We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location that's quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Ranked #49 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Central Coast NSW Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Central location that's quiet”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I stayed here on a tour group. Rooms nice, comfy and quiet. Buffet breaky amazing with a huge selection, the chef makes the best omelette for u in the dining room. Within walking distance to the hub of the city

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane_70_05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Jane_70_05,
We are happy to read you and your group had a pleasant stay with us, and you appreciated our rooms, facilities and quietness. Thank you for your positive comments regarding our breakfast cook, compliments have been shared with him already!
We look forward welcoming you again in the future,

Kind regards,

Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,192
    2,184
    531
    169
    83
See reviews for
1,046
2,634
209
1,157
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (955)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We arrived at the movenpick in Amsterdam for a 3 night break. We purchased through groupon and got a relatively cheap rate. If we had paid any more than what we did then I doubt we would have been impressed. We upgraded to an executive room for 65 EUR per night. This included breakfast, access to the executive lounge and complimentary mini bar. Wasn't really worth it except at breakfast time! It was carnage around the restaurant / buffet and the executive lounge offered a little space and relaxation! The breakfast buffet was average really, again nothing special. Access to the executive lounge gave you access to a mini bar and coffee machine, with alcohol (beers or wine) between 5-7pm. The staff were all very friendly!Would go back to the hotel - but only if it was on a cheap rate again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Richard H,
Thank you for your feedback with regard to your stay in our hotel. Thank you for your compliments regarding our staff, they are much appreciated.
We hope you have spent a nice couple of days in Amsterdam and will be pleased to welcome you again next time you travel to Holland.

Kind regards,

Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

The hotel is a bright modern building right next to the cruise port terminal building. The location is gorgeous, the huge cruise ships dock right next to it. The rooms are big and airy with all the basic amenities in it. The beds are comfortable and the bathroom is well stocked with Bogner toiletries.
The free wifi is a boon. Its fast and very useful to tourists like us. The free drop and pick from the hotel to the central station is an added bonus too with the shuttle going up and down every half an hour. The shuttle dropped us on the back side of the central station and picked us from the same spot. Very efficient and convinient.
The breakfast buffet is big and varied. Lots to eat and start the day with in this beautiful city. We had to board the cruise from next door the following day and we think the location couldnt have been better. We just rolled our bags into the next building! Loved it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nms01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear nms01,
Thank you for your overall positive feedback with regards to your stay in our hotel.
These comments help us to maintain the level of service we aim to provide to our valued guests. We are happy you appreciated our location, just outside the busy city centre but well connected by different means of transport and our own shuttlebus.
The varied and extensive breakfast buffet we offer might be a good day to start your day!

Anytime your travelplans bring you back to Amsterdam, we look forward having you to stay with us again.

Kind regards,

Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

An excellent room with view of city. Quiet, clean and well appointed. Staff quite distantand off hand but efficient. Breakfast as expected, bacon, eggs, sausages, tomatoes mushrooms, Danish Pastries, fruit, bread rolls, yoghurt, cereals. Tea, coffee, hot chocolate. Good choice and plenty offered. As I was with a tour I have no idea if it was value for money and we had only one night in Amsterdam. Good location very central

Room Tip: My room was on the street but very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Glenys I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Glenys I,
We are pleased to read you enjoyed the wonderful view from your room and the quality of our facilties and breakfast buffet. If you decide to come back to Amsterdam in the future, please stay with us again.

Kind regards,

Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

I arrived in Amsterdam with double pneumonia, and stayed for 2 days of rain. We were with Viking River Cruise Line and they booked this hotel. Upon arrival the desk staff was snippy and I was sick and very tired from the flights and being left at the airport for 3 hours, instead of being picked up as we should have been (Viking's fault). They wanted to charge us 65 Euros EXTRA to get a bed (9:30am) right away but we'd already paid $500.00 each to Viking for our stay in Amsterdam (which included hotel and walking tour but it was too rainy for that--not their fault but an expensive stay). When we got our regular room at 1pm we crashed until 5pm and woke hungry. With the rain, going out wasn't an option so we ate in the bar (which was pretty quiet) and the wonderful staff there (and their recommendations) brought smiles to our faces. In fact all the staff other than the front desk was great! It is next to the music hall and walking distance to the Viking boats so it was a good location as well.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank satorigal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear satorigal,

Thank you for your feedback with regards to your stay in our hotel. We are sorry to read that you were sometimes disappointed by our staff and service and apologize for any inconvenience you might have experienced. I hope you have recovered in the meantime from your pneumonia.
This kind of feedback helps us re-examine some internal processes and procedures so that we can continue to strive to improve the quality of our service and operations.
Regarding the extra payment for an Executive Suite, we offer these upgrades when the original booked room is not yet ready upon a guest's early arrival.
I am happy to read our bar staff put a nice smile on your face!

We hope to welcome you again in a near future.

Kind regards,

Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

My cousin and I did an Europe tour and Amsterdam was our last destination. We stayed at Moevenpick for 2nights, and we loved the fact that it is at a great location, reasonable price, a walking distance to canal cruise, royal palace, central station and nightlife. I will definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bella_Donna_dc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Bella_Donna_dc,

We thank you for your positive review and are happy that you enjoyed our hotel and your stay.
Please inform us when you make new travel plans. We will be happy to see you again.

Kind regards,

Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trumbull, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for three nights before our cruise departed out of Amsterdam. While some people would argue it is not in the middle of Amsterdam, we absolutely LOVED the location. It was a very easy walk to the center of the city (train station), and it was absolutely PERFECT for a location before our cruise. The hotel is practically connected to the cruise terminal, so all we had to do was awake in the morning and walk our luggage 50 feet (no exaggeration) to the cruise terminal. As a matter of fact, we did not even have to go utside to do this - there was a walkway from the hotel to the luggage drop-off location at the terminal.

I would HIGHLY RECOMMEND this hotel for anyone who is taking a cruise out of Amsterdam. If you are simply visiting the city, the convenience of the location may not be as a rewarding for you.

Finally, our view was tremendous. We were overlooking both the water and the city! We awoke on the morning of our cruise to look out our window and see out ship waiting for us.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anthony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Anthony G,

We were pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we met your expectations (and more!). The hotel is indeed an excellent starting point when travelling by cruise, or simply to enjoy the quietness and beautiful views our hotel has to offer.
If you decide to rediscover Amsterdam in the future, we look forward to welcome you again.

Kind regards,

Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Centrum
Room Mate Aitana
Room Mate Aitana
#29 of 367 in Amsterdam
3,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#101 of 367 in Amsterdam
66 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Property: Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Address: Piet Heinkade 11, 1019 BR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#21 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#40 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center. With a prime location in the city of Amsterdam, this elegant hotel is the ideal venue for your executive travel, meeting and conferences or private ventures in matters of art and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Amsterdam
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing