We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Ranked #49 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights. We asked about an upgrade to an Executive Room and paid an extra 65 Euros per night BUT we received a double upgrade to a Junior Suite which was just gorgeous.
This hotel is very well run, with excellent staff in all areas. The breakfast is as good as you could possibly wish to find anywhere and the restaurant dinner achieved a very high standard. It's a ten minute walk to the Central station, although a hotel bus is available - or a tram. Public transport in Holland is very good - worth buying a 24hour on/off tram ticket. Really enjoyed Amsterdam and for an excellent pub go to the cozy, authentic, Gollem bar, Raamsteeg 4,

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank waveslider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,078 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,147
    2,157
    526
    166
    82
See reviews for
1,023
2,600
207
1,145
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (946)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in March 2013, The staff are very friendley at check in and concierge were very helpful. The hotel runs a free shuttle to and from Central station every 30 mins so it was nice and easy getting to the hotel. The rooms were very well furnished and the bathroom even had heated floors! The only downside about the room was it seemed to either a tad too hot or too cold not sure what was going on with climate control system. The hotel has good access into Central and the dam via tram 26 which is a 2 minute walk from the hotel. We would stay at this hotel again if we visit Amsterdam again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BenH0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Lisboa, Portugal
Level Contributor
87 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

I came back to this hotel on another business trip to Amsterdam. The stay was even better then before and staff was very friendly and assertive.

I was surprised by the restaurant, excellent. I usually have business meals on restaurants outside the hotels but this time it had to be at the hotel. The food was excellent and the service without flaws. I give my thumbs up to the restaurant.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Armando F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Myself and my partner booked the trip a year ago for my 30th birthday so we had been looking forward to it for a long time.

Location - Good if you dont want to be in the centre of the action. We never returned after 11pm (when the trams stop) not sure how easy or expensive it would be by taxi.

Rooms - Really clean, nice furnishings. We had asked for a double bed but had 2 singles pushed together, which never really works! The view from the 16th floor was the best bit. Small niggles, like no coat hooks in the room and rooms are so hot had to sleep with the noisy air-con on.

Staff - They were fine, was a bit annoyed that whenever i would of like to see the concierge, he was either busy or not there. Huge wait on Sunday to get the lift down and check out, no apology for the wait. Asked a member of staff in reception if they had a terrace for a drink outside before dinner (the one sunny day) to which she replied 'There are hundreds in the city'.
Bit rude I thought.

Amsterdam in general left me with a bit of a sour taste, I felt like everywhere people were just trying to rip off tourists. In one bar i paid 16 euros for 2 beers, when I queried this with the bar man he just shrugged his shoulders. That about summed it all up for me.

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Norfolk_Cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Norfolk_Cat,

Thank you for your feedback with regard to your stay in our hotel. We are sorry to read that we did not entirely meet your expectations. Your remarks, however, will help us to improve the service we aim to provide to our valued guests and will be taken into consideration at our next evaluation. We truly apologize for any inconvenience you might have experienced.

We do hope to welcome you again in our hotel next time you celebrate your anniversary. We have made some pretty renovations in the last couple of months to make our guest feel more at home.

With kind regards,

Daniel Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

The hotel is beautiful and the staff cannot do enough to help you. The rooms are spotlessly clean and you have gorgeous views over the cannals of Amsterdam. I could not fault the hotel at all. The only problem for me was the location is DEFINATLY NOT in the centre. The Centre is about a 20 miniute walk from the hotel. Which would be a lovely walk, had it not been gale force winds and around -5 C in Amsterdam when I went! In the end we discoved that there was a tram stop directly opposite the hotel which could take you to the centre in around 5 mins. The easiest way to pay for the tram is to go to the information centre opposite central station. We got a card which lasted 3 days and gave us unlimited travel for around 16 euros. The other problem with the hotel was that there are no restaurants or bars within a 5 min walking distance. You have to walk or get the tram to the centre for that. There is something called "THE BURGHUS" or something next to the hotel. But we couldn't really work out what went on in there! It was like a concert hall. Other than that there is a Subway(sandwich shop) and NOTHING else. All in all if you are going for a party weekend away, The Movenpick would be too far out for you. If you are Amsterdam to do all the sights and only go back to the sleep at the end of a long day, it is a perfect base.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Steffi_B_90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Steffi_B_90,

Thank you very much for your feedback and comments. One of the remarks on your stay in our hotel is its location not being perceived as city centre.

The city centre is quite broad and indeed we are not located right in the middle of it. but in a new and upcoming area on the banks of the river IJ with great views. Ttherefore, as you mention, an ideal location to come home after a long day walking around and visiting shops or musea.

Our shuttlebus, the tram or the recently introduced Tuk Tuk's, will bring you to the centre within 5 minutes.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in our hotel next time you visit Amsterdam.

With kind regards,

Daniel Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed at the Moevenpick for our family trip to Amsterdam. The executive rooms were on offer with breakfast included. We did get some issues at check in but the entire stay was very pleasant. The hotel is not as convenient as others, but it connects itself with a half hourly shuttle to central station. But its all worth it for the view from level 19! We would recommend this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Cherry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Cherry M,

Thank you for your feedback with regards to your stay in our hotel. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and apologize for the inconvenience during check in. Your comments will help us to improve the quality service we aim to provide to our valued guests.

Indeed, we are located just outside the busy city centre, on the banks of the river IJ. Apart from our shuttle bus, we are just one tram stop away from the Central Station and recently we introduced a transfer to the city by Tuk Tuk.

We hope to welcome you again in our hotel next time you visit Amsterdam.

With kind regards,

Daniel Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

We spent 4 days here visiting Amsterdam prior to our Avalon cruise. Our room on floor 15 had a great view, beds and pillows very comfortable, and we loved the simplicity of the decor. Both the hotel restaurant and bar had delicious food, and we thoroughly enjoyed the attention and service of Gerr in the bar. All staff were professional and attentive. There was a shuttle to City Center, or if you choose its just a 10 minute walk. The hop on/hop off canal boat blue line will pick up just across from the hotel, which is a great way to see the city at your own pace. If I returned to Amsterdam I would prefer to be located within the heart of the city, but for the purposes of this trip the Moevenpick was a good choice.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank JGChen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear JGChen,

We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel prior to departing on a cruise. Thank you for your compliments with regard to our food arrangements and our helpful staff. We will make sure to pass your kind words to our staff for encouragement.

We hope you have had a lovely cruise and will be happy to welcome you again in our hotel, conveniently located next to the cruise terminal.

With kind regards,

Daniel Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Centrum
Room Mate Aitana
Room Mate Aitana
#30 of 367 in Amsterdam
3,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#27 of 367 in Amsterdam
2,414 reviews
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Property: Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Address: Piet Heinkade 11, 1019 BR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#21 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#40 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center. With a prime location in the city of Amsterdam, this elegant hotel is the ideal venue for your executive travel, meeting and conferences or private ventures in matters of art and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, TravelUp, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Amsterdam
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing