, which was pricey but excellent. Rooms were great with lovely views, a bit noisy, hums from the air con etc., but on the whole very nice. The breakfast was expensive 23 euros + tax, but it was well worth it, massive buffet style with loads of choice and absolute quality, fill your boots and the staff don't mind you taking some fruit and cakes for later. We loved the location just out of the city centre, if you know Amsterdam then you know how noisy the centre can get, great when you are making the row, but bad when you need a sleep.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 4932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2009

Get a lastminute deal on this hotel and you will feel like youve got very good value for money. The hotel was very clean, nice bar area, excellent looking menu on the restaurant (though we didnt eat there) and fabulous views of the city! Its about a 10-15 minute walk from central station but the hotel runs a free shuttle service every half an hour back and forth which was ideal......IMPORTANT TIP ON PARKING....DO NOT PARK UNDER THE HOTEL! they wanted to charge us 48 euros for 24 hours! we found a place called P and R parking just minutes drive from the hotel, it cost like 15 euros or roundabout for the 2 nights BARGAIN! ask at the reception and they will give you directions.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CityBreakCouple_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2009

Here's the acid test: I stayed for 4 nights at the Moevenpick in Sept. 2009, and when I return to Amsterdam in February 2010 plan to stay there again.

This is a beautiful and nearly new hotel. The desk staff were friendly and spoke perfect English. The views from my 20th floor room (an upgraded floor due to a hotel promotion) were simply gorgeous, and it was fun to look down on an immense cruise ship docked next to the hotel as well as watch all the boat and ship traffic on the Ij.

I didn't eat or drink at the hotel (probably my loss), so I can't comment on the room service, the restaurants, or the bar.

The main issue that might concern some people is location, but I didn't find that to be an issue. First of all, the No. 25 and 26 trams both run to and from Centaal Station, and both stop right near the hotel.

The one trick one has to learn to ride the trans to or from the Musiekgebouw stop is how to get to the hotel from that stop. After one figures it out, it's a simple matter of crossing an interesting footbridge and using the stairs at the west end of the Musiekgebouw, but that route could be difficult to find if one didn't already know where to look.

An alternative to the Musiekgebouw stop is the Passenger Terminal Amsterdam (PTA) stop on tram No, 25 -- the stop after Musiekgebouw on the route from Centraal Station. The PTA stop is impossible to miss, because it is the teminus of Line 25. From the PTA stop, it is a short easy walk to the hotel (circa one city block, if that), and the hotel dominates the landscape and therefore is easy to find.. My recommendation: If you are traveling from Centraal Station to the hotel for the first time, take the No, 25 tram to the PTA stop, and walk from there.

One thing that is nice about the No. 25 line is that it runs through much of Amsterdam, roughly from north to south. If you hop on this tram at the PTA or Musiekgebouw stop, you can grab a seat before the tram loads up with passengers at Centraal Station. (The No. 26 tram, going west, runs only to Centaal Station. However, heading east it runs all the way out to Ijburg.)

The hotel shuttle proved convenient as a way to get to Centraal Station. (I didn't try it as a way to get from the station to the hotel, but probably would have called the hotel for a ride had I not been such a mass transportation addict.) It's true that one needs to make a "reservation" for the shuttle, but that is not a major hassle. Basically, the shuttle runs at any given time only if there are people who want to ride in it, and making a "reservation" means only that one needs to tell the concierge that one would like a ride. I showed up in the lobby at just a few minutes before the hour one day, and simply asked for a ride in the shuttle -- and there was no problem at all.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimbo870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2009

Nice, clean, functional hotel. Comfortable bed, great view, and the best instant coffee I have ever had. The shower was one of those funky, no door, hand held shower head type numbers that always seems to get the floor wet, but that could just be me. If you are sharing a double room with someone, you should know that the bathroom doors are frosted glass and may not offer the privacy you require. The front desk was friendly if not overly helpful. I had drinks and snacks in the bar one night. The drinks were good, but the snacks, some guacamole and chips, were average, and the service was a bit slow. Here’s the major problem and I know it has been mentioned before, but you really, really need to consider it before you stay here: you are a good ten minute walk from anything in the parts of Amsterdam you want to see. At least ten minutes along a path on the water. See the photo I attached. There was no stopping by your hotel room mid-day, resting your feet, using the lavatory or dropping off packages. Once you left for day, you didn’t want to go back and once you were in, you just don’t feel like going back out again. There are no restaurants, clubs, stores, anything nearby except Muziekgebouw aan ’t IJ, the new concert hall. (Tip, if you are staying at the Movenpick, you can walk up the footbridge to the concert hall and then walk down a few flights of steps to get to the entrance of the hotel. Otherwise, you actually have to walk by the hotel to get to the front and that just exacerbates your annoyance.). My other tip is to stock up on snacks and drinks at either the AH or HEMA outposts in Central Station before your trek. If you are in Amsterdam for work at Phillips, or are on a cruise ship, stay at the Movenpick, otherwise, you will be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TinaNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Centrum
Room Mate Aitana
Room Mate Aitana
#25 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,217 reviews
Centrum
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Hilton Amsterdam
#47 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Property: Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Address: Piet Heinkade 11, 1019 BR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#21 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#32 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#36 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#40 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center. With a prime location in the city of Amsterdam, this elegant hotel is the ideal venue for your executive travel, meeting and conferences or private ventures in matters of art and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Amsterdam
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing