We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre
Nearby Hotels
$247
$241
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$285
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$473
$387
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel(Amsterdam)
$353
$275
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Banks Mansion(Amsterdam)
$316
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$293
$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Lloyd Hotel(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$124
$88
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ambassade Hotel(Amsterdam)
$204
$188
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 30% below average rates

The price you found is 30% lower than this hotel's average rate of $268/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Estherea(Amsterdam)
$276
$243
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$442
$332
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (6,787)
Filter reviews
6,787 results
Traveler rating
3,509
2,380
601
196
101
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,509
2,380
601
196
101
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmovenpick hotelcentral stationcruise terminalfree shuttlecity centregreat hotelshuttle servicetram stophotel shuttleminute walkexecutive roommodern hotelbreakfast buffetmini bardam squareconciergeviking
Filter
Updating list...
3,216 - 3,221 of 6,787 reviews
Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

We only stayed for one night and had a lovely experience. The staff were brilliant - giving us a room on the 18th floor with an unbeatable view over Amsterdam and bringing bottles of water to our room for free at 1 am when the vending machines were sold out. Room was spacious, modern and clean. My only complaint would be the location - the hotel does run a shuttle to the station but it gets full so best to prebook.

Thank aulusgellius
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
General M, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Dear aulusgellius,

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience in our hotel. I have read your comments with regards to the location of the hotel. Indeed we are located in the Eastern Docklands, a 10 minute walk from Central Station. We are sorry to hear you were not able to make use of our complimentary shuttle service. We do also have a tram stop in front of our hotel (tram 26), maybe this can be of help next time you stay at our hotel. Besides this, I hope the rest of your stay was enjoyable with us.

Kind Regards,
The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

We picked this hotel for the location. It is close to the main train station, the city center and cruise terminals. For a European hotel, the rooms are quite large. The staff was wonderful and they have very helpful concierges. We arrived early and the front desk team did their best to assign us a room. The shower is fantastic, free wifi and comfy beds and pillows. We would definitely stay here again and recommend it to other travelers.

Room Tip: We had a room with a great view of the city and the river boats. Large windows.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nonrev1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Dear nonrev1,

Thank you for sharing your feedback about your positive experience in our hotel. We sincerely appreciate the time you have taken to express your satisfaction. We are certain that comments like this will further motivate our staff, and especially the concierges, to continue to strive to provide quality service to all of our valued guests.

We certainly hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in the future.

Kind regards,
The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Located on the waterfront near the cruise line dock and close to the train station, this modern hotel was very comfortable and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Although they say it's a 5 minute walk to town center, it is more like 10 to 15; still close enough for an easy walk. The restaurant and lounge were very good and we indulged after a long day walking though Amsterdam. If you're looking for all the conveniences of a modern hotel this is a great find, the only drawback was the price, I thought it was a bit high, although we booked it through Viking Cruises which probably added a bit.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg_Wy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Dear Greg_Wy,

We have been happy to welcome you at the Mövenpick Hotel Amsterdam and hope that you had a pleasant trip back home. I would like to thank you for taking the time for sharing your positive feedback with us regarding your stay.
Keep an eye on our special website deals to take advantage of the best rates!

Next time you are in Amsterdam, we hope to welcome you again in our hotel.

Kind regards,
the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Hotel is Brilliant. We had an Executive Room with Buffet Breakfast and Snacks between 5pm - 7pm which were Superb. Also a Filled Minibar Daily. We got a Cracking Deal. 5 minute Walk from Central Station and Ten minutes to Dam Square. Will defo be returning.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maggiet86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

Dear maggiet86,
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive comments with us. We are happy to find out you took advantage of all benefits which come included in an Executive Room.
We hope to welcome you back soon and make your stay as memorable as your previous one.

Kind regards,
The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

The Moevenpick Hotel is a wonderful hotel. It's clean, very new, and they pride themselves on service. It is close to the train station and and they run shuttles to Centraal. We got Moevenpick because they accepted our bid on www.priceline.com. The views were wonderful and the gym was nice as well.

The only downside to the hotel is that it can be a bit of walk to City Centre. It's located on this weird inlet/dock thing (I assume so it can be close to cruise travelers) and is kind of weird to walk to. Once you figure it out, it's fine. I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank konigblau13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

Dear konigblau13,
We appreciate your more than positive review regarding your recent stay. It is good to learn our high level of service standards have been valued, as well as our modern hotel and quiet location.
Please do contact our helpful Concierge for assisting you how to get easy into town, and back to our hotel. Ther are more than happy to advise you.

Please stay with us again next time you plan your visit to Amsterdam.

Kind regards,
The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews