We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bit pricey but nice views, comfy night of sleep, good staff and breakfast” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Ranked #48 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Bit pricey but nice views, comfy night of sleep, good staff and breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

Stayed for work, as my usual Amsterdam hotel choice was very pricey for the night and the same as the Movenpick so thought it was worth a try. Nice modern building, good views on all rooms i think as it faces something interesting on all sides. I was looking along the water to the station, which was good.

Good aircon, comfortable bed, nice room furniture. A small built in sofa even in a standard class room. Breakfast not cheap but it never is in hotels, but the quality was high and you could eat outside on the terrace. Parking about €40/night which si steep but then again it is central Amsterdam.

Walk to the centre is a bit odd, longer than it looks as you go back on yourself and end up on the harbour side fo the station, but perfectly easy and they do runa shuttler twice an hour. Hotel was stuffed with river tour boat customers which was a bit depressing, but nothing too bothersome.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view, ask for harbour side for probably the nicer view. Higher floors are better, p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Owen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Owen A,
Thank you very much for your time to share your feedback with us. We are happy to find out you chose our hotel for your business purposes and hope to have another chance to welcome you back either for leisure or buniness reasons.
Parking in general can be expensive in the city of Amsterdam, please contact our hotel directly for other (cheaper) alternatives.

Thank you again for your kind contribution.

Kind regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,757 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,992
    2,040
    496
    154
    75
See reviews for
953
2,482
202
1,079
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (916)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kapolei, Hawaii
Level Contributor
218 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

We spent two nights at this decidedly up-scale hotel close to the Main train station and adjacent to the Cruise Ship berthing area. We we only a short walk, about half a block, to the nearest trolly stop and from there we could make it to almost all the major museums and attractions in Amsterdam in just a few minutes. If one is incline to walk, there is a nice walkable path into the city center, and if one likes a hike, the Hotel is about 3 kilometers from the Rijksmuseum and using the excellent map provided by the Hotel, you can hit many of the important spots on your way. As for the accommodations, the room was huge, the bed firm, the water hot, the fridge cold, and the internet free (which was a pleasant surprise). The Hotel also has a very generous breakfast buffet that we truly enjoyed and leveraged for our "snacks" and lunch too.

Room Tip: Ask for a room about the 5th floor for a view of the harbor or of Amsterdam's old City rather th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Richard J,
We are happy to hear you had such an enjoyable stay with us and you took advantage of all means of public transport, or just a nice interesting walk into town.
Your compliments concerning our spacious and huge rooms, and generous breakfast buffet are much appreciated. We put a lot of emphasis on our service and quality, and are happy to see this pays off.

Please feel free to stay at our hotel upon your next visit to Amsterdam.

Kind regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addingham, Yorkshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

this is a modern high rise hotel right on the harbour front, a good ten minutes walk from the back of the station - albeit a very nice walk in good weather... reception desk were always helpful and friendly, never had to wait long. We stayed three nights, they allocated us a high room overlooking the bay and city from the second night with an absolutely stunning widescreen view, particularly the sunsets in the evening over the water. Very quiet, could slightly hear the sound of trains occasionally with window open, but otherwise very good night's sleep
easy to hire bikes from just outside the door, 20 euros for 48hrs each - perfect for getting around the city's sights, traffic was hairy at times, though that was from other cyclists rather than cars... Breakfast was a bit pricey at 20 euros each, so instead cycled to cafe just in front of station for breakfast on the waterfront, much cheaper
One watch out - taxi driver outside tried to convince us there had been a fire and there were no trains travelling from station to the airport. We weren't convinced, and of course it was a ruse to get you to pay the 50 euros in his taxi...

Room Tip: high up facing harbour and city, they have four lifts so no usual issues with having to wait to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rickycowslip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Rickycowslip,
Thank you for sharing your positive and extensive feedback regarding your stay in July.
Your kind remarks concerning our friendly and helpful staff are much appreciated and encouraging.
Our location just outside the busy city centre, on the banks of the river "IJ" give you beautiful views and quiet nights due to our adequate isolation. You may be interested to know there had been an emergency issue at the railway/ airport which resulted during some hours in no train traffic to the airport..

Please stay with us next time you visit Amsterdam.

Kind regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a night as it was recommended by our tour company. Booked one night's accommodation plus 2 course dinner and breakfast with late checkout. On the $$$ side especially when room tea & coffee facilities were minimal and no minibar was provided. Bedding was arranged oddly too, sheets met in the centre exposing our backs all night, very uncomfortable! Seemed like two single beds stuck together with blankets meeting in the centre. Very odd. We were also locked out of our room even after having a late checkout booked. On the upside, we had a room on the 11th floor with a great view of the river and railway and were entertained by a huge cruise ship that docked.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kyp-013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Kyp-013,
Thank you for your time and effort in sharing your experiences with us.
It is good to read you enjoyed your stay in our hotel in general and apologize for any inconvenience you have encountered by our bedding. In our twin room there are two single beds together with each seperate bed linen.
Should your next travel plans bring you to Amsterdam, we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again.

Kind regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
105 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

For the cost, the hotel meets expectations. Check in was easy. We were on the 14th floor with a wonderful water and city view. Room was spacious and well appointed (coffee maker, hair dryer, large bathroom, toiletries). Room was quiet although I don't know that they were fully booked.

The restaurant was very good for lunch and dinner. Although a bit costly the quality was high to justify.

Breakfast was OK. I noticed many other reviews touted the buffet. It was fine for the cost but not exceptional. And the morning maitre'd was rather ridiculous in telling me I couldn't have a wine glass for water but only their standard water glass (about the size of a large shot glass) or a coffee mug. Apparently they are not accustomed to guests who prefer their full glass of water in the morning. Not exactly good customer service!

The hotel is a bit of a walk to where the restaurants and shops are in town. After returning to the hotel from touring all day it was a disincentive to go back to town for dinner (in the rain) so we ended up dining in the hotel both nights. Next trip we will stay more in town.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank reddogsrule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear reddogsrule,
Thank you very much for sharing your detailed review regarding your short stay in our hotel.
This is obviously much appreciated! We are pleased to learn our hotel met up to your expectations.
On the other hand we regret to hear about the non flexibility of our staff regarding your request for a larger water glass. Please be assured we take this serious and will share this within our related teams for extra training and follow up.
We hope to have a chance to welcome you back in our hotel next time you visit Amsterdam.

Kind regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

I was very happy to arrive at the Movenpick Hotel. We stayed for a week in Amsterdam and did not want the hassle of staying in the city centre. We were able to get an executive room for a nice price.
PROS:
Executive room includes free breakfast (our first day there was the opening of their new breakfast buffet. Must say it is very nice and the buffet is unlimited and full of fruits, cheeses, hams, smoked salmon,cereals, pastries and hot meals,all types of eggs, omelette counter, bacon, sausage, potatoes, dutch pancakes, yogurts...... much more of a brunch for us!
We were able to eat breakfast in the executive lounge which was nicer and less noisy. We had an expresso/capuchino machine as well as bottled water and juice. Nice touch. The servers were always friendly and nice. Very pleasant atmosphere.
The executive lounge is open from 7am to 11 pm. Expresso machine/ large range of teas are available as well as bottled water and juices all day! With two computers with a printer.
A snack is offered in the lounge from 5 to 7 pm. Cheese and canapés as well as beer and wine. A nice touch after visiting all day.
Concierges were very helpful and courteous and even gave us some good ideas for visiting and eating.
A van shuttle service available everyday until 7:30pm every half hour but you must reserve in advance or else you might have to wait until the next shuttle time. Only transports 8.
The hotel decor is modern and recent .
Great views of the harbor in the executive rooms. 19th and 20th floors.
The rooms are noise proof:windows and room door! heard no noise the whole week!
Service in the hotel all around was very good.

Cons:
The hotel is very large therefore there is a lot of hustle and bustle in the large reception area as well as in the dining areas during peak hours. 400+ rooms.
Hotel located at the piers for River cruises therefore a lot more retired older crowd. (mostly Americans) Barely saw any kids at the hotel. We actually enjoyed it since we were away on a trip without our kids!
Being at the docks meant the hotel was a little further from city centre but we did not mind since we were looking for a less crowded area. It can get complicated each time you want to go out but it is a question of getting organized. No shuttle at night which means you need a taxi to get back.
I would not want to walk there at night because of the complexity of getting there. You will understand when you visit.
We arrived the first day at noon meaning our room was not ready until 3pm. We decided to go to the restaurant and have a drink as well as a guacamole dip and chips with cheese. The guacamole was awful. I did not eat it. More cream then avocado and barely had any taste! Lack of lemon taste or tomatoes or onion. We ate dinner at the bar Silk roads several nights because we wanted to watch the soccer games. We did not have one good meal except for the steak night. The pizza was awful and not crunchy ,fish and chips tasted frozen and not well cooked. The salads all had a creamy sauce which I hated. Why do you not offer olive oil and vinegar on the tables and let customers pick? Had the chicken and pork schnitzel. No taste, hard and oily. Served with fries and salad. Once again creamy sauce on salad. Yuck!
The bartenders were also the table servers. Very nice and friendly but seriously understaffed. I do not know how they handled all the customers that arrived constantly. Service was slow and disorganized not due to the waiters but due to the lack of and disorganization in the kitchen. Please hire more staff in this bar. Also follow up on efficiency of the kitchen. The food outside of breakfast time tasted more like cafeteria food. Would have loved to have a small fine dining restaurant in the hotel with more choices especially grilled fresh fish. The menu is quite limited. Please think about your options on improving your quality of food.

In conclusion, If I were to do it again, I would stay at the Movenpick but would eat elsewhere meaning more time spent taking taxis. It truly is a beautiful modern hotel with friendly service!
If I ever come back to Amsterdam I would probably change to a boutique hotel in the beautiful neighborhood of the museums. I always like to try different things.

Room Tip: If you get a good deal get the executive rooms. You get a better deal for your money. Read above. Ta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suerb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear suerb,
Thank you so much for your mainly positive and more than extensive feedback regarding your stay in our hotel. This is much appreciated and we are pleased to read you took advantage of all benefits which come included when booking an Executive Suite, enjoying our large variety of breakfast (included as well), friendly and helpful service, and due to our location just outide the busy city centre, quiet and peaceful nights. We noted your detailed remarks and obviously regret to hear the quality of the served food did not meet up to your expectations and taste. Please be assured we take this serious and will discuss this within our related teams and Manager.
We hope to ahve a chance to welcome you again next time you visit Amsterdam.

Kind regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
157 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

Only had the opportunity to stay one night in this wonderful hotel, however, it was well worth it. It was a five minute walk from the train station with a wonderful view of the river. Our room looked right out onto the river. We could not enjoy the breakfast due to illness but it looked amazing. The shuttle driver was very nice as was the concierge. Concierge also helped us with discounted canal boat ride.

Room Tip: Upper floors looking onto the river and city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Randall L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Randall L,
Thank you for taking the time to share your short and strong feedback with us. We are truly pleased to read your one night stay has been such an enjoyable one. We are indeed close to most points of interest and the city centre, and thank our beautiful views to our location on the banks of the river "IJ'.
Your compliments have been shared already within our teams! We hope you recovered from your illness completely and hope to welcome you back in a near future.

Kind regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Centrum
Room Mate Aitana
Room Mate Aitana
#29 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,873 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Property: Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Address: Piet Heinkade 11, 1019 BR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#21 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#34 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#40 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center. With a prime location in the city of Amsterdam, this elegant hotel is the ideal venue for your executive travel, meeting and conferences or private ventures in matters of art and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Amsterdam
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing