We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre
Ranked #52 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed August 30, 2014

Great location. We were able to walk to the town center. It was the hotel selected by Avalon Cruise Line. We came in two days early to take advantage of additional sight seeing in Amsterdam and surroundings. The hotel was busy, but very helpful. The rooms were great; very comfortable beds. Our only complaint was the breakfast. There was no choice before 8:00am for anything other than a $25.00 buffet. After 8:00 one could get a roll and croissant and drink at the bar for $7.00. We had excursions planned and needed to be ready to be picked up at 8:00.

Room Tip: Enjoyed the room that overlooked the harbor where the river cruise ships were located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank jabdab_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2014

Dear jabdab_13,
We hope your Avalon cruise has been an enjoyable one, and would like to thank you for sharing your experiences with us. It is good to read you received an adequate and friendly service from our staff despite the fact the hotel was so busy. We put a lot of emphasis on our quality and service, and are encouraged to read this pays off. Otherwise we regret to hear our breakfast options and times did not match to your plans.
Thank you again.

Kind regards,
The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,439)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,874 - 2,880 of 6,439 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2014

Movenpick has been my preferred hotel of stay every time I am in Amsterdam and it helps that my company has a corporate tie up with the hotel.

The hotel is very well located in Amsterdam and is a short and very scenic walk along the canal banks from Amsterdam Centraal - one which can be done in 10-15 mins at a leisurely pace.

The rooms have awesome views - especially the higher floor ones - either they are overlooking the canal at the back or the railway tracks and the city - both of which are simply stunning, especially if you are an early riser like I am when travelling.

The rooms are very nicely furnished and the beds, bathroom etc. is spic and span - just as you would expect from a top hotel.

Each of the rooms have a fridge/minibar, LCD tv, safe and the wifi is free - albeit the free one is slow and keeps disconnecting, something which can definitely and should be improved in my opinion.

The food especially the breakfast is delicious and not to be missed, although its a bit on the fatty side which is where a work out at the fitness centre in the mornings would come in handy.

All in all a wonderful hotel backed with very helpful and competent staff who look after you well.

Room Tip: Insist on a room on the higher floors with a view to the canal - its amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank mayankkedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2014 via mobile

I picked this hotel for 2 nights and decided to go to a concert to the nearby concert hall and visit the EYE film institute (free ferry from the backside of Central Station).
The hotel was nice. The service very friendly. The breakfast was very nice, you could order your own omelette, it was included in the price. Room was very clean, comfortable and spacious, 9th floor - views were wonderful.
But the hotel is off. It is situated by the sea and by the canal boat stop and 15 minutes walk from Central Station (free shuttle service). But that's it. Not much else on the modern pier. There is a free shuttle service to the Dam square. Trams stop on the bridge in front of the hotel.
The hotel is very neutral, somehow lacking any ambience of Amsterdam.
If you want to avoid tourist crowds and get a good night sleep, this is your hotel. For boat passangers and concert hall visitors the situation is ideal.
The price I paid was high, but Amsterdam hotel prices are high.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Satu L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2014

Mmovenpik staff are fabulous. Really made our weekend break ! Stay at this hotel and you won't be disappointed !
We stayed in a junior exec suite and were delighted with our room. The view was spectacular - even when the cruise ship arrived in the middle of the night .
Snacks in exec lounge 5-7 brilliant after a hard day trekking museums !
Breakfasts busy but brilliant range of goods to choose
We will be returning to this hotel again

Room Tip: Get to the higher floors if you cAn....the views are excellent -
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 121Aimee121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2014

Dear 121Aimee121,
Thank you so much for sharing your (more than!) positive review, we are happy to read we made your stay such an excellent one.
Compliments have been shared within our teams for encouragement already.

Please contact us directly for your next future stay in our hotel.

Kind regards,
The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2014

Fab hotel just 10 minutes walk from the train station, or, the hotel offers a free shuttle service. Rooms were very comfortable and stylish. We didn't eat at the hotel, but did have drinks in the bar which was lovely. 15 minute walk to Dam Square, we had breakfast on the way, plenty of places to chose from. Would certainly go back! Try the GloGolf just across the tram line. A giggle with the family.

Room Tip: Get a high floor, the views are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Suzie3718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2014

Dear Suzie3718,
Thank you for your kind contribution on Tripadvisor, this is much appreciated.
We are truly pleased to find out you valued our ideal location, good hotel and overall facilities.
Please contact us directly should your next family trip plans bring you back to The Netherlands, and our beautiful city.

Kind regards,
The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2014

We stayed at Moevenpick for three nights and had a very enjoyable stay. The hotel is only a 10-15 minute walk from the central station and the town centre, and it has some really nice views of the canal - we stayed on the sixth floor.

We had a triple room and I liked that the double bed was two single beds pushed together with separate duvets to give us some extra space. However the third bed wasn't very good as it was a couch converted into a bed and it was pretty hard and not very comfortable. Another single bed instead of the couch would have been better.

We didn't eat at the hotel as we thought it was pretty expensive, so we had breakfast in town instead. We thought the drinks at the bar were quite pricey too, but soon discovered this is a running theme through Amsterdam - it's an expensive city to drink in!

Overall we really liked the location, the beds (apart from the third bed in the triple room) were comfortable, the views were excellent, and it was clean. Checking in and out was easy and hassle free. If I return to Amsterdam I'll definitely like to stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2014

Dear Sam R,
Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your 3 night- 4 day stay in our hotel.
We enjoy to read you appreciated our views and easy to reach, quiet location, comfortable beds and clean rooms. Otherwise we regret to learn about your inconveniences regarding the third bed. Please feel free to contact our hotel directly for your next stay.
Kind regards,
The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Movenpick. The rooms were shiney clean with beautiful views of the harbor or the canal. Although a quarter of a mile or so from the old town, the location was perfect for connecting with one of the many cruise ships or going on a canal tour. The breakfast buffet was really good, and the restaurant, Silk, served an adequate dinner. Throw in a nice spa area and all the bases were covered. One note: if stepping up and over a 30 inch bathtub edge to get into the shower is a problem,ask for a walk in shower without the tub.

Room Tip: The higher floors have better views. The rooms close to the elevators are a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donyaann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2014

Dear Donyaann,
We hope your cruise has been an enjoyable one, we are pleased to read your stay with us has been satisfactory. Your comments regarding our good breakfast and restaurant are much valued and have been shared within our several departments already.
Next time you are in Amsterdam, please do not hesitate to contact us directly.

Kind regards,
The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#143 of 372 in Amsterdam
5,188 reviews
Centrum
Room Mate Aitana
Room Mate Aitana
#31 of 372 in Amsterdam
3,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Amsterdam
#41 of 372 in Amsterdam
2,974 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#19 of 372 in Amsterdam
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre

Address: Piet Heinkade 11, 1019 BR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#21 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#37 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#40 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $166 - $512 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Mövenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre. With a prime location in the city of Amsterdam, this elegant hotel is the ideal venue for your executive travel, meeting and conferences or private ventures in matters of art and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Amsterdam
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing