We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Generally nice hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Ranked #49 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Tashkent, Uzbekistan
Level Contributor
60 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Generally nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

I stayed here for a conference. The room was nice, the staff were helpful, and the breakfast buffet was really good. The conference facilities were also very nice. My only complaint was that in a double-room, we were given only one wireless connection. Thus my friend had to call the reception every four hours to get a free password. This was very inconvenient.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank magassouba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear magassouba,
Thank you very much for sharing your review with us regarding your meeting and stay.
We are pleased to read you were satisfied in general, but apologize for any inconvenience you have experienced with our WIFI access.You may be happy to know, recently we have replaced the (cumbersome) internet-login page for a more mobile-device and user friendly one, this is a pilot project in which we are also making the whole IT access more user friendly.

Again, thank you, we look forward welcoming you in our hotel in a near future.
Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,740 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,980
    2,036
    495
    154
    75
See reviews for
950
2,478
202
1,072
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (916)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights and could not find fault with anything about this hotel, the staff were friendly and very helpful. The concierge recommended two restaurants which were great. We asked for a high floor as we'd been told there were good views, we were given a great room on the 17th floor with a fabulous view, they left a yummie bar of chocolate in our room as I'd mentioned it was our anniversary. Breakfast was excellent with loads of choice. It was ideally situated it took about 15 minutes to walk to Central Station you could use the free hotel shuttle bus or get a tram which stopped opposite the hotel.
I'd highly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here again if I go back to Amsterdam and the next time we go on a city break will check to see if there is a Movenpick there. My husband used the Spa and was very impressed.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pud12344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Pud12344,
We hope you had a wonderful anniversary and are happy to learn you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.
Your general positive remarks are much appreciated!
A late congratulations to you and please let us know if your next celebration will be with us again.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

Our 4 night stay was a pleasure ,helped by the friendly and helpful staff at the Movenpick.
The restaurant was excellent ,especially the breakfasts, and the reception staff were extremely helpful, Happy Hour in the bar on Friday evening was good ,and would recommend that this be extended to other days.

Room Tip: our room was on the eleventh floor and was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear David E,
We are very happy to read your 4 night stay with us has been such an enjoyable one.
Your positive remarks regarding our friendly and helpful staff have been shared for encouragement already within our teams.
Please feel free to stay with us again next time you visit Amsterdam.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

We stayed here 2 years ago and had a fantastic time. Tried another hotel last year and whilst it was good, it wasn't a patch on the Movenpick. The welcome is wonderful, the staff are so helpful and the place is amazing. The rooms are everything they should be and the views across the town and down the river are panoramic. This time we ate in the bar/restaurant and the food and service were up the standard of the rest of the hotel. But for us the big difference between here and everywhere else is their breakfasts. I don't think you'll find a better breakfast anywhere, let alone in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chefiain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear chefiain,
We are happy to read you decided to stay with us again for the second time and have been able to meet up to your expectations. Thank you for your trust in our hotel chain.
We put a lot of emphasis on our service and quality of our products, and we are happy this pays off.

Next time you decide to visit Amsterdam again, please enjoy our delicious breakfast by staying with us.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

A nice, large hotel to use as home while sightseeing in Amsterdam. The tram stop is steps away, and that takes you to Centraal Station, where you can transfer to most of the major Amsterdam sites. A great place to stay before or after your River Cruise. The hotel rooms are large, well appointed, the wi-fi signal one of the strongest I've ever had in a hotel (worth five stars just for that!) and the breakfast buffet, although busy, offers a great selection and hustling staff. Most rooms have a great view of different parts of Amsterdam or the harbor. Enjoy your stay!

Room Tip: Higher floors for better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank CruiseJay7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear CruiseJay7,
We are truly pleased to hear we have given you the home feeling, being away from home!
Thank you for your kind comments, especially regarding our Wifi. We hope your boat trip has been enjoyable as well, and hope to welcome you back in our hotel in a near future.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

Stayed here for new year 2012. Its a very large modern hotel with nice bathrooms, although the glass door on the bathroom was a bit strange. There was 3 of us sharing the room which essentially was a twin room with a kind of sofa/bed by the window.

The location is about 5-10 mins walk from the station along the river/bay/canal (whatever it technically is). Its out of the red light district that I usually stay in but that was actually quite nice and there are trams right outside if you cant handle the walking.

Didn't have breakfast included (and it was pricey to buy separately) so can't comment. There's a subway next door though if you're on a budget or very hungover and in need of sustenance (as we were) but not much else around there.

Overall its a nice hotel and was good value overall.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank theonelikefranco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear theonelikefranco,
Thank you for staying and for sharing your feedback with us. We hope your New year of 2012 in our hotel has been a memorable one. We are indeed located just outside the busy city centre, but well connected by all means of transport. Ensuring a good night rest, to afterwards explore the city of Amsterdam. Should you wish breakfast included in your rate, please visit our website for special deals.
Thank you again,

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

This hotel was really lovely. The staff were exceptionally polite and helpful and the rooms were spacious and clean, with everything you could possibly need. Our room had a view of the river and cruise ships which were docked there, as it is situated at the side of the passenger terminal. We didn't eat or drink in the hotel as it seemed a bit pricey and we preferred to walk into the city centre. It is a bit of a walk from the centre of Amsterdam and the attractions but it has easy access via tram no 26 if needed. I would definitely recommend this hotel and would like to stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Michelle B,
Thank you for your (more than!) positive feedback with regards to your stay in our hotel. We are happy to read you had such a pleasant stay. As an alternative to the tram, we also offer a free shuttlebus to the Central Station (advance booking recommended).
Your comments regarding our friendly staff are much appreciated, thank you!

We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you again in our hotel.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Centrum
Room Mate Aitana
Room Mate Aitana
#29 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,859 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Property: Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Address: Piet Heinkade 11, 1019 BR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#21 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#40 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center. With a prime location in the city of Amsterdam, this elegant hotel is the ideal venue for your executive travel, meeting and conferences or private ventures in matters of art and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Amsterdam
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing