We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Movenpick Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Ranked #47 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Movenpick Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

What a wonderful hotel , we have stayed in many hotels around the world and this takes some beating. The staff are so helpful and truly cannot do enough for you. Rooms are extremely comfortable, we stayed in a executive suite and would recommend this, the lounge is lovely also and food is of a very high standard. We will certainly return to the Movenpick.....lovely chocolate too!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neil1304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,011 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,612
    1,771
    427
    136
    65
See reviews for
819
2,206
177
884
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (860)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

I've been to Amsterdam over a dozen times and have always stayed in the middle of town. This time I opted to stay off to the side and away from the hustle and bustle of the middle of town. I couldn't have been happier.

The Moevenpick's off to the side (but right next to) the city and is a nice quiet oasis from it all. The view of the city and surrounding water is magnificent. And the rooms are incredibly spacious (with small sitting areas).

I can also attest to the honesty and professionalism of the hotel staff. About two hours after checking out I realized I had left my iPad somewhere in the hotel (either in the restaurant or the room). I called the hotel in a panic and was promptly connected to security. They took down my information and said they'd call back as soon as they checked both areas. I got a call back in just under 10 minutes letting me know housekeeping had found it in my room and turned it in and that I could come by to pick it up at my convenience. Phew.

I've found my new hotel in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foureyes18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
109 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I quite liked this hotel. The standard room is very spacious, very good bed, loved having a sofa as well as a very comfortable but simple desk chair. Bath was roomy enough, though I don't like the European penchant for a partial glass partition for the shower. No matter how careful one is, water kinda goes all over. Also if traveling with a friend, the frosted glass bathroom door could be a tad weird/not so private.
Room had a very nice view of the river, at a bit of an angle, peering past the office building nearby. The place seemed very quiet, both that the rooms seem well soundproofed, but also not a busy night when I stayed. I was on a discount reservation, so no included breakfast. They offered to add breakfast for a very high price. If your reservation doesn't include breakfast, there are plenty of places one or two tram stops away.
And that was the other theme of my stay (besides a comfy room). Get a tram pass! For 7 euro per 24hrs, its worth it & needed. I used the tram several times, as this hotel is a bit off the beaten path. The Bimhus stop is handy, then just one stop from the Central Station, and from there all of Amsterdam. But you will find yourself on that #26 tram quite a lot.
Still, for the price I paid, it was great stay. My last time in Amsterdam (20+ years ago) I stayed in a charming little hotel that had pedestrian and party noise till at least 3am. I'll take quiet, via a tram stop.
One other thing: I didn't find it till check-out, but the room had a mini-fridge in a cupboard. There are a couple nice stores in the Central Station with reasonably priced snacks and small groceries. Kettle in the room for tea and coffee was helpful too.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor for more view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Snowman00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback with regard to your stay in our hotel. We are glad you appreciated the comfort of your room. Indeed, we are located just outside the busy city centre and we are happy to read that the public transportation in front of our hotel, brought you to where ever you wanted to go.

We hope you had a good time in our city and will be glad to welcome you again next time you travel to Amsterdam; don't wait for another 20 years, however...

With kind regards,

Daniel Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

To be honest I have stayed in a lot of hotels and there is nothing special about this one, its not a short walk to the city center and its all alone with nothing to do around it, One good thing is they have a shuttle going to the station every now and then.

Room Tip: ask for rooms looking into the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear guest,

We are sorry to read that you were a bit disappointed with regard to your stay in our hotel and its location. We are located just outside the busy city center on the banks of the river IJ where you can enjoy the activities on the water. Our hotel shuttle bus can take you to the centre, which is also only one tramstop away.

We do hope, however, you enjoyed your time in Amsterdam and will of course be happy to welcome you again.

With kind regards,

Daniel Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Located one tram stop from Cental Station the hotel is in a great location to get into the City fast. The hotel also runs a shuttle service that will take you to and from the Station which comes in very handy.The staff were very friendly and professional, the room was perfect with stunning views of the city and was great value for money. I did not eat at all in the hotel as I thought it was quite expensive but the bar was very nice and had a really relaxing atmosphere.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your positive feedback with regard to your stay in our hotel. Indeed located just outside the busy city centre in a new and upcoming area on the banks of the river IJ.

We will be happy to welcome you again next time you travel to Amsterdam.

With kind regards,

Daniel Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

On my first vist to Amsterdam this year we stayed at the Movenpick. On reflection the hotel has no major problems. The room was regularly cleaned and the facilities within the room were faultess. The staff were very friendly, helpful and would go out of their way to help you. We did order room service one night (Pizza) which was nice albeit a bit pricey. We stayed here for 3 nights and found that the hotel seemed to be mainly filled with corporate/business clients rather than tourists, which we didn't see this as a problem. For those who want to be in the hussle and bussle of the city should note that the train station/Dam square is approx 10-15 mins walk from this hotel. There is a free shuttle from the hotel which takes you to the station and will give you a lift back to the hotel which was a positive. However due to our lack of planning/time keeping we never managed to catch the shuttle back to the hotel.

On the whole this is a faultless hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LilloV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear guest,

We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and that you recognized the friendliness of our staff. We thank you fory your kind words and we hope you had a good time in Amsterdam as well.

Please stay with us again next time you visit Holland.

With kind regards,

Daniel Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I have stayed in this hotel on a number of occasions and each visit has been excellent.
Clean, modern, quiet and spacious rooms. First class staff who are always very helpful.
The location is an easy 10 minutes walk from the city centre or a few minutes ride on the free shuttle bus. There is a tram stop outside also.
If you are looking for a high quality, good value hotel in Amsterdam I would highly recommed the Moevenpick.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Centrum
Room Mate Aitana
Room Mate Aitana
#23 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,304 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#13 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Property: Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Address: Piet Heinkade 11, 1019 BR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#21 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#34 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#36 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#40 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center. With a prime location in the city of Amsterdam, this elegant hotel is the ideal venue for your executive travel, meeting and conferences or private ventures in matters of art and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Amsterdam
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing