We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in a wonderful city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Ranked #50 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great hotel in a wonderful city”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Just returned from a four night stay. As others have said the hotel is in a great location just a 5-10 minute walk from the station. The number 26 tram is one stop to the "Muzicbox" and stops across the road. A 24 hour ticket can be purchased from the conductor on the tram (in a little box near the back). Don't worry when you get on the tram as it does almost a complete circle, doubling back on itself. From the other reviews it seems that all rooms have a wonderful view down the IJ lake onto the town centre. The hotel is comfortable with all amenities. There are toiletries, hairdryer and iron/ironing board available in the room and a decent shower. There is also a fridge which you stock yourself (in my case I bought milk so that I could have unlimited amounts of tea!!) Husband bought beer in a supermarket. TV has quite a few English channels including BBC 1,2,3. It maybe of interest that there is access to a computer and printer in the business area at the top end of the reception. We used this to confirm our return KLM flights and print the boarding cards. The hotel is non smoking but has a smoking place to the side of reception in a garage type area. This has seats and a heater. I would recommend this hotel and would use it again. I booked this through lastminute on a room only basis, although we were offered a breakfast package for 17.50E (I think) on checking in. We were also allowed to check in early without any problem and used the courtesy bus to take us to the station on the day of departure - this has to be pre-booked. Ate in the restaurant on a set menu, which I felt was reasonably priced - came to about 88E for two which included a 5E each additional charge for steaks, and all drinks - a beer, wine and bottle of water. Also took advantage of the happy hour in the bar on Friday night. Staff there were friendly and efficient and supply you with free nibbles. Special mention to Florian, the barman who was very nice.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FMS3011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear FMS3011,
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your 5 day stay in Amsterdam. We are truly pleased to read we have been able to make your stay a memorable one, and you enjoyed our F&B facilities with special attention to our Bar colleague, Floris. Compliments have been shared with him already. We are indeed not far away from the City Centre, daily tram tickets can be purchased at our Concierge Desk or in the Souvenir shop as well.

Should you decide to visit Amsterdam again, please contact us personally.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,085 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,153
    2,158
    526
    166
    82
See reviews for
1,025
2,604
207
1,146
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (947)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

I originally stayed at this hotel in February 2012 with a group of friends celebrating a birthday. At that time I did not have an opportunity to review the hotel as we were out most of the time, on my second visit in February 2014 I made a point of making the most of the hotel amenities.

The Moevenpick Amsterdam is close to the City Centre is a one stop tram ride away from Central Station, or if you are feeling fit about a 10/15 min brisk walk from Central Station.

The hotel is clean, and the bedrooms are spacious and comfortable. This time I travelled with family and friends ranging from 9 - 79 everyone enjoyed the surroundings. What is particularly good is the Fitness and Well Being Centre. The Centre is well presented with a series of massage rooms/sauna/ice room and a relaxation room. Well worth a visit if you have the time.

The staff are courteous and made sure that my we had rooms with a good view. The meal choice is great and not too pricey. The breakfast has an array of choices.

All in all a great hotel and good value for money.

Room Tip: The higher the room floor the better the view....
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Melissa034,
Thank you for staying with us for the second time! We are happy to learn we were able to meet up to your expectations again and you appreciated the friendliness of our staff and our large comfortable rooms. Our Wellness is a good option to relax after exploring the city of Amsterdam!

We look forward welcoming you soon,
Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

We stayed here on a mini-break to Amsterdam. We arrived earlier than the normal check-in time,but had no trouble at all checking in there and then. The staff were all very polite and informative and answered any questions we asked,whether it was regarding the hotel itself,or general enquiries about Amsterdam. We were asked if we had a preference to which floor we wanted to stay on and all was done there and then with the greatest efficiency. The hotel is a kept very clean and the rooms are equipt with everything that you would need. The hotel also provides a free shuttle bus service,which is handy if you don't fancy the walk. This was my first trip to Amsterdam and certainly wont be my last,and I will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear John D,
It is very encouraging to hear your first trip to Amsterdam has been such a pleasant one.
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your mini break. We are more than assist you in anything to make your stay (more) comfortable.

We hope you will stay with us again on your next visit to Amsterdam.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

excellent room, with fantastic facilities and right in font of the tram stop (two minutes away from the city centre). there was also a bar, restaurant and shops. absolutely loved my stay here and would definatley come back again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robyn b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear robyn b,
It is a true pleasure to learn your stay has been so enjoyable with us. Your feedback has therefor been shared within our teams to keep the spirits high!

Anytime you decide to visit Amsterdam, please do stay with us again.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

I stayed for two nights whilst attending a conference and found this to be an excellent hotel. Staff were friendly, professional and very helpful. The food was plentiful in choice and excellent in quality. Room service was very promptly delivered and hot. I regret not bringing my gym kit as the fitness suite looks great.

My room (1020) had fabulous views over the river and city, was fabulously modern and yet very comfortable. The bed was very comfortable without being too soft and the bathroom very well supplied with a decent hair drier and assorted shampoo/soap/body lotion/shower gel.

That business travel staple, a decent iron and ironing board, we're present and clean/free from burned on deposits!

The aircon worked and was quiet, the TV had many English language channels including all the BBC channels, the tea and coffee facilities were great and the room had a mini fridge, although unstocked. On the floor below (9th) there is a vending machine which you can stock your fridge from.

The main railway station is about a the minute walk away and I would definitely recommend using the train from Schiphol airport and save yourself an exorbitant €62 can ride!

All in all I would highly recommend this hotel, but check out competitive rates via comparison sites and direct with the hotel before booking.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Smc-67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Smc-67,
Thank you for sharing your feedback and for choosing our hotel for your business purposes.
We are happy to have beenn able to assist you and you valued our overall facilities such as our Room Service, fabulous views and variety of TV Channels.

Anytime you decide to explore Amsterdam on a leisure (or business) trip, we look forward assisting you again.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

What a fabulous hotel! It is only a short walk from central station (10-15 mins) or catch the 26 tram from outside the station if you don`t like walking. The walk is very pleasant along the waterfront, with great views. Another great form of transport is the hop on hop off canal bus which you can use for a full 24 hours. It actually stops (red line) right outside the hotel and then continues to all the main sights around the City.
The hotel itself is superb and I cannot fault it. Our room was on the 17th floor with fabulous views across the City-we were mesmerised staring out of the window watching the boats on the water and the world go by. The room was just great. Large, very clean, stylishly furnished and with a huge shower and bathroom with under floor heating. We both slept like logs and were not disturbed by any noise.

The staff were also fantastic. We arrived very early and they checked us into our room without a problem. They stored our luggage on our last day and also allowed us to use the shuttle bus even though we had checked out. They made it very easy and relaxing for us. The concierge (Irish I think ) who drove the shuttle bus was great. friendly, efficient, and so informative about onward travel for every passenger on the shuttle bus.

I have no hesitation recommending this hotel to anyone and we will definitely be returning, hopefully later this year. Thank you for a perfect stay.

Room Tip: The higher the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenny b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear jenny b,
We are happy to read your stay with us met up to your expectations (and more!).
Thank you for your kind remarks regarding our general facilities and friendly staff.
Special attention has been given to our Concierge Paul for his outstanding service.

Your recommendation is much appreciated! Please stay with us again.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex/Suffolk border
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for three nights and initially were slightly disappointed that the hotel is by the harbour, a short walk away from the "old" town and the canals. We normally tend to go for "quaint" and this tall modern building was anything but. However, we were very impressed from the moment we arrived by the welcoming staff on reception.

Even better news was that the booking we had made involved an upgrade to an Executive Room. This was on the top (20th) floor and the view from the window when we walked in, of the city and the harbour at dusk, was simply stunning. We turned off the lights in the room and just stood there for several minutes looking out.

No doubt virtually the same view was available from many non-executive rooms on the floors below ours. However, what they wouldn't get was access to the Executive Lounge which is described in other reviews and was a real bonus. We don't really like watching TV in our bedroom and spent some time in the lounge watching the Winter Olympics on the set there. On returning from a day sight-seeing it was really nice to relax before dinner eating canapés and drinking wine, which was regularly topped up by the very attentive staff. Tea, coffee and soft drinks were always available as well. We also ate our breakfasts in there which was probably a bit more relaxed than the main dining area, although the food from the buffet was just the same for everyone.

We had dinner in the hotel every night and on day one went down to the Silk Bar, where the chef does a daily "special" with an inclusive drink, as well as the normal menu. On this occasion it was a stir fry and was really excellent. The second night was actually my wife's birthday and we decided to eat in the main Silk Road restaurant. We both ordered steaks and these were both delicious. The service there was excellent and very friendly. The restaurant manager came and chatted to us and, realising that my wife was celebrating her birthday, personally brought us a complimentary dessert to share (we had not mentioned the birthday beforehand so she missed out on the bar of chocolate referred to in other reviews, although this was not really needed as there was always a huge pile of Swiss chocolates in the lounge). The dessert was a very nice touch that certainly made the evening feel very special. Our only disappointment was on our last night when we returned to the Silk Bar on "burger night". Unfortunately we were a bit late arriving and the bar was really busy with delegates to a conference. It took quite a while to place our order and, having asked for them to be well done, our burgers arrived very pink indeed and had to be sent back. No quibbles and profuse apologies were forthcoming from the staff, but we were very late eating in the end.

The location of the hotel turned out not to be any problem at all as there is a free half-hourly hotel shuttle bus to and from the central station where all the other transport links are located. There is also a tram stop just across the road and one of the canal bus routes includes a stop for the Cruise Terminal which is next door to the hotel. Apparently the visiting cruise ships are an added sight for guests at the hotel during the summer.

Our first visit to Amsterdam was really enjoyable and this was largely due to the hotel and its excellent staff. We would strongly recommend it to anyone who likes the facilities of modern hotels but generally finds them a bit impersonal. Admittedly, it was not very "Dutch" but this was more than made up for by the Swiss chocolate and ice cream that Moevenpick do so well.

Room Tip: Rooms are no doubt all high quality but those on the upper floors will enjoy the best views of the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Swannery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Swannery,
Thank you very much for your detailed and extensive positive feedback. This is much appreciated and important for our entire team, as well as for our future guests.
We are truly pleased to read you enjoyed all benefits which include a Suite, and hope you and your wife enjoyed celebrating her birthday. A late congratulations again!

We defenitely hope to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Centrum
Room Mate Aitana
Room Mate Aitana
#30 of 368 in Amsterdam
3,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#27 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,416 reviews
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#26 of 368 in Amsterdam
3,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Property: Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Address: Piet Heinkade 11, 1019 BR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#21 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#40 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center. With a prime location in the city of Amsterdam, this elegant hotel is the ideal venue for your executive travel, meeting and conferences or private ventures in matters of art and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Amsterdam
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing