We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre
Ranked #51 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Moevenpick is an excellent hotel for the car turists. P&R (EUR8 per day) is only few tram stations from the hotel. The hotel is located 5 minutes walk from the central station. The rooms have the beautiful view over the river and the town. Delicious breakfast. We booked in advance reasonably cheap for 4 start city hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SergeyKuznetsovMos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear SergeyKuznetsovMos,
We are pleased to read you took an advantage early booking and decided to stay with us.
Your kind words regarding our beautiful rooms (with views!) and delicious breakfast are much appreciated.
Should you decide to visit Amsterdam again, please stay with us.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,349)
There are newer reviews for Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,136 - 3,142 of 6,349 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2014

We could reach the Amsterdam Central by 10-minutes walk which from where you can go anywhere around Amsterdam ... nice room, nice food (especially the breakfast where the coffee shop arrangement is very nice) ....cozy place to stay and on top of that the staff hospitality is great! ....lots of help and assistance from Remko ... The concierge ....thank you.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rusdiawan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear Rusdiawan,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are truly pleased to read your stay has been so enjoyable and you appreciated the service and kindness of our Concierge Remko. Compliments have been passed on to him already.

We look forward welcoming you soon in our hotel.
Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

A well positioned hotel just a tram stop away from the Central Station, so excellent for all tourist sites, sports grounds, etc. In a quiet riverside location so away from the noise of the city. The staff are excellent and very welcoming. Great restaurant, breakfast room and bar - with reasonable prices for the quality food and drinks. Room was spotless and comfortable. One complaint would be that the lifts are (presumably for security) operated by the client room card, but these seem to over ride the call buttons on the floors, causing frustrating delays in waiting for a lift. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RWB2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear RWB2012,
We are happy to read you had such a pleasant stay in our hotel, indeed located just outside the busy city centre on the banks of the river "IJ". We have passed your compliments to our staff for encouragement already. Our apologies for the inconvenience of the elevators. The keycards are indeed used for security reasons. Our four elevators are operated by a computer system. We will have this further investigated.
We will be more than pleased to welcome you again next time you visit Amsterdam.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We stayed for one night; the room was very comfortable, clean and quit. Very friendly reception. The breakfast was outstanding!! We did sleep at the 17th floor and had a wonderfull view over Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvan188671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear Yvan 188671,
Thank you for sharing your positive feedback with us. We are pleased to read your stay has been enjoyable and you valued our comfortable and clean room, friendly staff and good breakfast.

Please visit us again on your next stay to Amsterdam.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Nice hotel with large and comfortable room and ours had a good view of the water. We arrived very early a.m., but could not check in early due to the hotel being fully booked the night before (this is a hotel that serves many precruise clients).

Easy walking distance to city or if you don't want to walk, there is a train station across the road that is one stop to city center. Nice breakfast as well.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Dear Mary S,
Thank you very much for sharing your feedback with us regarding your stay.
We took note of your early arrival. You may be interested to know, we will always do our utmost to give our early arriving guests a room when available. This depends on our room availability, and occupancy. The only way to guarantee an early arrival is to prebook te night before.
Besides this we are pleased to read you valued our large and comfortable rooms, as well as our good views over the river "IJ".

We look forward welcoming you again.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

My wife treated me to 4 days in Amsterdam as a suprise christmas present, including 3 nights at the Movenpick hotel. As apparently normally the breakfast is 25 Euro's each, we paid 70 Euro's per night to get it included, plus we were on the 20th floor, which meant wonderful views of Amsterdam, various bits and bobs in the room (minibar and coffee machine) and Prosecco and nibbles in the evening. We went and had these every night, as they were very tasty, and almost negated the need for an evening meal!

I also used the Sauna in the health suite, which was very nice.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Dear James B,
We are pleased to read your Christmas surprise present brought you to our hotel.
Thank you for chosing us and for sharing your experience with us and our future travellers.
It is good to hear you took advantage of all the benefits which are included when booking an Executive Suite.

Should you decide to visit Amsterdam again, we are happy to assist you.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Great hotel, well located a short walk or tram ride from the main train station terminal.

Ideal base for exploring Amsterdam, clean room, friendly staff and reasonably priced room service

Would definitely book again.

Thanks

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank letsdothis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Dear stevo8626,
Thank you so much for sharing your positive review with us. Your kind words regarding our great hotel, easy to reach location and friendly staff are very encouraging to read.
Your opinion is very helpful for our future guests as well!

We hope you will stay with us again in a near future.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#145 of 371 in Amsterdam
5,116 reviews
Centrum
Room Mate Aitana
Room Mate Aitana
#31 of 371 in Amsterdam
3,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Hilton Amsterdam
#40 of 371 in Amsterdam
2,933 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 371 in Amsterdam
2,608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre

Address: Piet Heinkade 11, 1019 BR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#21 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#36 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#40 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $152 - $553 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Mövenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre. With a prime location in the city of Amsterdam, this elegant hotel is the ideal venue for your executive travel, meeting and conferences or private ventures in matters of art and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Amsterdam
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing