We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre
Ranked #52 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Very nice appearing, comfortable, convenient to downtown, close to Centraal Station, wonderful and helpful staff. Quite good food in their restaurant. Room very quiet, never knew anyone else was at the hotel. Wonderful views from the higher rooms. Unfortunately, the bed mattress was very deformed where bodies laid (slept well though), shower water temperature close to impossible to adjust (continuously varied every few seconds between slightly too hot and too cold, probably on purpose, but just try to adjust the temperature!), no room temperature control (we had unusually warm days and it was always too warm in the room).

Room Tip: Higher rooms have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Dear Keith S,

We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and appreciated the friendliness of our staff and the restaurant.

We have duly noted your remarks about the room and these will be taken into consideration during our next evaluation.

Please visit us again next time you travel to Amsterdam.

With kind regards,

Daniel Kaan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,577)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,615 - 3,621 of 6,578 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2013

Stayed four nights, all fine. The hotel is new and well designed. It's about 20 minutes walk from central Amsterdam, but a free courtesy bus is available and I used the tram, which is across the road and frequent/cheap with a book of tickets. My room had good views across the city. The room itself was clean, nice and had free wifi. Service was appropriate. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AdventureExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Dear AdventureExplorer,

Thank you for your appreciative remarks with regard to your stay in our hotel. We hope you have spent a nice couple of days in Amsterdam and will be pleased to welcome you again next time you travel to Holland.

With kind regards,

Daniel Kaan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We booked a short stay at the Moevenpick Hotel and sorted a very good deal, benefiting from the executive lounge service. Service was welcoming, efficient and certainly not impersonnel as one might expect from a very large business orientated hotel. Food was good and not overly expensive compared to local restaurants. Rooms were comfortable and very well serviced with great views from the top. They even found our lost items! Short Tram ride is needed to get to town but not a problem (get tickets from the in house shop) - you can walk!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We took a 3 day midweek break with our 11 month old daughter and opted for the Moevenpick. It is a great hotel no more than 10 to 15 minutes walk from Centraal Station alongside the harbour. There is a shuttle service from the station to the hotel which operates every 30 minutes until 7.30 pm which is very convenient, especially if you have large suitcases. The hotel staff were extremely welcoming and courteous on arrival and could not have been more helpful. We had a lovely spacious and modern room which was spotlessly clean and tidy and refreshed every day. The breakfast buffet was excellent, a huge choice with every taste catered for. There is also a tram stop across the road from the hotel that can take you to the Station and on to wherever you want to go. This hotel is a little out of the way but, make no mistake, it really is excellent. I could not fault it in any way.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room on booking so that our little girl could get her sleep but needn't hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Sarah324935
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

This was a nice hotel and they offered shuttle service to Central Station but it seemed that we were never on the right schedule to us the shuttle so we walked a lot. (Shoes with thick soles are a must on the cobble stones.) The breakfast buffet was OK. The hot items were warm - not hot!

Room Tip: We had a room quite high and the view would have been nice had it not been cloudy and foggy most of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank letsstay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Dear letsstay,

Thank you for your feedback with regard to your stay in our hotel. Your comments will help us to improve the quality of service we aim to provide to our valued guests.

As an alternative to the shuttle, we are connected with the city centre by public transport (one tramstop).

We hope you have spent a nice couple of days enjoyed the many sights of Amsterdam and will be happy to welcome you again next time you travel to Holland.

With kind regards,

Daniel Kaan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Read rave reviews of this hotel on T.A. before we went to Amsterdam; our experience was different. We stayed 3 nights.
Pluses: the view from our room was beautiful, overlooking the harbor where all the cruise ships were docked, and good view of the city at night and a beautiful sunset. Comfortable bed. Very good breakfast buffet.
Minuses: a) 10-15 minute walk from the actual city "center," over a strip of road that was fairly empty at night. b) There was no gel in the shower soap/shampoo dispenser, so the 1st morning, we told someone at the front desk. Got back that afternoon and there still wasn't any (the room had already been made up); found a group of official-looking people heading into a room down the hall & told them, & a few minutes later, a housekeeper came in and replaced it. c) The wi-fi service was spotty, virtually unusable. d) 2nd night, only 1 washcloth in the bathroom; also there was a bit of mold in the corner of the shower. e) The bathtub was high up. There's such a big drop to the floor that didn't seem to be so much of a problem getting IN, but climbing OUT was downright dangerous!

Room Tip: Nice view on the 9th floor facing the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karwalkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Dear Karwalkers,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with regard to your stay in our hotel.

We do apologize for any inconvenience you might have experienced. We have duly noted your comments and will take these into consideration during our next evaluations. Your remarks will help us to improve the service we aim to provide to our valued guests.

We hope you have had a good time enjoying the city of Amsterdam and will be pleased to welcome you again next time you travel to Holland.

With kind regards,

Daniel Kaan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Centrum
Room Mate Aitana
Room Mate Aitana
#33 of 373 in Amsterdam
3,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Amsterdam
#42 of 373 in Amsterdam
3,039 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#145 of 373 in Amsterdam
5,279 reviews
XO Hotels Couture
#43 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre

Address: Piet Heinkade 11, 1019 BR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#21 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#37 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $167 - $448 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Mövenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre. With a prime location in the city of Amsterdam, this elegant hotel is the ideal venue for your executive travel, meeting and conferences or private ventures in matters of art and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Amsterdam
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing