We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Bad housekeeping !!!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Ranked #44 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Waiblingen, Germany
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Bad housekeeping !!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We stayed here for 4 days and expected cleanliness and fresh bed everyday but since we here but not even changed once.....on Wednesday housekeeping put our towels and paper towel on the floor :-(( I can't recommend this hotel to my friends or family :-((((

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Youvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Dear guest,

We very much regret that you did not enjoy your stay in our hotel. We do apologize for any shortcoming in our performance. We have duly noted your remarks and have passed your comment to our Housekeeping department to make sure that such unfortunate incidents will not happen again. We aim to provide all our guest with quality service and are sorry that we did not manage to deliver the service you are entitled to.

We do hope, however, we will have an opportunity in the future to welcome you again in our hotel.

With kind regards,

Daniel Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,677
    1,810
    437
    138
    67
See reviews for
844
2,252
180
910
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (876)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Overall, we give this hotel and excellent rating. However, the service for dinner was extremely slow. The food was great once they served us...just very slow. Our room was on the 10th floor and we had a wonderful view of the busy harbor and our Celebrity ship right next to us!! We enjoyed watching our ship leave port from their deck, just yards from the ship!! They could use some umbrellas out there however. When the sun came out, it was rather hot, being directly in the sun. The entire hotel was excellent!! Our room was very nicely furnished and very modern. It is a good walk from the Dam Square area/Central Station, but the tram does pick up right out front. We will stay here again next time in Amsterdam...especially for a cruise.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the harbor. Higher up. We were on the side that overlooked the harbo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Stayed here for three nights and was very impressed. Hotel is clean, spacious (especially for europe), and modern. The staff is very helpful. They are polite, very concise. The bar and room service (24h) are both tasty and quick.

It is a 15 minute walk to central station - from which you can walk or tram anywhere. The hotel has a free shuttle that you can reserve space on. It leaves every half hour during the day. We used it many times - they did not mind at all. I approve - this hotel is awesome.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travel0283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

My wife and I stayed here at the tail end of our 3 week trip to Europe. We were exhausted and need a nice bed to sleep and of course also wanted to explore Amsterdam too!

Hotel: Very new looking and very nice rooms. Very clean and very professional and helpful staff.

Location: OK - not in the city centre, but only a 10 min walk/3min tram ride to Centraal station. From there you can take the tram or just walk around. Lots of see and do everywhere.

Definately would stay again! A little away from the centre so it's peaceful and quiet. Beautiful views - right on the river!

We got a great price bidding on Priceline - only $90 USD a night! Probably can get that price again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjdavila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Dear guests,

We are happy to read that at the end of your tour, you enjoyed staying in our hotel, just outside the busy city center but conveniently located to explore the sights in Amsterdam. And afterwards, return to our peaceful location right on the banks of the river IJ.

Next time your travel through Europe, please stop in Amsterdam again!

With kind regards,

Daniel Kaan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

From baggage storage to restaurant meals all our experiences with this hotel's staff were of people who are extremely pleasant and focussed on their jobs. Nothing was too much trouble. We have just spent 5 days here and would certainly stay here again - extremely comfortable beds, fabulous views and delicious meals. We are both in our seventies and did not find the walk from the station onerous, although the tram across the road was very convenient especially at night. We were actually pleased to be away from the hustle and bustle after a long day's sightseeing. All in all, a very good experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cynti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed fir 5 nights. It' s a big building near the train station. You can' t miss it. They gave us a room on the 15th floor with a stunning view of the city. The hotel is next to the passenger boat terminal where cruises stop. It was really amazing to see those big ships next to your room. The room was spacious with a double bed and a big sofa. There was a coffee maker in the room and a small fridge for our water etc. Very clean room, comfortable bed and noise free, even though next to the trains. The staff was very polite and seem to like their work.
The only problem is that the hotel is 8-10 min walking from the train station or a stop away by tram. But there is a free hotel shuttle to the station leaving every 30 min, you have to book it in advance...

Room Tip: the higher the room the better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank THRYLOS1926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
56 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

This is a new and modern hotel, located in the opposite direction to the main cluster of hotels in the city. This brings a few benefits - first, the area is a little nicer (less seedy). The hotel has amazing views over the port, and finally the rooms are a lot bigger than you generally get in Amsterdam.

The room was spacious, very clean, well-designed and tastefully furnished. The bed was a nice king size with comfy white duvet, and the bathroom also spacious and clean (and had an excellent shower and hairdryer).

There is a free shuttle bus every half-hour from Central Station. I hadn't booked this and thought that, as I could see the hotel from the station, it wasn't that far. I was wrong - it was a good twenty minutes walk (I am pretty fit and enjoy walking, but admittedly I was wearing high heels and had a wheelie bag). If I were to come again I would wait for the bus!

Check in was painless - the staff there are exceptionally friendly and helpful. I didn't try the breakfast, but we ate in the bar one evening, which was tasty and good value.

The hotel offers free 'limited' wifi - this was a little painful to use, as it kept logging out and would only let you log on from one device at a time. Annoying if you have, say, both a phone and iPad.

At around £180 a night this hotel is more expensive than I would normally stomach, but on this occasion it was on expenses. If budget is an issue then this isn't the hotel for you. I would stay here again - as long as it was on expenses.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AuntieMabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Centrum
Room Mate Aitana
Room Mate Aitana
#25 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,378 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#48 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 270 reviews
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#15 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Property: Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Address: Piet Heinkade 11, 1019 BR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#21 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#31 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#36 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#40 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center. With a prime location in the city of Amsterdam, this elegant hotel is the ideal venue for your executive travel, meeting and conferences or private ventures in matters of art and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Amsterdam
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing