We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mid-week Amsterdam break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Ranked #49 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Mid-week Amsterdam break”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

My wife and I had decided to visit Amsterdam by ferry from Newcastle so wanted to stay at a fairly central hotel. Although the hotel is not in the very centre of the city it is 5-10 minutes to walk from the central station and easy to find. The hotel run a free shuttle to and from the central station at regular intervals if you didn't want to walk.

We had reserved a standard double room which was very clean, modern with a great view. However we didn't spend much time in the hotel room.

The hotel has a small gym which I didn't use. However I made use of the Finish sauna and the bio sauna, which was very quite and well maintained and a great place to relax. The same area also has a relaxation room and ice fountain.

The food was absolutely fantastic! Breakfast had a great range to choose, and unlike a lot of hotels the scrambled eggs were not made of rubber! There was also a chef that would make eggs to order.

The bar menu for lunches and snacks had a great variety and delivered generous portions.

We ate in the restaurant on our first night and had a 3 course meal. Again the food was fantastic quality and one of the best steaks I have had.

The staff were also very polite and happy to help. A member of staff had looked into the cost of a taxi for us as well as an itinerary if traveling on public transport to return to the port.

Would definitely return!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Nick T,
We are delighted to learn your stay with us has been satisfactory and you valued our overall facilities, such as our extensive breakfast buffet, our Wellness Area and tasty food in our Restaurant. We indeed offer a free shuttle bus to the Central Station, please make a booking in advance to avoid disappointments.

Our polite and friendly staff look forward welcoming you soon.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,836 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,031
    2,069
    505
    156
    75
See reviews for
971
2,512
204
1,095
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (919)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 28, 2014

This is one of the most hospitable, courteous hotel I've stayed in. I went for my birthday and they ensured that our stay was enjoyable ( free chocolate on arrival, room service with additional gifts ) and relaxing. The view from the room ( 20th floor ) was astounding, the contrast of the canal and city- I'm still have beautiful memories about this scenic view. Breakfast was very good also. Definitely will be staying here again

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coast-to-Coas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
DearCoast-to-Coast,
We are very proud to read we have been able to make your stay and birthday such a memorable one! This is very encouraging feedback and therefor has been shared within our teams already.
Thank you for all the kind words and overall appreciation.

We defenitely hope to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Just returned from a four night stay. As others have said the hotel is in a great location just a 5-10 minute walk from the station. The number 26 tram is one stop to the "Muzicbox" and stops across the road. A 24 hour ticket can be purchased from the conductor on the tram (in a little box near the back). Don't worry when you get on the tram as it does almost a complete circle, doubling back on itself. From the other reviews it seems that all rooms have a wonderful view down the IJ lake onto the town centre. The hotel is comfortable with all amenities. There are toiletries, hairdryer and iron/ironing board available in the room and a decent shower. There is also a fridge which you stock yourself (in my case I bought milk so that I could have unlimited amounts of tea!!) Husband bought beer in a supermarket. TV has quite a few English channels including BBC 1,2,3. It maybe of interest that there is access to a computer and printer in the business area at the top end of the reception. We used this to confirm our return KLM flights and print the boarding cards. The hotel is non smoking but has a smoking place to the side of reception in a garage type area. This has seats and a heater. I would recommend this hotel and would use it again. I booked this through lastminute on a room only basis, although we were offered a breakfast package for 17.50E (I think) on checking in. We were also allowed to check in early without any problem and used the courtesy bus to take us to the station on the day of departure - this has to be pre-booked. Ate in the restaurant on a set menu, which I felt was reasonably priced - came to about 88E for two which included a 5E each additional charge for steaks, and all drinks - a beer, wine and bottle of water. Also took advantage of the happy hour in the bar on Friday night. Staff there were friendly and efficient and supply you with free nibbles. Special mention to Florian, the barman who was very nice.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FMS3011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear FMS3011,
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your 5 day stay in Amsterdam. We are truly pleased to read we have been able to make your stay a memorable one, and you enjoyed our F&B facilities with special attention to our Bar colleague, Floris. Compliments have been shared with him already. We are indeed not far away from the City Centre, daily tram tickets can be purchased at our Concierge Desk or in the Souvenir shop as well.

Should you decide to visit Amsterdam again, please contact us personally.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

I originally stayed at this hotel in February 2012 with a group of friends celebrating a birthday. At that time I did not have an opportunity to review the hotel as we were out most of the time, on my second visit in February 2014 I made a point of making the most of the hotel amenities.

The Moevenpick Amsterdam is close to the City Centre is a one stop tram ride away from Central Station, or if you are feeling fit about a 10/15 min brisk walk from Central Station.

The hotel is clean, and the bedrooms are spacious and comfortable. This time I travelled with family and friends ranging from 9 - 79 everyone enjoyed the surroundings. What is particularly good is the Fitness and Well Being Centre. The Centre is well presented with a series of massage rooms/sauna/ice room and a relaxation room. Well worth a visit if you have the time.

The staff are courteous and made sure that my we had rooms with a good view. The meal choice is great and not too pricey. The breakfast has an array of choices.

All in all a great hotel and good value for money.

Room Tip: The higher the room floor the better the view....
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Melissa034,
Thank you for staying with us for the second time! We are happy to learn we were able to meet up to your expectations again and you appreciated the friendliness of our staff and our large comfortable rooms. Our Wellness is a good option to relax after exploring the city of Amsterdam!

We look forward welcoming you soon,
Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

We stayed here on a mini-break to Amsterdam. We arrived earlier than the normal check-in time,but had no trouble at all checking in there and then. The staff were all very polite and informative and answered any questions we asked,whether it was regarding the hotel itself,or general enquiries about Amsterdam. We were asked if we had a preference to which floor we wanted to stay on and all was done there and then with the greatest efficiency. The hotel is a kept very clean and the rooms are equipt with everything that you would need. The hotel also provides a free shuttle bus service,which is handy if you don't fancy the walk. This was my first trip to Amsterdam and certainly wont be my last,and I will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear John D,
It is very encouraging to hear your first trip to Amsterdam has been such a pleasant one.
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your mini break. We are more than assist you in anything to make your stay (more) comfortable.

We hope you will stay with us again on your next visit to Amsterdam.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

excellent room, with fantastic facilities and right in font of the tram stop (two minutes away from the city centre). there was also a bar, restaurant and shops. absolutely loved my stay here and would definatley come back again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robyn b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear robyn b,
It is a true pleasure to learn your stay has been so enjoyable with us. Your feedback has therefor been shared within our teams to keep the spirits high!

Anytime you decide to visit Amsterdam, please do stay with us again.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

I stayed for two nights whilst attending a conference and found this to be an excellent hotel. Staff were friendly, professional and very helpful. The food was plentiful in choice and excellent in quality. Room service was very promptly delivered and hot. I regret not bringing my gym kit as the fitness suite looks great.

My room (1020) had fabulous views over the river and city, was fabulously modern and yet very comfortable. The bed was very comfortable without being too soft and the bathroom very well supplied with a decent hair drier and assorted shampoo/soap/body lotion/shower gel.

That business travel staple, a decent iron and ironing board, we're present and clean/free from burned on deposits!

The aircon worked and was quiet, the TV had many English language channels including all the BBC channels, the tea and coffee facilities were great and the room had a mini fridge, although unstocked. On the floor below (9th) there is a vending machine which you can stock your fridge from.

The main railway station is about a the minute walk away and I would definitely recommend using the train from Schiphol airport and save yourself an exorbitant €62 can ride!

All in all I would highly recommend this hotel, but check out competitive rates via comparison sites and direct with the hotel before booking.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Smc-67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Smc-67,
Thank you for sharing your feedback and for choosing our hotel for your business purposes.
We are happy to have beenn able to assist you and you valued our overall facilities such as our Room Service, fabulous views and variety of TV Channels.

Anytime you decide to explore Amsterdam on a leisure (or business) trip, we look forward assisting you again.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Centrum
Room Mate Aitana
Room Mate Aitana
#29 of 364 in Amsterdam
2,925 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#25 of 364 in Amsterdam
2,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Property: Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Address: Piet Heinkade 11, 1019 BR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#21 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#40 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center. With a prime location in the city of Amsterdam, this elegant hotel is the ideal venue for your executive travel, meeting and conferences or private ventures in matters of art and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Travelocity, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Amsterdam
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing