We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I like it -”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre
Ranked #55 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed July 10, 2013

My cousin and I did an Europe tour and Amsterdam was our last destination. We stayed at Moevenpick for 2nights, and we loved the fact that it is at a great location, reasonable price, a walking distance to canal cruise, royal palace, central station and nightlife. I will definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bella_Donna_dc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Dear Bella_Donna_dc,

We thank you for your positive review and are happy that you enjoyed our hotel and your stay.
Please inform us when you make new travel plans. We will be happy to see you again.

Kind regards,

Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,660)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,584 - 3,590 of 6,661 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for three nights before our cruise departed out of Amsterdam. While some people would argue it is not in the middle of Amsterdam, we absolutely LOVED the location. It was a very easy walk to the center of the city (train station), and it was absolutely PERFECT for a location before our cruise. The hotel is practically connected to the cruise terminal, so all we had to do was awake in the morning and walk our luggage 50 feet (no exaggeration) to the cruise terminal. As a matter of fact, we did not even have to go utside to do this - there was a walkway from the hotel to the luggage drop-off location at the terminal.

I would HIGHLY RECOMMEND this hotel for anyone who is taking a cruise out of Amsterdam. If you are simply visiting the city, the convenience of the location may not be as a rewarding for you.

Finally, our view was tremendous. We were overlooking both the water and the city! We awoke on the morning of our cruise to look out our window and see out ship waiting for us.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anthony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Dear Anthony G,

We were pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we met your expectations (and more!). The hotel is indeed an excellent starting point when travelling by cruise, or simply to enjoy the quietness and beautiful views our hotel has to offer.
If you decide to rediscover Amsterdam in the future, we look forward to welcome you again.

Kind regards,

Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

I had a forced overnight in Amsterdam following a tour of the Ukraine and stayed at the Moevenpick Hotel in Amsterdam. There are not enough nice things to say about it. My room was lovely and spacious, the bathroom was large and modern, and the view was spectacular. I was on the 15th floor and had a panoramic view of the water and the city. The staff spoke excellent English, most without an accent, and they were all very polite and gracious.

I was dead tired having gotten up at 3am, and i hadn't gotten to the hotel until about 1:45pm, so I decided to have a shower and rest, but I learned there was a free shuttle from the hotel to the main train station right near Dam Square.

in the morning there was a buffet breakfast which was included in the price of the hotel. What a spread; the food was fresh and delicious, the coffee was great and the selection was unbelievable. I was too tired to work out but there were facilities. However, I do not know if there was a pool and spa.

I'd return here.in a heartbeat if I travel to Amsterdam again.

Room Tip: Ask if they can give you a room on an upper floor with a great view at no extra charge. I did and w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank harplute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Dear harplute,

Thank you for taking the time and share your positive feedback with us. We are happy to read you were pleasantly and unexpectedly surprised regarding your stay.
If you decide come to Holland again, please visit us again.

Kind regards,

Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Just stayed here for a weekend as a couple. we found the location great for the Central Railway Station, 10 minutes walk or there's a shuttle bus when your feet are tired.
Rooms are light and airy and immaculately clean. Staff friendly and helpful.
Only minus points for us were it is slightly out of the way from the city attractions- you need a tramcar pass to get about (But this is compensated for by the open aspect and the views, which you don't get with a more central location), and the lifts seem to have a mind of their own! that was OK for us as we were on holiday, but for a business trip it might irritate a little.
But I am really nit-picking. If you want a modern clean hotel in Amsterdam near to the train station, and with a car park right in front, then you cant go wrong with the Movenpick.

Room Tip: As for a high level room with river view, most rooms have this but it doesn't hurt to be sure!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TopFrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Dear TopFrog,

Thank you for sharing your positive feedback with us. We are pleased to read you enjoyed our facilities and the friendliness of our staff. Indeed, we are located just outside the city center on the banks of the river "IJ", easily accessible with our free shuttle bus from central Station.
(advance reservation requiered).
We look forward welcoming you again,

Kind regards,

Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

This hotel wasn't originally what we were thinking when we booked our city break; we wanted something small and unique, we were too late in planning though. This hotel is great though, it does exactly what it says on the label with exceptional staff. We upgraded to an executive room, which gave us free mini bar - beer and water. The free breakfast buffet was super and choice was varied and fresh. Rooms were clean, modern.

Keep in mind it has a business conference feel so low on charm. Location is one stop along tram 26 or 5 minute walk to central station which was ok but we were out every night until early hours so had to take a taxi which was a rip off.

Room Tip: Spend the extra ££ and upgrade your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tanya O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Dear Tanya O,

We appreciate your positive comments regarding your recent stay with us. We are indeed located just outside the city centre, offering a relaxed and peaceful stay with beautiful views.

This kind of feedback is much appreciated, we are happy you enjoyed the service of our staff as well as the overall facilities the hotel has to offer.

If your travel plans bring you back to Amsterdam, please visit us again.

With kind regards,

Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We were booked into the Moevenpick as an extension of our Viking River Cruise. Although a 5 minute walk to the Central train Station and 10 minutes to center city, Amsterdam is a great city for walking. Our room was lovely, modern, spotless and bright. We had a great view of the city and the port- an Aria cruise ship was docked alongside. Service was excellent. We had terrific breakfasts, and an excellent dinner at the restaurant. The bar/lounge was ver comfortable with excellent drinks.
I would stay there again anytime.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Dear Billy C,

We hope you had a pleasant boat tour with Viking Cruises and are happy you stayed in our hotel. Thank you for your (more than) positive feedback with regards to our location, beautiful views, our breakfast buffet, restaurant and good service.

Anytime your travel plans bring you to Holland, please visit us again.

Kind regards,

Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Checked in for 3 days with a child had asked for a room on one of the higher floors and were given a room on floor 12 with a Fantastic View, Spotlessly clean room with lots of extra pillows and other lovely touches. Georgeous place with a 10 min walk to city centre, friendly helpful staff and as the riverboats are nearby the River scenery keeps changing will only every stay here again when in Amsterdamn.

Room Tip: With Kids high floor away from lifts for a decent nights sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Celt21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear Celt21,

Thank you for your positive feedback with regards to your stay in our hotel. We are happy to read you enjoyed the beautiful views of our hotel and apprecaited the spotless clean room and extra attention.
Next time you tarvel to Amsterdam, we hope to welcome you again in our hotel.

Kind regards,
Daniël Kaan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Centrum
Room Mate Aitana
Room Mate Aitana
#34 of 375 in Amsterdam
3,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Amsterdam
#41 of 375 in Amsterdam
3,087 reviews
XO Hotels Couture
#44 of 375 in Amsterdam
2,004 reviews
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#62 of 375 in Amsterdam
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre

Address: Piet Heinkade 11, 1019 BR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#21 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#38 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $171 - $471 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Mövenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre. With a prime location in the city of Amsterdam, this elegant hotel is the ideal venue for your executive travel, meeting and conferences or private ventures in matters of art and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Amsterdam
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing