We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Botel Zebra(Amsterdam)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Mauro Mansion(Amsterdam)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (6,763)
Filter reviews
6,763 results
Traveler rating
3,504
2,365
599
195
100
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,504
2,365
599
195
100
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmovenpick hotelcentral stationcruise terminalfree shuttlecity centregreat hotelshuttle servicetram stophotel shuttleminute walkexecutive roommodern hotelbreakfast buffetmini bardam squareconciergeviking
Filter
Updating list...
3,500 - 3,505 of 6,763 reviews
Reviewed November 1, 2013

This is a new hotel, so really nicely decorated and the rooms are super clean. You have a great view over the water. The service was exceptionally good. The staff were relatively young, so I thought they might have some interns there but they all were really good. Unfortunately, I forgot the name of the guy who checked me in, I really wanted to thank him on tripadvisor because he was not only efficient but also kind and knew how much he should ask about what I like etc without wasting time. I finished the check-in within a few minutes and he got the right room for me even though it was my first stay with Movenpick (so they had no information about me/my preferences etc)

The cons are two: As some other guests indicated, the internet is a problem. I don't understand why they set up their internet in a way that you have to go through the process every 4 hours. We stay there for like 12 hours a day, so why not make it 12 hours? it is just too much trouble to go through that process...

The second is location. Although the hotel has a nice view, it is not in the city center, it is on the other side of the railroad. So you have to take a bus, cab or walk 15min, but the neighborhood didn't look nice...

Room Tip: check the location AGAIN before booking!
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank classJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Dear classJ,
Thank you very much for leaving your extensive and positive feedback with us.
We are happy to learn you valued our modern hotel, clean and beautiful and clean rooms, located just outside the busy city centre on the banks of the river "IJ" (nice views!).
Thank you for your encouraging words regarding the service you received upon check in. Your feedback has been shared within our teams for encouragement.
We are sorry for the mentioned internet inconveniences, we are working on a more user friendly procedure for our guests.

Please stay with us again next time you visit Amsterdam.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Great hotel with super comfy beds and great location. Although it is not in the city centre, it is only a tram stop away from amsterdam central and very easily reachable. Breakfast was expensive and beds are two single beds. Wonder why they do not provide a queen or king sized bedding. The only thing that i do not like about this hotel is the limited wifi access for guest. They should have provided free unlimited wifi access to the guests instead of limiting it to four hours per day.

Overall, good experience with this hotel and I will stay again if next time i'm coming to amsterdam.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahtan85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Dear sarahtan85,
We thank you for your feedback with regards to your recent stay with us.
Your friendly words regarding our hotel and our quiet location, just outside the city center, are much appreciated. Concerning the breakfast; good offers including breakfast many times can be found on our own website, or via the Travel Agencies online. In our hotel we also have king or twin beds available upon request. Next time you stay with us, we are happy to give you the bed of your liking.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Stayed for a long weekend (concert at Ziggo Dome) with my lovely wife.

Arrived at around 09.00 having been travelling since 4.00am, hoping for an early check-in but unfortunately not available. Told that guaranteed check-in would be 3.00pm. No problem. Went for a walk and got back for just after 1.00pm, needing a snooze..... Still no room.

Waited in the lounge and at 2.58 we got our room! This was the only disappointment.

Difficult to believe that the room only became available at this time in such a big hotel.

Breakfasts really, really expensive. They looked good but much, much better value in town (Broodje Bert, Singel). Anyway, gripes over.

Room was good, very clean with great views. Quiet aircon, smart bathroom, comfy bed.

Hotel operates a shuttle every 30 minutes to Centraal station. Have to book as it gets popular. There's a tram stop over the road - worth considering a GVB OV Kart - 7E for 24h travel on trams / Metro and buses.

Staff - particularly the two concierge chaps (Christopher and ?) - are so friendly and helpful - a real credit to the business. Great english speakers too.

Final gripe - nearly forgot:

Checking in - one check-in desk with one person and quite a queue of guests. A barriered section was allocated to departing guests with 3 staff...... with nobody waiting to check out!

Asked if we could check-in there but not allowed. Why? No-one waiting to check-out. This was quite infuriating.

Summary - very good but could so easily be an awful lot better.

Room Tip: Go high for great views
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Dear tickingaway,
Thank you very much for sharing your extensive feedback with us, we hope your concert at the Ziggo Dome has been enjoyable. We are pleased to read you appreciated most of our facilities and in particular the service of our Concierge staff. Compliments have been passed on to them already. I read your comment with regards to having an early check in. We do our utmost to give our guests an early check in, when availability allows. During the weekends we are often fully booked and therefor it is not always possible to have an early check in. The alternative for having a secured early check in is to reserve the night prior to the early arrival.
Please be assured your mentioned points regarding the waiting queue have aour attention and will have a follow up within our teams.

Anytime you visit Amsterdam, we hope you will stay with us again.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We have been going to Amsterdam for many years now and had become fed up with twee, quaint, unusual hotels with stairs that resembled ladders and rooms where we had to dodge around furniture and spend ages looking for a switch to turn on/off a particular lamp. We decided, this time, to go for a modern hotel with decent space and comfort and where we weren't woken up by the sound of church bells.

We got a good deal with the Mövenpick. The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. The views from the upper floors on the "city-side" were excellent. We were given a comfortable and quiet room with great beds. We enjoyed the food in the restaurant for dinner on the first evening, but didn't feel like paying over €20pp for breakfast during our stay, so we cannot comment on it. It was great to have tea & coffee-making facilities in the room and the Wi-Fi worked perfectly everywhere in the hotel.

The hotel is just a little bit far from the city-centre to walk every day. However it is only 5mins and one tram stop away. Also, one can avail of the free shuttle to the train station. Just check with the concierge for times and book a seat. The cleaning service was not 100% up to standard. The bed was thrown together on the first morning and teas & coffees were not replaced. When we asked reception to replace them, they had obliged when we got back from our day's visit. We will certainly return.

Room Tip: Upper floors on the city side have the best views.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rory O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Dear Rory O,
Thank you very much for leaving your extensive feedback with us regarding your stay.
We are pleased to read you choose our hotel for your stay in Amsterdam, as you indicate not located in the busy city centre but just outside, located on the banks of the river "IJ" (beautiful views!). Thank you for your overall positive comments regarding our comfortable and quiet rooms, and the food in our Restaurant. On the other side, our sincere apologies for the cleanliness of your room. Please be assured this has our attention and will be further investigated.

We look forward welcoming you again in our hotel.
Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

A great view overlooking the harbour, seeing everything from huge cruise ships to water taxis come in and out.
It was a good location near the train and tram terminal too, which meant it was quiet at night, great for sleeping! A ten minute walk to central station, 15 minutes to the centre of Amsterdam or a free shuttle from the hotel to the station.
The hotel is modern, well appointed and comfortable. Staff were friendly and approachable and multi-lingual so enormously helpful.
Enjoyed our stay and the excellent train service in and around Amsterdam which allowed us to set our own itinerary for sightseeing.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RuthT00TH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Dear RuthTOOTH,
Thank you for sharing your (more than!) positive feedback with us, this is much appreciated.
We are happy to read your stay met up to your expectations and you valued the great views, quiet location providing for a good night sleep and our overall facilities.
Your remarks regarding our friendly and multi lingual staff are very encouraging, compliments have been shared within our teams already.

Anytime you decide to visit Amsterdam, please stay with us again.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews