We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Botel Zebra(Amsterdam)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Mauro Mansion(Amsterdam)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (6,736)
Filter reviews
6,736 results
Traveler rating
3,500
2,350
594
195
97
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,500
2,350
594
195
97
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmovenpick hotelcentral stationcruise terminalfree shuttlecity centregreat hotelshuttle servicetram stophotel shuttleminute walkexecutive roommodern hotelbreakfast buffetmini bardam squareconciergeviking
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3,498 - 3,503 of 6,736 reviews
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Excellent hotel. Shuttle bus from Central station to hotel worked very well. Had a room on 20th floor with amazing views. Breakfast was excellent and the room was a great size with excellent shower. Tram stop very close to hotel and with a tram pass this was a great idea.
Sadly no obvious means of recycling paper or plastic bottles. Smokers tend to congregate round front door which was unpleasant.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank GeM1403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Dear GeM1403,
Thank you for your positive feedback with regards to your stay in our hotel. We are happy to read you enjoyed our overall facilities, such as our etensive breakfast buffet and the spacious rooms (with beautiful views!).
We pay a lot of attention on the Green Globe (please visit our website), therefor behind the scenes we seperate al our waste. We apologize for your mentioned inconvenience regarding the smoking people at the front door.

Please stay with us again next time you visit Amsterdam.
Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Great location, just 10minutes walk from the station and the town centre. Hotel acknowledged our wedding anniversary which was really nice, as we had come from Paris where my husband had celebrated his 40th and the hotel in Paris did not acknowledge it. Friendly staff, nice big rooms. If you can eat at the hotel as the food was to die for. Overall if I went back to Amsterdam I would stay at this hotel.
The only thing missing was a swimming pool and the sauna was meant to be unisex and a man decided to go in naked. Other than this, I would recommend staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Dear Susan R,
We are happy to read you had such a pleasant stay with us, indeed located just outside the busy city centre but well connected by all means of transport. A late congratulations again, we are pleased to read this has been recognised and appreciated by our staff.
Your overall compliments have been shared within our teams for encouragement.
We noted your comment regarding a guest walking in naked into the sauna; our apologies for this inconvenience.

If you visit Amsterdam again, we hope you will stay with us again!
Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We arrived in Amsterdam after a few days in Paris for a couple nights stay before catching our Rhine River cruise. The Movenpick Hotel is a short walk from the train depot and is only a few minutes from where the cruise ships dock. It was very convenient for us to walk our bags over to the ship when we were ready to board. The hotel is also conveniently located near the tram line. Our stay at the Movenpick was excellent. We were warmly greeted by the staff who were very helpful in providing us with directions and details for us to get around Amsterdam. We were given the option of upgrading our room to an Executive Suite and when we realized what it included, it was worth doing for the breakfast buffet, internet service and use of the Executive lounge. Our room had an excellent view of the harbour and was quiet and comfortable. We ended up having dinner in the lounge while we were there. The food and service was excellent. We would gladly stay there again on our next visit to Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher levels are quieter.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank TimandCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Dear TimandCarol,
Thank you for your positive feedback with regards to your stay in our hotel. We are happy to read you enjoyed staying at our Executive floor and took advantage of all the benefits this upgrade includes. Hopefully your River Cruise afterwards has been pleasant.
Your overall compliments have been shared within our teams already for encouragement.
Please feel free to stay with us again next time you travel to Amsterdam.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

The Moevenpick is a lovely, modern hotel in an excellent location. It's about a 10 minute walk to the action in downtown Amsterdam. The lobby is very nice and we were warmly welcomed upon arrival. Check-in was smooth. Our room was very nice and spacious. The bathroom was gorgeous and very modern. The TV had a good selection of channels. We spent 4 nights there. The beds were very comfy with a nice duvet but the pillows were really bad. I used the gym daily and it was pretty well equipped for a hotel gym. We didn't use any of the restaurant or bar facilities so I can't comment on that. I would highly recommend the Moevenpick. I was fortunate to get a good deal on the room at approx $150 Cdn/night, it was very good value for a very nice hotel.

Room Tip: Our room looked to the east, we had a great water view and saw the sunrise on occasion. It was nice and quiet.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank HonoluluHank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Dear HonoluluHank,
We are happy to read you had such a pleasant stay in our hotel, indeed located just outside the busy city center on the banks of the river "IJ". Thank you for your kind words regarding our staff, we appreciate learning you felt welcome in our hotel. We are sorry to hear about the pillows not being of your liking. Should you decide to stay with us again, please inform our staff immediately. We have different types of pillows in our hotel.

Please stay with us again next time you travel to Amsterdam.
Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Booking this hotel could be the best decision you make for your stay in Amsterdam.

Service is incredible, great bar, great staff, great breakfast.

Tram service right outside the door is excellent.

The hotel offers a shuttle bus service every 30 minutes to and from the train station

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor facing the city, nothing like getting up in the morning opening the curtains and looking down the river as you prepare to start your day.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antooc2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Dear Antooc2013,
We are happy to read your fantastic review, this is very encouraging for us!
In our hotel we put a lot of emphasis on the quality of our products and services, and I am very happy that this pays off.

Should you decide to visit Amsterdam again, we hope you will stay with us again.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews