We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Excellent, modern hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Ranked #44 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
London
Level Contributor
52 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Excellent, modern hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

This is a new and modern hotel, located in the opposite direction to the main cluster of hotels in the city. This brings a few benefits - first, the area is a little nicer (less seedy). The hotel has amazing views over the port, and finally the rooms are a lot bigger than you generally get in Amsterdam.

The room was spacious, very clean, well-designed and tastefully furnished. The bed was a nice king size with comfy white duvet, and the bathroom also spacious and clean (and had an excellent shower and hairdryer).

There is a free shuttle bus every half-hour from Central Station. I hadn't booked this and thought that, as I could see the hotel from the station, it wasn't that far. I was wrong - it was a good twenty minutes walk (I am pretty fit and enjoy walking, but admittedly I was wearing high heels and had a wheelie bag). If I were to come again I would wait for the bus!

Check in was painless - the staff there are exceptionally friendly and helpful. I didn't try the breakfast, but we ate in the bar one evening, which was tasty and good value.

The hotel offers free 'limited' wifi - this was a little painful to use, as it kept logging out and would only let you log on from one device at a time. Annoying if you have, say, both a phone and iPad.

At around £180 a night this hotel is more expensive than I would normally stomach, but on this occasion it was on expenses. If budget is an issue then this isn't the hotel for you. I would stay here again - as long as it was on expenses.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AuntieMabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,862 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,539
    1,722
    410
    128
    63
See reviews for
769
2,138
176
879
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (846)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

The title says it all, I loved everything about this hotel. Spectacular views, lovely room, polite and friendly staff, close to the city centre. Walkable in about 10 minutes or hop on a tram which stops right outside. We didn't eat in the main restaurant, but instead ate in the bar, reasonable price, excellent meal. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Atomic01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham england
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Really glad we picked a hotel away from the very busy centre of Amsterdam. Well worth the one tram stop for the view from the hotel room alone. Room was very clean and modern and perfect shower in the bathroom, couldn't ask for more. BRILLIANT.

Room Tip: Simply ask for a high room, odd numbers you can watch the cruise ships below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mooniejones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We stayed at the the Moevenpick and the place was so clean and new it just sparkled! The room was very new and very comfortable. Really nice shower, very nice lobby and deck area. Breakfast was very good and even had a nice dinner there. The location is just a 10 minute walk directly south of the train station on the main canal. This is a NEW building and not historic Amsterdam. If you want an older historic hotel go to the middle of town. But after long days of sightseeing historic Amsterdam, this was a great oasis to return to. In fact, the lower level of the hotel is the cruise ship terminal but very clean and well organized. After this stay, I would spend time at a Moevenpick anytime! It was the nicest hotel we stayed at in Europe in a 10 country tour.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geekacky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Went here in March 2012 with 3 friends for a 3 night trip. We had fully researched where best to go and decided to go with a bit of 'luxury' with this hotel. Our two main concerns were the distance to town and the potential for see-through, non-doors in the bathrooms! The first concern we quickly realised was NOT a problem at all! It really didn't take very long to walk into the centre (to the trainstation, which we arrived at from the airport - very good price and travel time to/from the airport) and the walk is extremely easy and quite pleasant. The second concern, however, did come true! We did not wish to have clear (frosted) bathroom 'doors' which did not shut (i.e. there is no seal around the door), because we are prudish Brits and we don't wish to share our bathroom habits!! Anyway, we decided not to make a big deal of this (relatively) and simply went into the others room when we wished to use the bathroom!

The hotel is absolutely lovely - the rooms were perfect - extremely clean, modern and with great facilities. We made use of the room service, ordering nachos - which were great - a large portion for the price! The bar downstairs is great and all the staff there were extremely friendly and helpful. The view from our room, on floor 11 was fantastic - over the harbour and city, as you can see in many of the pictures on here.

We would most certainly go back and recommend this hotel - if we could afford it, we'd definitely have the breakfast included as it looked fantastic!

Room Tip: Floor 11 has great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SurferLiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
101 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

Lovely base to explore Amsterdam from.

Views are excellent, especially from the higher floors.

Reception staff lovely.

Rooms of a good standard.

Only thing that let it down was the staff in restaurant and the bar were too rigid, e.g arrived at the hotel bar one minute after closing and was told to order room service. Never encountered this as a hotel guest before.

Only 10 mins walk to the central station and shuttle buses can be booked.

Overall a very positive experience and I would return on future visits to the city.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sansom1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Dont be fooled, this is not a 4 star hotel, this is a 2.5 star. My experience was terrible, so much so that I created an account on tripadvisor to warn everyone about this hotel. I stayed for 3 nights and couldn't wait to leave this hotel. THis was my third trip to Amsterdam and I will never stay here again. The hotels decor is 3 star quality and the service is 2 star. Firstly, I got a room with a kind bed, however housekeeping placed 2 single sized duvet covers on the bed, we called down to reception to ask them to place one king duvet cover on the bed, when we got back to the room we discovered housekeeping simply placed the new duvet on top on the 2 single covers, expecting us to change it ourselves. Unacceptable for a four star hotel. On top of this housekeeping never cleaned the room, just came to make the bed, and change the towels. Our last night, we untucked our bedding sheet from the top of the bed just under the headboard to discover about 10 hairs on on sheets, we were disgusted. Becuase we discovered this in the evening it took about one hours time, and a meeting with the manager, before a simple task, changing our sheets occurred. What a joke. I do not blame the staff for this rather I blame management because it became quite apparent that this hotel is poorly managed.

My second major issue with this hotel is the concierge. He couldn't recommend a good restaurant if his life depended on it! Every recommendation I considered to be a “tourist trap” restaurant where they overcharge for everything and only tourists go. The best advice I can give you is do not listen to him, hes an idiot! If you want good food go to the supper club, or Zaza’s, both outstanding meals.

This is a good place to stay if you like hair in your bed, and like dealing with incompetent people.

Stay away from this hotel, you will be disappointed if you're expecting 4 star

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DAS121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Centrum
Room Mate Aitana
Room Mate Aitana
#25 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,222 reviews
Centrum
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Hilton Amsterdam
#48 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Property: Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Address: Piet Heinkade 11, 1019 BR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#21 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#32 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#36 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#40 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center. With a prime location in the city of Amsterdam, this elegant hotel is the ideal venue for your executive travel, meeting and conferences or private ventures in matters of art and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Amsterdam
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing