We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fantastic for the price!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre
Ranked #51 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Having read some of the negative reviews I think some people should stop being so petty and snobbish. This hotel is immaculately clean and the rooms are spacious with lovely comfortable beds and decent showers. Big tv with lots of channels and only 10 mins walk to central station and only 3 mins on the no. 26 tram. It's brilliant for the price and will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steven1huddersfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind words with regard to your stay in our hotel. We are glad you appreciated the facilities and service we want to expand to our valued guests.

And if you visit Amsterdam again, we will be happy to welcome you back!

With kind regards,

Daniel Kaan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,529)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,745 - 3,751 of 6,532 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2012

we stayed here for just one night, and was pleasantly surprised at the beautiful decor, cleanliness and friendly staff. we went to drop our bags off as it was too early to check in and reception staff let us check into our room !! the room was very spacious and tastefully decorated,it was immaculate and beautifully furnished.i didn't want to go sightseeing as the room was so lovely.it had everything you need and more, they offer shuttle bus to and from town even though its only a 10 minute walk.the concierge has a mindful of knowledge and very pleasant and helpful.as is all the staff. I can't imagine anyone not enjoying this wonderful very high standard hotel

Room Tip: you can upgrade to delux if you want but I thought our standard room was delux
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trumper1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I don't think I can ever find a better place to stay in Amsterdam than this hotel, it is located in the city center, yet away from the noise and the mess of the city. it is a very easy going hotel, with a very friendly staff. Thumbs up!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RaffiBeirut_Lebanon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

I stayd the hotel for two nights during a meeting. When checking in the reception required 100 € cash (!) and didn't accept Visa-card. This was the first time for me that cash was asked and I have overnigh in hundreds of hotel all over the world. Additionally the minibar was totally empty! But the hotel was clean, views from the 7th level were nice and especially the breakfast was excellent. The lobby bar was cosy but too loud music.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juhana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Dear Business Traveler,

Thank you for your feedback with regard to your stay in our hotel. With regard to the cash deposit, we will investigate why we could not accept your VISA-card. We are sure this was an incident as it is certainly not common practice.

Please feel welcome to stay with us again next time you travel to Amsterdam.

With kind regards,

Daniel Kaan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

My husband, son and I spent 2 nights at this hotel and found the staff to be very helpful and friendly. The room and bathroom were comfortable, clean and larger than most European rooms. Housekeeping converted the couch, into a bed by adding an extra mattress/duvet bed for my 18 yrs old. It was very comfy and had the same quality bedding as ours. Nice touch! The walk from the train station is direct along the waterfront and the hotel is located along that waterfront.. We each had to pull a big suitcase and managed it quite nicely.The concierge (Irish fellow) helped us plan our 2 days by circling neighbourhoods and markets on the map and suggesting a great restaurant for lunch. We booked the hop on/hop off water bus with him and the blue line picks you up across the little water inlet in front of the hotel. The pre-determined stops can make the trip a little slow, but helps relieve sore feet. The boats also offer recorded history/visitor information. Both evenings, we walked to the closer downtown neighbourhoods for dinner and returned to our hotel around midnight, not a problem whatsoever, and never felt threatened. We encountered many people walking and riding bicycles. I would say, however, that it is a bit of a walk from the hotel to the sight-seeing areas, so be prepared with comfy shoes and weather appropriate clothing.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan_Anna_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

This large hotel in the centre of Amsterdam is a most pleasant experience. It is ideally situated for both tourism and business. It has well appointed clean accomodation and good food. The overwhelming marker of excellence though is the courtious staff. That excellence is to be found at all levels of the organisation. It is the total combination that make the Moevenpick an all round pleasant experience. I have no hesitation in recommending it o others

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stephen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

This hotel is recommended. Clean, spacious rooms, friendly efficient staff, great views of the city, quiet, very comfortable. Great value for money (I booked through Priceline)

The distance from Centraal Station is not really an issue, the 26 tram is close by and a frequent service, though miss the last one back about 12.30 am and the walk can be cold.

Room Tip: Higher the floor better the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kewstokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#144 of 373 in Amsterdam
5,246 reviews
Hilton Amsterdam
#42 of 373 in Amsterdam
3,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Room Mate Aitana
Room Mate Aitana
#31 of 373 in Amsterdam
3,279 reviews
XO Hotels Couture
#43 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre

Address: Piet Heinkade 11, 1019 BR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#21 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#37 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#40 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $162 - $503 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Mövenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre. With a prime location in the city of Amsterdam, this elegant hotel is the ideal venue for your executive travel, meeting and conferences or private ventures in matters of art and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Amsterdam
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing