We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6,898)
Filter reviews
6,899 results
Traveler rating
3,552
2,428
618
197
104
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,552
2,428
618
197
104
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmovenpick hotelcruise terminalcentral stationfree shuttlecity centregreat hotelshuttle servicetram stophotel shuttleminute walkexecutive roommodern hotelbreakfast buffetdam squareconciergevikingij
Filter
Updating list...
4,149 - 4,154 of 6,899 reviews
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Hotel was light airy and clean. Beds and rooms were very comfy and had a nice window seat to take in the city views. About a 15 min walk into the centre but not a bad walk as can take in the sights along the river. We stayed there over new year and had a brilliant view of all the fire works when we went back to the room. Hotel has a lovely bar which we had a few drinks in and a little computer area where we printed our return boarding passes off. A little bit pricey but everywhere was the same on new year. About a 20 min walk from the train station once you set off in the right directing its easy to find :) Hotel is right near tram stops so it is easy to get about but there are no trams on newyears eve/day so you have to be prepared to walk a lot. After spending new year in this brilliant citys squares with all the christmas tree's and lights up i dont think i could spend it in England ever again. Can not wait to return !

Room service was also lovely, we got breakfast delivered a few days and it was very nice, staff were helpful and we used the mini bus into the centre a few times which you can book at reception.

I would recoomend this hotel to my friends.

Room Tip: Ask for a view over River/City
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2012

Dear guests,

We are glad you enjoyed Amsterdam and your stay in our hotel during the festive period of New Year. We are happy to read that you were pleased with the facilities and staff in our hotel.

New Year 2012 is only a few months away and if you have an opportunity to spend this evening again in Amsterdam, you are more than welcome in our hotel.

With kind regards,

Daniel Kaan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Stayed here on a few days break. The hotel is very smart modern and only a few minutes walk to everywhere. It is close to the Central Station, and easy walking distance of the shopping area plus the red light district. The check in counter staff were all friendly, and were given a lovely room with probably the best view in Amsterdam. The rooms are so clean and well presented. The TVs have many english channels. We wake up every morning to find a stunning cruise boats docked on the side of the hotel. We ate out all the time as we were always out and about. We did order room service once and the food did not dissapoint . The staff will do anything you ask without expecting a tip, twice i had to run after a room service server. Unfortunately there is no pool, but they have an air-conditioned gym, sauna and spa rooms. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: The hotel has a shuttle from the airport but you have to book in advance as they are usually full. Taxi's can be expensive so take the shuttle.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jessica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We had an absolutely fantastic stay. A Swiss safe haven in a busy Amsterdam. There is nothing to improve. I recommend to book an Executive room from the 20th floor. The view is unbelivable!

Room Tip: Executive room from the 20th floor
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grani70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Smart, modern luxury hotel situated a two minute walk from the main cruise terminal in Amsterdam. We were greeted by a friendly receptionist who upgraded us to a junior suite even though we were staying for just one night prior to a cruise. The room was smart, clean, ultra-modern and spacious. It is just a fifteen minute walk into the centre of Amsterdam. Breakfast offered a wide choice in a comfortably appointed restaurant with views of the cruise ships. Well recommended as a pre-cruise venue as it could not be more convenient for the cruise terminal.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

My wife and I spent three nights here in the middle of July. This hotel has all the right pieces in place for a comfortable and pleasurable stay. Staff are responsive and efficient. We did not use the restaurant but appreciated the shuttle service to Centraal Station that cut down a little bit on our walking. Highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Ash R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews