We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice business hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre
Ranked #52 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Spent few nights in this hotel during the IBC 2012 conference.

The hotel location is very nice, a walking distance from the Central Station. The hotel has 20 floors and I was upgraded to an executive suite on the 19th floor with very, very nice view over the city through a huge panoramic window.

Good bed, good TV, an iron/board, safe and minibar (with very limited selection inside) in the room. Good breakfast, a shuttle service to RAI and central station, tram stop close by, even a Segway rental in the building :) Free wireless internet was very very slow, but hey, it was free and there was a paid version available for higher speed requirements.

Might go there again in the future.

Room Tip: Pick a room from the top floors for excellent views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tuomok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Dear Business traveler,

We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel, both the location as well as our facilities.

Of course, we would like to welcome you back next time you travel to Amsterdam.

With kind regards,

Daniel Kaan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,573)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,873 - 3,879 of 6,574 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed in mid august for 4 nights, and found that the hotel was an excellent choice, with a city boat stop opposite. The rooms are big, clean and well looked after, with amazing views. The bar and food available are also excellent, with staff to match. Don't forget the ice cream!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nigel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights at the end of August. The hotel is fairly close to central station (just come out of the rear entrance and turn right – you can see the hotel) Amsterdam was in the middle of a heat wave when we visited so the walk to the hotel with the bags was very hot! It can be very pleasant when cooler but we would recommend getting a GVB transport pass and taking the Tram (Tram 26 – stops just outside hotel) or booking a ride in the hotels courtesy bus. We got a day pass but would get a 48hr pass next time as it’s a great way to get around the city. You can buy the passes in the hotels gift shop or in the GVB Travel office just outside Central Station.
The check in staff were very nice but our room was not ready when we arrived (we were early) so we left our bags at the hotel and walked into the city and explored for a few hours. Our room was on the 10th floor with great views over the city/river. The room was modern, clean, tidy and the tea/coffee was replenished daily, the small refrigerator came in useful in storing the water we bought due to the heat. We did not eat/drink at the hotel, other than at breakfast which was very good, there was lots of choice and should have something for everyone. I have been to Amsterdam lots of times and this is the best hotel I have stayed in, and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kitsunegari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

I stayed here with my partner in August 2012 for 3 nights. The view from the room was amazing and like others have said on here, you could spend a long time just watching the boats go by. The food at the restaurant was of a high standard and the staff were helpful and friendly across the hotel.

We walked into the main part of the city several times and it didn't take that long although getting upto the museum area is a bit more of a hike.

There were a couple of things that could be improved:

1. Breakfast was good but at 23 Euros it is very pricey and not worth the money
2. We had a double room but two single duvets. When we asked for a double no-one got back to us. Speaking to other guests, they had the same situation. Not a huge issue but a bit odd!

Overall, a good hotel but fairly expensive for what you get.

Room Tip: We were on the 8th floor which still had a good view but there was a roof in the way. I guess the v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Dear Business traveler,

Thank you for your feedback with regard to your stay in our hotel. We are happy your overall appriciation is positive. We duly noted your remark with regard to the duvet and will put this subject on the agenda of our next Housekeeping evaluation meeting.

Please visit us again next time you travel to Amsterdam.

With kind regards,

Daniel Kaan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

It's very nice and very modern. It's clean and the service is fair.

The hotel is far from the city and to get to it you need to take two trams one to get to the central station and the other to get to the hotel.
Take this in to conciliation when booking.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Udi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the stay in our hotel. Indeed, it is located just outside the city centre but with a good connection to the major sights. The city centre is a 15 minute walk, or you can take our shuttle bus to the Central Station and proceed from there by foot of public transport (tram, metro). Also, we have a tram stop in front of our hotel that will bring you to the Central Station within minutes.

We do hope next time you visit Amsterdam, we can welcome you once more.

With kind regards,

Daniel Kaan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

On the river IJ and a short tram ride from central station this hotel is one of our favourite places to stay in Amsterdam. Shop around for a good deal on an executive room and it's hard to beat the value for money specially as it includes the free early evening hors d'oevres & drinks. Breakfast is excellent with a wide rang of choice, but can get exceptionally busy when the place is full (an executive room gets you a seat in the quiet exec lounge - but no consolation if you haven't upgraded! Facilities in the area are very much 'up-and-coming' but can appear limited. Oterwise it is a decent tram ride to oterh places to eat. The hotel restaurant can be variable and a little expensive, and you need to book for the cheaper downstairs pub room (if you can). Perhaps not the liveliest part of Amsterdam but would definitely recommned a stay,

Room Tip: look for the deals on an executive room - worth trawling the websites for. Views are spectacular fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graeme347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Dear Business traveler,

Thank you for your nice comments with regard to your stay in our hotel. We are happy that you appreciate our location and facilites. Indeed, our executive rooms have the best views and many benefits included for our valued guests.

We will be happy to welcome you again next time you travel to Amsterdam.

With kind regards,

Daniel Kaan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An EasyToBook.com traveler
Wirral UK
11952
Reviewed September 7, 2012

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank An EasyToBook.com traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Centrum
Room Mate Aitana
Room Mate Aitana
#32 of 373 in Amsterdam
3,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Amsterdam
#42 of 373 in Amsterdam
3,037 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#144 of 373 in Amsterdam
5,272 reviews
XO Hotels Couture
#43 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre

Address: Piet Heinkade 11, 1019 BR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#21 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#37 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#40 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $167 - $455 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Mövenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre. With a prime location in the city of Amsterdam, this elegant hotel is the ideal venue for your executive travel, meeting and conferences or private ventures in matters of art and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Amsterdam
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing